We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of locanda della posta

locanda della posta
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added locanda della posta to your Saves list
locanda della posta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Vannucci 97, 06121 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Perugia
Calistoga, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We chose the Locanda Della Posta because of its central location in Perugia at a good price. It was a fine hotel for our purposes. Our room looked down on the street below but it was not noisy. The room was basic, a good size, fairly well-lit. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with some special requests we had and for that we were very grateful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    42
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
10
35
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Churchton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

We stayed for 11 days in Perugia and made it our base for Umbria travel. We asked for a quiet room and got one, although there was some noise on Saturday night. Beautiful bathroom. Breakfast room charming and food pretty good. The location was the biggest draw-steps to historic center, busses and escalator. Everyone was polite and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

This was a wonderful hotel. Room 304 has 2 large windows, a very comfortable bed and large, light bathroom. A very good value, a great location right on the main street near cafes and restaurants and a lovely room.

  • Liked — Comfort of bed
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

We wanted a hotel in the heart of Perugia where we could easily walk to restaurants, museums and other attractions, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is on Corso Vannucci, a 10-minute taxi ride from the train station. All of the major museums and other sights in Perugia are within easy walking distance. Most of the staff spoke excellent English, and were very helpful, although strangely reluctant to recommend specific restaurants. The room was comfortable, although rather dark, only one small windiow with nice views over the rooftops and with the Umbrian countryside beyond. The lamps in the room were not sufficient for reading. The bathroom was large with plenty of counter space, and offered facial tissue, unusual in Italy! Breakfast was a plentiful buffet, with many choices of pastries, cereal, cheese and meat, eggs, etc. The common areas of the hotel could use some refurbishing such as new carpeting, but the hotel was very clean and safe. The only other hotel we looked at while we were in Perugia was the Rosetta, which was far more expensive and less up to date. Locanda della Posta is a much better value.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

We spent 5 nights at the Hotel Della Posta. This was arranged through Road Scholar, and we were very pleased with our visit. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a basket of fruits and chocolates in our room. The bed was excellent, the room was clean, and we found the concierge very helpful as we planned our visit in Perugia. The breakfast (included) was exquisite! Maria prepared a bountiful table full of fruits and pastries, cheeses and cold meats. Maria was right there to cater to any individual requests as well. Our room looked out on the alley behind the hotel, and we enjoyed the beautiful view of the countryside from our room.

The hotel is located right in the middle of the action in Perugia. Restaurants and points of interest are well within walking distance. The best gelato of Umbria is just a block away!

If I could change one thing, it would be asking for a bigger elevator ;-)

  • Liked — liocation
  • Disliked — elevator
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So.California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

We stayed 5 nights at this very charming, cozy hotel. Excellent,friendly service. Breakfast included was delicious and plentiful. Lovely, quiet room , with comfortable beds. Perfect location on the pedestrian Corso Vanucci & within walking distance of various wonderful restaurants, (some funky, some elegant), the duomo,and the fine arts museum. Easy drive to other hill towns . It is not a luxury hotel, but it offered excellent service, and both location & breakfast were excellent. Some luxury hotels do not have the type of ambiance the Locanda dell Posta has. We think it was an exceptional bargain & highly recommend it .

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

I have lived in Perugia and love to stay at Locanda Della Posta when I return. You may get a bit more luxury on Piazza Italia but this location is fantastic. Ask for a top floor room facing Corso Vannucci. It's great to hear the street from your window at night. The are no cars on the street but there is a lot of pedestrian traffic.

The rooms are quite a bit different but consistantly clean and well appointed. The staff is professional. The hotel is within a block of La Taverna, my favorite restaurant in town. Stop by Caffe Blitz for an after dinner drink and relax. The views just past Piazza Italia are fantastic but the things you will remember are the city and it's people.

If you are looking for entertainment in the hotel, you will be disappointed. Just step outside the front door and you are in the heart of the city. Book very early if you want to go in July. The Umbria Jazz Festival really takes over the town so choose another time if you want peace and quiet. You will be in the heart of the action so be prepared to lose some sleep. Week day nights any other time of year are very peaceful.

I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to locanda della posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about locanda della posta

Address: Corso Vannucci 97, 06121 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — locanda della posta 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your locanda della posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Della Posta Perugia
Locanda Della Posta Hotel Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage locanda della posta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.