We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Trasimeno (Lago Trasimeno)

Lake Trasimeno (Lago Trasimeno)
Perugia, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 62 Attractions in Perugia
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake Trasimeno is located in the heart of Italy, which makes it an ideal base for visiting Umbria and Tuscany, as well as providing unspoiled nature and a refuge of birds and fish for outdoor enthusiasts.
Shdema, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent a morning at the lake. Found a spot with abundant parking (free) near Castilione del Lago (There's a closed resort for carbiniery near where we were). Since we prefer the shades we wanted to sit in the shaded area (there's lots of it there), but the guys who sell seats won't go up there - so if you want to sit in the shades under the trees - bring your own matress or seats. Otherwise, there is a place in the sun where you can rent beach bunks and parasoles. There is a place to change there (kind of...), bathroom and a small cafe. Water is cold and very shallow and weedy but fresh (though not transparant), and its a great way to cool yourself on a hot summer day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    177
    55
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice place to cool down in the August heat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We visited the beach near the ferry terminal at Castiglione del lago on Monday 13 August and it was very quiet, despite being a hot and sunny day. Most of the visitors were natives, though I heard a few other English voices. We even parked for free on the nearby car park. There are two cafes (one with restaurant) more or less on the beach, and a place to hire recliners for 4 euros (for the day, I think) and pedaloes are available for 10 euros an hour. It is a great place to cool down in August, though the water is actually quite warm because the lake is shallow. It is not quite as good for swimming as Lake Garda because it is so shallow by the beaches, and there are lots of water weeds and some muddy bits, so my recommendation is to swim from a pedalo a bit further out. This is great fun and avoids the problem of vegetation! We visited here from near Florence as it is close to the autostrada and you can travel hear quickly from many places in Tuscany and Umbria. It seemed a quicker and better option than trying to get to the coast and we did not regret it. The ferry calls regularly at the pier so you also have the option of going on that, but we did not have enough time on this occasion. The water is so warm (in August anyway) that you will not want to get out! There is a public shower on the beach area which is useful for rinsing off after being in the water.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An Umbrian haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We lovd the relaxed atmosphere, lovely bars, restaurants and gift shops - really glad we decided on a day trip here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lake Trasimeno”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We visited on a hot day, mid week. The lake was pleasant enough but when we drove up to Castliglione del Lago it was like any other Italian hilltop town, very quiet because it was lunchtime so very little was open.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
1,275 reviews 1,275 reviews
285 attraction reviews
Reviews in 248 cities Reviews in 248 cities
444 helpful votes 444 helpful votes
“We live in the town ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have views of this wonderful lake..Our home is situated above the Lake and we take boat rides and shuttle over to the little island on the other side.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Trasimeno (Lago Trasimeno) also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Lake Trasimeno (Lago Trasimeno)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Trasimeno (Lago Trasimeno), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.