We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a Detour from the Tourist Traps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Lumera

La Lumera
Corso Bersarglieri 22-26-28 | Porta Pesa, Perugia, Italy
075 57 26 181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 732 restaurants in Perugia
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
salm01@optonline.net
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Take a Detour from the Tourist Traps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After you pass through the center of town and skip all the Ristoranti touting a fixed price Menu Turistico, you will find La Lumera on Corso Bersaglieri. It is well worth the excursion. The day we arrived, the town was filled with Chocoholics indulging in every manner of chocolate product one can imagine. Since it was lunch time, every trattoria and osteria was filled but we were on a mision to find La Lumera on the reccomendation of a friend. It was the typical left here, right there, up an alley, down an alley until we came upon the restaurant. There was a small group of students in an otherwise empty place, but we were not deterred. The young waitress, brought us a menu and wine list and proceeded to describe a couple of the local spectialties. We ordered the house antipasto and it was superb. Following the antipasto, we decided to each try a pasta dish: my wife had the white sauce, I had the red and they were both extraordinary. To finish the meal, we shared a salad of radicchio, lettuce, nuts and pear with a light dressing. Excellent! After finishing our wine, we had coffee and an Amaro to cap off a fine lunch. I strongly reccomend La Lumera.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    50
    45
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We found this restaurant near our hotel (Hotel Perusia). We didn't notice it at first until we heard voices and saw some tables down the alleyway at the side. We sat at a table in the alleyway because it was too hot to sit inside. We were greeted by the chef who made us very welcome. The food was excellent and I would recommend this to anyone who is going to Perugia. The prices were very cheap and the food was of a very high standard, freshly prepared and very tasty. Simply delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Joanie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We (5)have just returned from Italy after a 2 week holiday. The meal we had at this resturant was the best food we had in the 2 weeks. Excellent. The service was also very friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Debbie B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The best resturant in perugia. Service was excellent and the food was above average. will be returning here on my next trip to perugia

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Neigborhood Spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We spent three weeks in Perugia and went to La Lumera several times. We were never disappointed. When all the locals go there you know it's good. La Lumera is a part of the Slow Food Movement and their local/slow food antipasta was wonderful. The food was fresh, local and delicious, I always find when you see people from the neigborhood dining there you know you found a great spot.
Prices reasonable, service great.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lumera also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Lumera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Lumera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.