We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite meals in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Argentina

Ristorante Argentina
Via del Verzaro, 39 | Piazza Morlacchi, 06123 Perugia, Italy
+39 0755730815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 710 Restaurants in Perugia
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: Argentinean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Ristorante Tipico Italiano con specialita di carne ArgentinaTipical Italian Restaurant with special Argentinian Steaks3 beautifull Panoramic Terraces
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of our favourite meals in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband did some research and decided on Argentina for dinner - he heard there was a 'great view'. Its down a smaller street just outside of the walls, a bit tough to find, but definitely worth the search! The 'great view' was one of the most beautiful scenes I've ever had the pleasure of having a meal in. It was an early dinner for us 7pm or so (no reservation), so it was just us and one other table (but filled up as night went on). The sun was low and the buildings and trees were glowing. Beautiful! The service was warm and professional, they really made you feel that they were honoured to have you. Wine was excellent - we liked Montefalco Sagrantino and the server chose one for us. Delicious. The food - was one of the best meals we had in Italy. We had been at Michelin starred restaurants just days before in Rome, and this was better. We ordered the beef carpaccio with arugula on recommendation from the server, and it was melt in your mouth. My husband ordered the filet with mushrooms/mushroom cream; and I had the filet with green peppercorn cream sauce - unbelievable! By the time we were offered dessert, we couldn't eat another bite, so full. But they still brought us limoncello, and then fresh pineapple with vanilla! And we of course found the room. The gracious service, the atmosphere and view, and of course the cuisine were all just amazing - definitely visit Argentina if you are in Perugia!!! We will be back one day....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    149
    39
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Delicious Food and spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This restaurant was so good we went back a second night. We were in Perugia during the Umbria Jazz festival and we had been recommended by some friends to find this restaurant as they had visited last summer. We were not disappointed. The Restaurant is a little off the beaten track but is definitely worth looking for. Before the food even arrived I was blown away by the spectacular views this restaurant offers. Breath-taking is the only way to describe it. The we had what I can honestly say was one of the best meals I have ever had. I have never been to an Argentinian Restaurant and I wasn't quite sure what to expect. The food, from starters to dessert, was delicious. Excellent presentation, great flavours and perfect portions. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perugia's best kept secret !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant following the recommendation in Ryan Air's flight magazine. Nothing could have prepared us for the view when we were taken down the stairs to be seated outside. The food was amazing, good portions and reasonably priced for what we had. The wine too was of excellent quality and probably the best I tasted during our short visit to attend the Jazz Festival. The owners are very friendly and kind and speak good English, which is always a help. Khalid, the Maitre D' is one of the most professional I've ever encountered on my world travels, a true perfectionist and he was clearly born to do the job. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone visiting Perugia.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Little Argentina in Italy! I highly recommend you to order plate with the few sorts of meat and spinach as a side dish. The owned himself will help you to choose a wine and then bring you his very special complimentary dessert (tiramisu was juuuuust amazing!!!!). The best restaurant in Perugia and probably one of the best in whole Italy! Totally must visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth the search.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The restaurant is tucked behind the main road, look for the posted sign, it's well worth the effort to find. Esteban greeted us warmly and sat us on the patio, which is one of the few in Perugia with an incredible view! We let him "make suggestion", or basically order for us. The truffle raviolis were one of the best dishes we've ever had. Everything was spot on and delicious! His wine selection and collection is something to marvel at as well. Excellent service and attention to detail.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Argentina also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.