We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Umbrian Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Falchetto

Il Falchetto
Strada Fontana la Trinita 2/D | 075 5731775, 06132 Perugia, Italy
075.5731775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 710 Restaurants in Perugia
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Edinburgh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Great Umbrian Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was our first evening dining experience in Perugia and it turned out to be quite exceptional. We were surprised that the restaurant was not a bit busier.
The food was of particularly high quality and served by friendly, efficient staff. We enjoyed it so much we went back for seconds.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    49
    15
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value and quality, just a stones's throw from the Duomo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were so impressed that we went twice on a short visit to perugia. Sad that the restaurant was not full, but that did not impair the experience. The quality and presentation was excellent, and the service efficient and welcoming. What a great location, just a 30 second walk from the cathedral. But the real star is the food, high quality, well presented and very good value. Not expensive at all!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Underwhelming dining experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Went there as Fodor's had high praise for the restaurant. And there is a theme now emerging with all Fodor's recommendations. All their Hill top village/town restaurant ratings are a miss. Every where else like Rome(Nino), Florence (Mario) were top notch hits for $ to $$.

Anyway back to the topic. We walked in to an empty restaurant and there was no real reception. Pointed us to a table. The owner himself walked by us a couple of times, with just a blank stare every time he looked at us. You'd think he was just another unhappy customer by the look of him. Anyways, the real downer was the food. My wife ordered the roasted pork calf in some dark sauce, and it was dry and flavorless. I ordered the steak with mushroom and truffle sauce, and it was decent. The saving grace was the roasted potatoes we ordered as a side dish.

However the Tiramisu was not bad.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was our first time to Il Falchetto and it was Xmas night. We were a little apprehensive but there was no need. The menu was really interesting and a little different. My wife had an excellent pasta dish whilst I have the pork in a balsamic sauce - both were really good and worth a trip back. Also prices of food and wine were pretty good.

We will go back on our next trip to Perugia to sample more but do give this little place a try when you are next there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“the food was ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

While the food was ok, just ok in Perugia is a disappointment after eating at so many really delicious spots

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Falchetto also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Il Falchetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Falchetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.