We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a very reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Giardino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Giardino to your Saves list
Villa Giardino
Via Vincenzo Maniconi, 97 | Ponte Felcino, 06134 Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Perugia
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great place for a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The staff is super kind and welcoming, they went out of their way to make us feel at home. The hostel is an old mill on the Tiber River and the structure has been beautifully renovated. The location is perfect to access Perugia, Assisi, Gubbio, Spoleto and the rest of Umbria. After a day of visits, at night you can have dinner al fresco in their beautiful courtyard. The end of august 2012 was exceptionally warm for Italy (it was actually the warmest summer in the last two centuries!!) but the ancient and thick walls of the building miraculously kept the place much cooler than it was outside. The internet connection was fast. We felt at home! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn,NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

There's really something to be said about this place as it compares to our more expensive stay in a 4-star hotel in Rome. I would have much rather stayed at Ostello Ponte Felcino.

The staff were really great. The food was delicious (if you can book a Saturday night dinner for 16 Euro pp. It's worth every cent). The tranquility was priceless.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

I travel on holiday every year, to different countries. This year, I took 2 months off work to bring my children (7 and 3) to italy. I am a single mother travelling alone, so I was very particular about where I stay to ensure the safety of my children. I corresponded with Elena at the hostel many times before I arrived, she answered all my emails promptly and gave me confidence that the hostel met all my requirements (yes I am very fastidious!). Elena offered to pick me up from the airport considering I was travelling alone with small children, and I was very fortunate as I was very sick when I arrived. I got worse as the day wore on at which time Elena drove me to the local medical centre for assistance.

The hostel was perfect for me and my children, there was a games room and plenty of garden for them to run around in safely. The staff were amazing, flexible, patient and friendly. Not having full command of the langage, I often asked for assistance, even though they are very busy, they never made me feel like I was imposing. I had a family room with a king bed and bunk beds with large bathroom and balcony. It was clean and functional, with fresh laundered sheets.

My chlidren spent many hours, either with Cartia and Andrea in the kitchen, or Max, Elena or Ana in the office, and terroristed their dogs, Carmen and Sid.

This hostel is great for all types of travellers, singles, couples and especially families or groups. The dinners were excellent,. Breakfast was simple and did not change, but I gather Italy wasn't big on breakfasts and neither was I.

I would recommend this hostel most definitely, it is clean, friendly great value. It is close to bus stop to Perugia.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

My husband and i had the pleasure to stay in this great hostel in ponte fecino! the staff was fantastic, so friendly and helpful. We arrived tired from the jorney, and were welcomed by elena, who also spoke english! The room we had was clean and an excellent value with a balcony overlooking this beautiful park. The hostel is in this old castel, really cool! It is in quiet area -and yet we were just a bus ride away from perugia, and assisi - whish we really wanted to see on our Italy vacacion. The food was amazing! for just 10 euros we ate like kings! We were there with a group and the staff was more than accomadating, being very attentive and hospitable. I would recomend this hosel to anyone who wants good value for their money, wants to be close to the sights of perugia, assisi and umbria yet wants to sleep in a quiet place without the noise of a club next door. It was great!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Giardino

Address: Via Vincenzo Maniconi, 97 | Ponte Felcino, 06134 Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just perfect for those travelling on tires!! We're located at just 6/7 km from Perugia city centre...only 15 minutes bus ride and just 6 by car... For those travelling by train, maybe The 35 minutes ride from Perugia train station to the hostel could be a little challenge but remember: the more you travel the best you can see!!The hostel is the door to a protected green area where you'll be able to see a wide range of wildlife and vegetation from all over the world!! The hostel is in a very old building that used to be a big farm, all the rooms (2-6 beds) are with services inside and very comfortable beds! ...Our creative and genuine kitchen with a very relaxed atmosphere will make your stay a very pleasant stay...Come and join us!!L'ostello è praticamente un agriturismo!!E' semplicemente perfetto per chi viaggia motorizzato... a soli 6 minuti dal centro di Perugia!!Immerso nel verde del Bosco Didattico di Ponte Felcino, ad un passo dal percorso fluviale del Tevere, questa antica casa padronale, egregiamente ristrutturata, ospita camere di vario tipo (matrimoniali, doppie, triple, quadruple...) tutte con servizi interni e letti ortopedici molto, molto comodi!!!Vivamente consigliato a tutti coloro che non cercano il solito ostello!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.