We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Via delle Streghe, 8 | Centro Storico, 06123 Perugia, Italy
+39 075 572 4128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 708 Restaurants in Perugia
Price range: $0 - $62
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Tavoli all'aperto in piazzetta.
1 review
“Best meal ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Perugia is a nice base city to tour Umbria, but nothing I needed to see except La Taverna. Claudio Brugalossi is a very gracious host and served what may have been the best meal I have ever enjoyed. A must if traveling in Umbria.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,875
    415
    135
    50
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat in Perugia, and came here based on other reviews. We were delighted with the choice!

Lovely setting, excellent food and thoughtful extras, such as a glass of prosecco when you arrive and a liqueur (chocolate) when you leave.

We were not sure about the wine, so were worried when the waiter said he would choose one for us. We assumed that he would pick a really expensive one, but he didn't. He picked a delicious Montefalcone, at the lower end of the prices on the wine list, and it was lovely. Would recommend to anyone, especially the Paperdelle!

In terms of price, we paid 100 euros for 2 courses and wine. Considering the quality of the food, we thought it was well worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The best restaurant where I have ever eaten!
Prices are high but the quality is excellent.
unforgettable wines
RECOMMENDED RECOMMENDED RECOMMENDED

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good quality food and experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent meal, really good quality food and very good service too. Not the cheapest meal you'll find by any stretch, but the dishes live up to the price tag. They also throw in free prosecco to begin with and a free liqueur at the end of the meal.

The head chef made a point of introducing himself to the guests and asking if you were pleased with the meal, which was a nice touch. If available, try one of the local beef dishes!

The setting is very nice too, with a cosy, romantic atmosphere (although the walk to the front door would suggest otherwise, it's sort of tucked away off of the main high street in Perugia's centre). Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Most enjoyable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was hands down the best on our Umbrian/Toscany detour. The restaurant is very pretty and warm, the food is out of bounce. I had scrambled eggs with truffles and black truffles ravioli, my husband had grilled polenta with pork meat sauce and grilled lamb chops. The plates are gorgeous and you will not leave this restaurant hungry. The bill came to almost 80$ with wine, water, expressos and dessert. Nice touch: liquore a choccolata is served complimentary. Crisp and attentive service, the chef came twice to check on our dinner. He is a fine gentleman.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.