We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overratted” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Via delle Streghe, 8 | Centro Storico, 06123 Perugia, Italy
+39 075 572 4128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 673 Restaurants in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tavoli all'aperto in piazzetta.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overratted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I chose this restaurant because of the raving reviews on tripadvisor. I must say I was a bit disappointed. The restaurant is nice and well-conducted. The service is OK, even if not particularly friendly. What I found not equal to the expectations was the food. We had the antipasto, which was just fine, as you would expect to get in almost any decent trattoria in the area. The tagliata was also OK, but, again, nothing above average. The wine choice is good, the prices above average for the earea

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,043
    454
    152
    51
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bravo--Superb Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to La Taverna two nights in a row because the food, service and ambience were superlative. The owner, Claudio Brugalossi, is charming and attentive and loves to take care of his clients. He speaks perfect English, but the restaurant was filled with locals as well as some tourists like us. The tables are well spaced so the restaurant is intimate and comfortable. Before you even order, they bring out a glass of prosecco and some vegetables. My husband and I shared a pasta both nights (Umbrian specialty of some kind), and then had delicious entrees. Our first night we both ordered fish (salmon and cod)--it was fresh and cooked perfectly. We loved La Taverna so much that we returned a second night, and decided to both have meat. Claudio prepared exactly what we requested which was rack of lamb cooked to perfection with spinachi and my husband had veal limone. La Taverna also has an outstanding dessert cart. The staff is professional and attentive. We recommend La Taverna hugely. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A FIRM FAVOURITE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have visited La Taverna repeatedly over the last 3 or 4 years and have never been disappointed either in the food or the welcome we receive. There is always a large selection of dishes on the menu all made from the freshest food and lovingly prepared. A wide selection of wines is available at reasonable prices and La Taverna really is a must place to dine for residents and visitors alike. The fact that many locals eat there on special occasions demonstrates that it is not just a tourist venue but a treat for the discerning diner away from the rush of busy Perugia.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The chef should be on the Iron Chef show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What an experience! I went before Christmas last year with some friends from Todi. The chef looks like he could be on the Iron Chef TV show. He's got so much energy, he walks from the kitchen to the dining room and then when the restaurant gets busy, he disappears in the kitchen to do what he does best. We were lucky enough to watch him cooking because the door was open. I had raw tuna and raw shrimp appetizer, served with few drops of REAL balsamico and the chef suggested a baccala tempura. Fantastic, light as a feather and the chef gave me the recipe of the caramelized ginger. Don't miss the Tarte Tatin because is magnificent. I was a guest of my Italian friends so I don't know how expensive it was. Multilingual servers will pamper you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't go wrong at la taverna.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Absolutely fantastic food & service @ La Taverna in Perugia. Do not miss the gnocchi and the black truffle ravioli. Salads are very fresh and the scalloped potatoes are a combination of crisp and soft. Above expectations, by all means.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Sant'Egidio, Perugia
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.