We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience I will never forget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Via delle Streghe, 8 | Centro Storico, 06123 Perugia, Italy
+39 075 572 4128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 708 Restaurants in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tavoli all'aperto in piazzetta.
bakewell
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An experience I will never forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Dined here in May of 2012 and can honestly say this was a truly unforgettable experience.
The setting, atmosphere and of course the incredible food and wine.
This place is special - I would recommend it highly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,037
    452
    152
    51
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent authentic italian gourmet cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We ve been at La Taverna last month for dinner once..and we came back every night after that during our whole stay in Perugia.
Great, excellent food, great chef and great team in the kitchen, great quality,local and seasonal products which is the base of the italian cuisine.

We ll be back for sure Claudio! GRAZIE
Matthew and Julie

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very promoted place, but ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked the restaurant long time in advance based on the rating. Place in the centre of the town, interior average (too many different styles). The starters was OK, but the main course was not as we expected - my wife got burned artichokes on the top of the meat, the pairing with the wine was not very good. The Chef showed his presence in the dining room, but it looks better he watch his kitchen...
Service was only average.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best zuppa ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I went there yesterday for dinner. I had a zuppa di fave e carciofi...it was the best zuppa ever!! Really amazing flavour. I also has some good grilled pecorino and vegetables and some nice red wine by the glass. Service was great. Grazie!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in all of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

During my stay in Perugia I ate at La Taverna twice. I know this may sound like a silly decision considering the multitude of available restaurants, but you wouldn't understand my choice unless you experienced what I did. The first meal I had was carmelo rossi with gorgonzola cheese and red beets inside. INCREDIBLE. The sauce was rich and beautiful. Also, the bread that they bring out is fresh and delicious, served with excellent olive oil. For my second meal I was recommended to have the gnocchi. Once again INCREDIBLE. The gnocchi was a perfect consistency and it melted in my mouth. Best gnocchi I've ever had. I have never written a review on Tripadvisor before because I never thought it was worth it. La Taverna changed that. I will have to go back to Perugia just for this restaurant. By the way I have been eating at all of the fine restaurant in Rome and still think that La Taverna is the BEST IN ITALY! GO THERE.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Sant'Egidio, Perugia
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.