We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuccagna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Cuccagna
Save
You added La Cuccagna to your Saves list
Frazion Santa Cristina No.22, 06024 Gubbio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Gubbio B&B and Inns
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a really lovely place, perched high on a hill, with stunning views.

Sarah and Sal were very welcoming hosts, but the B&B is also run very professionally, with a lot of attention to detail. Our only gripe is that our stay here was too short. Next time we'll stay longer.

The pizza night is strongly recommended. Sal makes the pizzas in his own wood burning oven in the garden, and they are the best we have ever Tasted. All present had a wonderful evening.

We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks for your nice review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the company of our other lovely guests at our pizza night.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Sarah and Salvatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful, authentic Umbrian place to stay; great views, out of this world pool, wonderful and hospitable hosts who gave us great local tips and ensured our day trips were 10 out of 10. We were made to feel that our accommodation was home from home thank you Sarah and Sal, you provide an outstanding level of accommodation and the best yummy pizza's fresh from your wood-fired oven!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much, especially Sal's pizza! We remeber that you chose some lovely days out and are glad you managed to experience the 'off the beaten track' Italian experience.

A special thank you for being our 100th reviewer!

Best wishes,

Sarah and Salvatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from the most enjoyable and relaxing week's holiday at this fantastic B&B set high in the Umbrian countryside. The weather was excellent and we made full use of the lovely infinity pool.Sarah and Salvatore are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. Sarah is a mine of local information on where to go, what to see and where to eat, even down to booking restaurants and arranging taxis.Sal's piazza night is a must! A big thank you to you both,and a big hug for Rosa and we will see you again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Many thanks for your nice review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much, we are always delighted to here that our guests have had an enjoyable holiday here at La Cuccagna.

It was a pleasure to meet you.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Salvatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have just returned from spending a wonderful five nights at La Cuccagna with our 3month old baby, and already thinking about when we will return.

Sarah and Sal are the perfect hosts, striking the balance between being warm & friendly and thoroughly professional. Each morning, Sarah gives guests tailored recommendations on where to go and what to see. Nothing is too much to ask, and both were brilliant at accommodating our baby & anticipating his needs.

The pool is a highlight with spectacular panoramic views. The accommodation is simple but comfortable and clean. The grounds are very pretty with trees laden with cherries during our stay. The sunsets were beautiful.

The only downside for us was having to drive out for our evening meal with il bambino, although Sarah and Sal were very happy for us to have picnic suppers on the terrace. Next time, we would probably opt to stay in 'La Stalleta' (the cowshed). Sal & Sarah did mention plans to build a small restaurant though, which would be another big draw if Sal's pizzas were anything to go by!

Other guests were returning visitors to La Cuccagna which says it all. We certainly want to go back and will be recommending the place to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Many thanks for such a lovely review.

We are always so pleased to hear how much guests have enjoyed their holidays. You were an absolute pleasure to host and you have the most perfect baby - not a peep from him during your entire stay and he really seemed to enjoy his dips in the pool.

It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Wonderful stay at La Cuccagna last week - I almost don't want to say how good it is for fear I won't be able to get in next time! Truly fantastic - stunning setting, so easy to get to via Perugia (thanks to excellent directions from Sarah), wonderful hosts Sarah and Sal who do everything to help and yet never intrude - a hard balance to strike and they manage it perfectly. True relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Many thanks for your complimentary review.

It was a pleasure to meet you and you were a delightful guest and we know that the other guests enjoyed your company.

We always feel so lucky that we have such lovely guests who make our job so enjoyable.

We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A countryside villa with beautiful infinity pool are the first sight of this lovely B&B / self catering private home in Umbria, near Perugia and Gubbio, then the pretty garden path with herbs planted and roses in the garden. Guest accommodation is separate from the main house and nicely situated off a stunning vista. Each room is large with a nice bathroom, cleanliness and comfy beds are key here and a healthy breakfast greets you each morning, hosted by Sarah, owner of the Villa with husband Salvatore. A great couple, combining English / Italian - fantastic restaurant and local places to visit oracles - great friends with their surrounding contemporaries and therefore you are able to appreciate the best their local part of Umbria has to offer. Take in local places of interest in nearby Perugia, Gubbio, Assisi, Spello, Narni and not far away is Lake Trasimeno leading to the Tuscan gateway of Cortona and a little further Siena and Florence, only 2 hours from Rome. La Cuccagna is a great base to stay with an amazing pool, good amenities, excellent hosts and super Pizza evenings :0) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay alternating days out with days by the pool and felt at home. Thank you Sarah and Salvatore.

Room Tip: Good shower & very comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate the time you have taken so write such a detailed review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you point out, we are very lucky to be so conveniently located to visit so many beautiful places and we're pleased you were able to enjoy so many of them as well as have plenty of time to relax by the pool.

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope that we will see you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just spent an amazing week at La Cuccagna with my son, daughter-in-law, her parents, grandson and husband. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Sarah and Salvatore are the best hosts and made the holiday one of the best we have had. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and the pizza night is definitely not to be missed.
Thank you Sarah and Salatore for a lovely holiday and a hug for your lovely daughter, Rosa.
Bob and Glenda Oxley

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.

It was lovely to meet more of the family and we are so glad you all enjoyed your stay so much - we look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cuccagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuccagna

Address: Frazion Santa Cristina No.22, 06024 Gubbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuccagna offers boutique style B&B and self-catering accommodation, finished with the highest quality luxury linens, plush towels, fluffy bathrobes and organic artisan toiletries. Our rooms are rustic and simple in harmony with the natural surroundings. Furnishings are mostly handmade locally in the original style of an Umbrian farmhouse and we have used local artists, ceramics and textiles in the finishing touches. Our hilltop position offers peace and tranquillity with stunning, unspoilt views over the hills and valleys. Our horizon pool has an infinity edge that drops off into the rolling Umbrian countryside with views that stretch into neighbouring Tuscany. We are an English / Italian couple who decided to find a little piece of paradise in Umbria and open our home to offer guests a unique and authentic experience. Our guests receive a warm welcome and we pride ourselves in ensuring that they receive the highest level of personal hospitality and enjoy the most relaxing stay possible. We love the Umbrian way of life and all it has to offer and it gives us great pleasure to help our guests enjoy the very best stay in our stunning surroundings. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cuccagna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.