We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Picchio Verde

Picchio Verde
Via savelli della porta, 65, 06024 Gubbio, Italy
075.9276649
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 87 Restaurants in Gubbio
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a very nice meal for 8 today at this restaurant which I booked at 10 minutes notice.
The waitress could not have been more pleasant, friendly and helpful. The price was very reasonable with particularly excellent pasta. The house wines both white and red were good and cheap too. I was very impressed, if we ever come to Gubbio again we will return, we are used to expensive dining and it made a change to get really good food and service in nice surroundings for a good price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    128
    46
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Gubbio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I recommended by a friend to dine at Picchio Verde while we were visiting Gubbio which is a charming medieval town . I'm so glad that I took her advice. The restaurant which is family-run is in a quiet area of Gubbio away from the main touristic part of the town. We were told to arrive at the restaurant no later than 1 o'clock as they stop serving at 2. We were greeted by a very friendly waiter who turned out to be the owner's son. He patiently went through the menu and gave us plenty of recommendations on what to order. We began with the bruschetta which came with three different but equally delicious toppings. For the next course, I had the homemade tagliatelle with tartufo(truffles). It was divine! my husband had the steak which was cooked to perfection. We also
ordered a plate of grilled vegetables which were extremely tasty. For dessert, we ordered
pana cotta and a tiramisu. Both were heavenly! I especially enjoyed the house red wine which was a Sangiovese and would highly recommend it. I would definitely return to this restaurant when I hopefully visit Gubbio next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spoleto, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“unexpected perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

i have eaten at picchio verde many times, i love gubbio and think it is one of the most beautiful cities in umbria, so have taken many friends to eat here. when i was organizing a large group of friends to have a day in gubbio, i immediately thought of this lovely restaurant, they have a delicious tourist menu that is all inclusive, but nothing was prepared me for how wonderful they were in organizing our event. with 26 people, this lovely family owned and run restaurant arranged a fixed price menu that was incredible, two pastas, vegetables, and meats courses, wine, water, and caffè. but the surprise was that they had also prepared a wonderful local antipasto, and included a dessert and dessert wine for our group. we could not have been more pleased. we will definitely be back many times, with small and large groups!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Popular restaurant in a nice vaulted space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went with friends from Gubbio because they like this restaurant. It was a busy Sunday lunch, with lots of families out after church. We chose to use the tourist menu and had lasagna, mixed grill, grilled local cheese, eggplant, and mixed meats roasted on an open fire. We all had a great time, and the service was excellent.

BTW, they have the nicest washrooms in Italy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and atmospheric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a memorable evening here. Great, friendly staff and a lovely fire going in the fireplace (on a pouring wet evening) for us to watch the meat cooking. We liked the fixed price menus, 15 euro for the tourist menu (homemade lasagne, rosemary roasted meats + salad, wine, water + coffee) and euro 28 for the 4 courses, finishing with biscuits to dunk in vin santo. The staff even brought my wife a little antipasto so she wouldn't be alone in the first course. No added extras, just smiles, good food + wine, great service + a demonstration on how to fold serviettes in "fan" formation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picchio Verde also viewed

Gubbio, Province of Perugia
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
 
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Picchio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picchio Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.