We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo di Carpiano

Save Saved
You added Borgo di Carpiano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo di Carpiano
Localita' Carpiano, Gubbio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 61 Specialty lodging in Gubbio
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best place ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had a fantastic stay here last month. Beautiful location, great place to relax and enjoy the views, the pool, the early evening Prosecco, the food, the company of other guests. Ricardo and Marilisa are wonderful hosts - I can't think of anything we would want to change - it's just perfect. Very much hope to be lucky enough to re-visit sometime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
143
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We absolutely loved this place it is so quiet and relaxing. We had plans to visit surrounding towns but only managed to see Gubbio , which was indeed a lovely town and well worth a visit, all our other plans had to be scrapped in favour of relaxing here instead.
The food is fantastic and nothing is a problem for Ricardo.There is no point in going away out to eat elsewhere when you can have the best food cooked for you by Ricardo not to mention the beautiful wines he has to offer.
If you are looking for somewhere to really relax for a few days then this is definately the place to go.
I think we had the smallest room as we booked late, however it was still perfect with a private garden, I don't think we had the views that the other rooms had but we did not care at all and had a fantastic time.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine any of the rooms would be bad here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Some of the staff have "unplug" written on their uniform but here in the umbrian hills this is not just a slogan it's reality.
It is one of the most relaxing, tranquil, laid back and beautiful places we have ever stayed. We really did unplug for a couple of days and only wish we stayed longer.
Ricardo, marilisa and ilisa and all the other staff go out of their way to make you have the most enjoyable time.
The food is amazing. I don't eat meat but this was not problem at all. They are happy to please any dietary needs or fusiness .
The room, or should i say suite, was huge, tastefully simple and beautiful, with an amazing view.
Sitting on the terrace, a cold glass of prosseco watching the sun drop below the beautiful hills, stunning.
Great pool, super massage.
Love love love, especially the truffle pasta and best pistachio ice cream ever!
We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you want to completely relax in luxury this is the place to do it! Rooms very private with very comfortable beds and crisp fresh linens, caracteristically decorated with antique furnishings. The infinity pool is immersed in the middle of the beautiful Umbrian countryside and is a pleasure to swim in. There is a massage cabin with a wonderful committed therapist. The food is delicious and although plenty, has a fresh healthiness to it that doesn't leave you with an unhappy tummy. Ricardo and Marilisa are wonderful hosts in a class of their own, and make you feel truly welcome. Of the many places we have stayed throughout Italy this is by far the lovelyist.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

spent several days/nights here earlier this summer. a perfect getaway. interesting drive through the Umbrian countryside. the facility is wonderful - great rooms, beautiful views, a discrete well trained staff. the food is simply beyond great. the best meals we had in italy were at Borgo di Caripiano. We will definately return

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Love love love this wonderful oasis! Met Ricardo & Marielise @ their sublime restaurant, "Harmony Hall" in Antigua so we knew this would be a real treat. Our 3 generations (ages 75-11yrs) were greeted with open arms to 3 beautifully appointed guest rooms. Each were extremely comfortable and thoughtfully decorated. Breakfast was ample and delish! The pool was a gorgeous respite in the afternoon with an iced cappuccino in hand. Our 15 & 11yr old enjoyed discovering the old church living room filled with games, books and afternoon teas & pastries. Save room for the 4-5 course nightly dinner that Ricardo thoughtfully orchestrates with his local chef. Loved walking the 2 mile winding driveway & nature trails to keep up with all of the wonderful fare we happily put away! Put this one on your "Bucket List" as it is sure to be a memory maker for all ages!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I found this place by just searching for agriturismos on an Italian government site. What a fabulous find! Marilisa and Riccardo bought this desanctified site from the Vatican. When they got it the place was a shambles, but what a view. They restored the whole place. Rooms are spotless. Riccardo is the cook, and the food is wonderful. Make sure you eat both breakfast and dinner right there. Dinner was great. They will also make lunch for you there, or pack a lunch for you to take with you if you are exploring Gubbio or Perugia for the day. Swimming pool was spotless and beautiful. I want to go back! This place is in the country, so make sure you get driving directions from them and pay attention to the directions. When you turn off the road to go down their long driveway you may wonder what's ahead (!), BUT the inn is beautiful. I want to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgo di Carpiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo di Carpiano

Address: Localita' Carpiano, Gubbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Specialty lodging in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient castle of Carpiano is among the hidden treasures of beautiful Umbria. This small hamlet is located at only 12 Km from the medieval town of Gubbio and 22 km from Perugia. In this pleasant place simplicity, elegance and warmth of genuine hospitality are ideally combined. The Borgo is surrounded by secular olive trees and lush woods in a pristine valley crossed by the Ventia stream. The three stone buildings that comprise it are perched on a spur of rock that ends with an infinity pool of salt water overlooking the valley. In the main building, the old church has been restored keeping the original frescoes and has been now converted into library and conversation room hosting classical music concerts and events. During the winter months meals are served in the large dining room in front of the warmth of the old fireplace while in the summer are served in the small square with breathtaking view over the valley.Home made bread, cakes and biscuits, vegetables from the vegetable garden and a search of quality ingredients, all strictly "seasoned with our own olive oil" ....The Borgo has only eight rooms all renovated respecting the original architecture and materials of the time. Get lost in the woods, plan to do very little, get accustomed to the silence are recommended activities!Borgo di Carpiano is also an ideal setting for an exclusive place to celebrate with your friends a special occasion. In house wine, cheese and olive oil tasting, cooking classes, therapeutic treatments and relaxing massages can be arranged. Horse riding, golf, rafting can be found in the nearby surroundings. The Borgo is in a strategic position to visit all the major Umbrian towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Borgo di Carpiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Carpiano Hotel Gubbio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo di Carpiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.