We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ideale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Ideale to your Saves list
Hotel Ideale
Piazza Matteotti 1, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Assisi
Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

We loved this hotel! Beautiful views and one of our best breakfasts in Italy. We had a great room with a balcony that overlooked Assisi. It was kind of confusing to find this hotel initially, but once we found it, we were glad that we did.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    83
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
78
135
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

Beautiful hotel with splendid views from our balcony. Our family of four found the room spacious and clean. To park the car you have to literally SQUEEZE through the front gate (make sure they have it open for your arrival as it's off a busy major street), into a lovely olive treed car park/garden. The folks who run the hotel are pleasant enough but not overly friendly. The 10 minute walk inot the center of Assisi is very pleasant. The hotel advertised air conditioning but when we got there we were informed we would have to pay extra if we required it. Luckily it was a cooler August night so air conditioning was not an issue. A little noisy at night (off the main drag) but I can usually sleep through noise. Breakfasts were quite good. Would I stay again? Maybe. I guess so. If I seem ambivalent it's because the management seemed to regard us as just another set of tourists (which we surely are). Had I not stayed at other hotels where they welcome you warmly and make you feel special, I would give this place a higher rating.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

Our family booked 2 rooms at the Hotel Ideale in Assisi. The location is very good and they have a small car park which saves a lot of trouble and expense in a popular Italian hill town! Both of the rooms we booked had amazing views (see attached photo). The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The size of the rooms is on the normal to larger side for Italian hotels of this price. The included breakfast was also extremely good and the staff went out of their way to be friendly. My only problem is that we could just stay one night. Beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2004

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Ideale in Assisi on November 1 and 2, 2004. We were not expecting luxury for E85 per night; nevertheless we were not completely satisfied with the accommodations. The man at the desk when we checked in spoke no English and didn't even try to understand us when we tried to tell him that the air conditioner didn't work and that the refrigerator was unplugged. These amenities were advertised, and they were never provided. The room was tiny but clean, as was the bathroom. However, the shower was a hand-held device with a curtain to wrap around yourself while standing in the middle of the bathroom floor. We are big people, but I must confess the shower was effective even though the curtain limited our movements, and we each had to dry the entire floor after showering. Otherwise, we would have broken our necks on the slippery tile.

The hotel is located at the top of the hill in Assisi and has its own car park, if you can maneuver your small car between the olive trees. All but one room have balconies overlooking the village and the Umbrian countryside far below. My husband particularly enjoyed this feature, as he could sit outside with his beloved cigar while watching the light change over the valley. The owners must have relatives in the bakery business, for each morning we were treated to a lavish spread of baked goodies, along with a platter of meats and cheeses, coffee and juice.

The television did not have cable and provided only Italian stations, which was a huge frustration to the Americans there who wanted to know the outcome of our presidential election. The owners, two sisters who live in an adjacent house, were there most of the time and told us what they could of the news from the States.

All in all, the advantages outweighed the drawbacks. For the price and the view, we'd probably stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2004

We very much enjoyed our experience at the Hotel Ideale in Assisi. We had a beautiful view not only from our room but even from our bathroom. I had fallen and hurt my ankle at the station, and the signora and her daughter were kind and helpful to me. It was quiet, good beds. We'd return.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ideale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideale

Address: Piazza Matteotti 1, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Assisi
#4 Business Hotel in Assisi
#6 Family Hotel in Assisi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ideal is located in a quiet setting, a short walk from the center of Assisi and the major historical and religious monuments of the city. Our small hotel is surrounded by a tranquil garden on a ridge with spectacular panoramic views of the surrounding valley. Take a step away from the hectic pace of everyday life, and enjoy a piece of heaven on the large terrace next to the rose garden, or in the quietness of your room and balcony overlooking the beauty of the region. The Pampanini family will help you discover the wonders of beautiful Assisi and Umbria! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ideale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideale Turisti Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ideale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.