We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ideale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ideale to your Saves list
Hotel Ideale
Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 1, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was an unexpected Gem. Situated on the outskirts of Assissi, we felt like we hit the jackpot when we walked into this hotel. It is a family run boutique hotel. Kept very clean, very sweet, with their cat Romeo ( a lovely short haired domestic) hanging out in the lobby, you feel like you entered a place out of the movies. The view from their back terrace overlooks the valley and the town and, if you didn't have sightseeing to do, you might just want to stay there and hang out. The same goes for our room. A large room with a french doors opening to a terrace that also overlooked the valley in one direction and the town in the other. I wished we could sit there for hours. They also have ample parking. I will definitely stay there again. P.S. I am very particular about my hotels;)

Room Tip: Choose room 31, it was the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    98
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
162
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Small and quaint hotel at the top end of Assisi. Easily accessible from the highway, parking lot on premises. Right at the bus for easy access to the basilica. Beautiful views from the garden, terrace and each room overlooking Assisi, its many churches and the Umbrian valley below. Family owned and operated, the staff speaks limited english but are so kind and helpful and genuine - you feel like you are visiting with friends. Rooms are clean and comfortable, internet/ wifi available but a bit intermittent however cafes right around the corner have strong signals/access. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: There are only 12 rooms - you might want to ask for one with a balcony overlooking the patio but all...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the hotel Ideale in Assisi in November. As we could not book it via the usual booking sites, we did so via telephone and mail, and everything went well. The hotel is just outside the city centre of Assisi in front of the Matteotti parking. The hotel entrance is in a turn so if you come by car, don't miss it. The parking is small and full of olive trees. Makes it a bit difficult to park, (do not hire a big car) but anyway it was great having the parking so close to the centre. We asked for a room with a view: and we got a beautifull one. Outside the main building, in the little garden we had a splendid triple room. Very nicely decorated, spotless clean, fantastic bathroom and lot's of space with a fantastic view over the rooftops of Assisi. The breakfast was very good, fresh fruits, cheese, cakes etc. We had to get an early flight so we could even take the breakfast a little bit earlier. In the evening you could order a drink at the reception desk which was handy. The hotel owner is very friendly, maybe he is a little bit too present a the breakfast. Only downside, but nothing to do with the hotel: we did not like Assisi too much. It is a breathtakingly beautifull city, but we found it a bit too religous, too boring, nothing much to do other than visit churches and museums. Maybe it is more lively in summer. If we would go back to Assisi, we would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a rooml with a view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Follow-up review to recent debnala posting (my friend).

Summary: I would definitely stay here on my next visit to Assisi and would highly recommend it to my friends!

Pros: This is an outstanding smaller hotel adjacent to the main parking area of Assisi; Piazza Matteoti. It is at the "uphill" edge of the city, immediately behind the back wall of the Duomo di San Rufino (cathedral). Here is a view of the hotel looking up from the Basilica di Santa Chiara: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zTnbyE4Zjnw
The rooms are clean and comfortable. As every reviewer indicated, the views are to die for! The breakfast is excellent with fresh baked goods, hearty breads, meats, hard boiled eggs, coffee drinks made to order (americano, cappuccino, latte, etc.). Short video clip of breakfast spread at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-TkmvDNCjbE
We always sat out on the veranda with the magnificent views. Free parking inside the walled courtyard, but be prepared for extremely tight driving around the olive trees. The ladies at the front desk were extremely helpful with our tourist needs (buying tickets to the Palazzo Valentini in Rome, lost British Airways luggage that they would not deliver "all the way to Assisi").

Cons: The hotel is very difficult to spot if you are driving since the small hotel name is on the wall parallel to the street and the entrance drops off very steeply. At night, the lighted sign makes it much easier to find. The older gentleman who helps with breakfast and later in the day (he works at a nearby souvenir shop during the day) is not the most friendly, but he isn't too bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We LOVED this hotel- it is a true gem! GORGEOUS views from the outdoor areas, and from the rooms with balconies. Ask for a room with a balcony! The rooms are fairly spartan but clean and inviting, and the bed was comfortable. We had wine and appetizers in the evening on the terrace that we got from a local deli, with a group of friends, and it was just lovely. The family members that own and run this hotel are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is a nice array of meats, cheeses, pastries, fruit, etc. and they will gladly make you a nice cappucino.The airline lost my baggage and they really went the extra mile to help me out. The location is excellent and just steps away from the heart of Assisi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this gem, can't believe it's only 2 stars. The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable with a fabulous shower. The first floor rooms have a balcony with breathtaking views of Assisi and beyond. Owners are lovely as is Romeo the cat. Breakfast was adequate and location great as close to town bus and a short stroll to everything. We loved it here and would definitely stay again if we return to this wonderful town. The walk to Rocca Maggiore is worth it!

Room Tip: First floor for balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second stay at Hotel Ideale and, again, it was perfect. Echoing other reviews, the views are outstanding and the garden really sets this place apart from other hotels in Assisi. The warmth and helpfulness of the family and the great location made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza
Hotel La Terrazza
#2 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#12 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#7 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Berti
Hotel Berti
#11 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roseo Hotel Assisi
Roseo Hotel Assisi
#24 of 71 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideale

Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 1, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Assisi
#5 Family Hotel in Assisi
#6 Best Value Hotel in Assisi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With gorgeous views of the valley! Cheap&Chic: You'll find everything you need for a pleasant Assisi stay in Hotel Ideale, a quiet room with view ,lovingly put togheter with elements of only italian design and Umbrian artisan works. .FREE WI FI .the bedrooms have a bed with excellent mattress SIMMONS, bedspread painted with lively colors with natural fibre, contemporary design. .the bathrooms are updated with beautiful contemporary finishings to include original Domiziani designed sinks. Each shower is equipped with both a wand and rainshower head, with crystal shower box . Hair-dryer and bathrooms courtesy kit . Tv, Minibar ,telephone . Air-conditioning with independent thermostat control room with balcony and view To make your stay as comfortable as possible, we provide the following services: - FREE PARKING among the olive trees of our garden, leaving you free to meander around Assisi on foot -GARDEN -PANORAMIC TERRACE BAR & CAFE any time of the day you may request a glass of wine accompanied by some tasty bruschetta and quality olive oil ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ideale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideale Turisti Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ideale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.