We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property!Fantastic Views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Petrata

Save Saved
You added Castello di Petrata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Petrata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Petrata 25, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Assisi
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful Property!Fantastic Views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 days.A great place to relax and have some local wine.Beautiful plantings around property.Staff was friendly and helpful.Lovely breakfast provided.However we were disappointed in our dinner.Food quality could be improved on.Close to Spello and Assisi which we really enjoyed.Overall a very nice experience and would visit again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    69
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
202
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Castello di Petrata for two nights while visiting Assisi last week. We arrived late, (due to extending a day trip in Florence) but the staff was accomodating. We were given a quick tour of the hotel and decided to have dinner in the dinning rom. We started with a local wine which was excellent ($25 euro) and our dinners were great. Even though we were late and the only patrons in the dining room, our server didn't rush us and we enjoyed the peaceful nature of the setting.
Our room was located in the "Watch Tower" (room 105) and I don't know what other rooms have for a view but this one was spectacular. We had a view of Assisi and through the valley that was awesome in the morning.
The following morning, we had to leave early however they opened the breakfast to us early. The breakfast was diverse and offered local meats and cheese too. The pastry they bake with their marmalade I would highly recommend!
The road to get there is a lightly traveled country road with a fair increase in elevation. The signs are clear and lead you to the entrance. We couldn't locate the actual street address on the GPS but the web site map was good enough to get us to the turn from the major road. Returning to the Castello in the dark we even encountered a large boar crossing the road!
We used the Trip Advisor discount and saved 60 Euro. I have already recommended Castelllo di Petrata to some family members who are planning a trip next summer. If we have the opportunity to return to Assisi/Umbria, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 105 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in the castle a few weeks ago and were blown away with the property. It was a beautiful place to relax and drink some great wines! But keep reading...

However - one of the nights, we went to the bar before dinner and asked for "two glasses of local white wine". They brought out a couple glasses and we drank over an appetizer which was offered to us (not off a menu but more conversationally as most snacks are offered with wine in Italy). We came to find out upon check out that this wine and appetizer ran us EUR48.

After that - we sat for a nice dinner in the restaurant. While the restaurant was nice and the food "looked" gourmet, overall the food fell flat. Not much flavor and very small portions. I say this as a connesuire of fine foods - not expecting oversized portions but these were light even for fine dining's expectations. Ultimately, the dinner ran us EUR85, including a €25 bottle of wine... And we left the table hungry.

Overall - I would recommend as a relatively low cost option to stay in a "storybook" setting in Italy. However, I would not bring my appetite, nor would I expect to have a food option available on property which matches the price point of the room.

Oh, and I might want to also mention (to echo other reviews) that it is located quite off the beaten path and once you are up there, there really is no option to "buzz into town" for a bite and head back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppina35, Proprietario at Castello di Petrata, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Rangie,

you have spent a night in the castle. when you arrive you have a seat in the room and then you come to the bar.
You asked for two glasses of white quality wine 'nd you have been served at a cost of 8 euro per glass (as it appears on our wine list by the glass), once you have completed required .... other two had evidently been to your liking .
I asked, given the quality 'wine by the glass and the cost, if you prefer have that anticipating a new bottle and then finish it during dinner. You said you thought it could be convenient (and so was). You asked for some snacks and I have served a plate with 4 different types of sliced and various types of cheese that I always accompany any drink. it was an appetizer.
Total: 8 * 2 = 16.00 euro + 32.00 euro (bottle of wine) = 48 euros (snacks is included)
It is not true that two glasses of wine with a snack at 48 euro (you forgot the other bottle then you're done with dinner :-)
For the restaurant I'm sorry that it was not the height of your expectations, we always try to do the best for our customers, even if it 's the first negative comment we receive on the portions, no' never raised with hunger ....... the amount 'of our courses are not absolutely miserable.
I would like to detail your dinner:
2 covered 3.50 * 2 = 7.00 euro
bottle of wine of your choice carte 22.00 euro
1 crusted lamb with spaghetti of vegetables 20.00 euro
1 potato gnocchi with zucchini, zucchini flowers, smoked cheese and barbozza 13:00
roll of chicken with spinach and sour 17:00
1 Water 2:50
total: € 81.50
Tripadvisor is a very useful tool for travelers, it would be right to give truthful information and the more' precise as possible about the prices and services and meals. not by the merits of the quality 'of the food and the portions because the judgment and' personal and in any case it helps us to grow and improve.
greetings
Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

The history of the castle is very nice and the staff/family is so gentle!
We had a great experience there. Would stay again in this hotel absolutely.
If you are in doubt about where to stay, you can be here and have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This 14th century restored country house is stunning, the restaurant is very good, the sommelier incredibly knowledgeable, and the staff is welcoming and helpful. The grounds are beautiful as is the pool. We were able to find the hotel with no problem using maps on our phone. The 6 km drive to Assisi is beautiful, you can easily park in the underground parking lot, and then take escalators and an elevator to the center of town.

Room Tip: We had a jr. suite on the top floor that was spacious and beautiful. There is no AC but that was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Although hard to find ( look out for brown signs listing hotels as sat navs may not recognise where it is), once you do you will not be disappointed. It is about 10-15 mins beyond Assisi further up in the hillside.
The Castello is beautiful and the room ( junior suite) was gorgeous. Only thing was there is no air conditioning but with both windows open ( and the walls being so thick) this wasn't too bad and that was during August!
Breakfast was plentiful and the evening meal was eaten outside ( beautiful) although it wasn't cheap. Not the best meal I ate in Italy but it was fine although I feel a little overpriced. For the setting however, it was worth it ( and saved the windy road back into Assisi in the evening!!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Small family run hotel with great attention to detail. Fabulous location close to Assisi. Of the six hotels we stayed at during our July 2012 tour of Tuscany and Umbria this was our favourite. It really is a hidden gem - a joy to stumble over a chilled boutique style hotel that gets things right for a reasonable price. Dinner and breakfast - both eaten outside - were also marvellous. Wish I was there now rather than the office!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello di Petrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Petrata

Address: Via Petrata 25, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Petrata 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from it all, let yourself be carried away by the silence, colours and scents of the soft Umbrian hills, where what counts is the sunset, the perfume of the earth and flowers. A true oasis of peace where Aldo and Giuseppina's family and their staff welcome guests with courtesy and kindness into the warmth of a private residence,for a holiday in harmony with art and nature. Petrata Castle, an ancient 14th century fortress and its annexed chapel, nestles in the midst of gentle hills on a quiet and sunny plain, 600 metres above sea level and only 6 km from Assisi. Its position of dominance in the surrounding countryside, allows it an wide panoramic view of Assisi and the Umbrian valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Castello di Petrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Petrata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.