We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Petrata

Save Saved
You added Castello di Petrata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Petrata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Petrata 25, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Assisi
austinboy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, lovely grounds, polite and accommodating staff. The restaurant was fair, not as good as we expected, considering all else. If you need a break from museums, crowds, narrow streets and want a breather, this is great. If your goal is to explore Assisi, then it is not.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    69
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
201
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pozzuoli, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

Ospitalita' perfetta: ambiente familiare, servizio inappuntabile, location incantevole, attenzione ai particolari

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed 3-6 Oct. 2011. A good base for star trip. 1 problem we experienced: The inside walls are so thin that you can hear everything and it is very disturb if you want to sleep.
Breakfast was very good (we asked for an omelet-there was no eggs on the table).
The building is very nice and the view is fantastic.
I have to indicate the help of the owner's daughter . she saved us money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Nearby to the city of Peace, Assisi, there is a fabulous piece of heaven awaiting you. Castello di Petrata is that quiet, peaceful and heavenly retreat. Exquisite setting, stunning grounds, fabulous food, uncompromising service, amazing sunset, everything you could possibly want in an Umbrian retreat. The rooms are beautiful, impeccable clean and very comfortable beds. WE enjoyed a typical Umbrian dinner that was divine, breakfast was a feast. We awoke to the smell of pastries baking. We stayed with our adult children in this amazing Castello. Giovanni and Enrica tended to every need, outstanding service. We stayed longer the day we were to leave to enjoy the pool and grounds before heading to Rome. Our only regret is that we did not spend more days. We will return, that is a guarantee.

Pace et Bene

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menen, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

From the first moment at the check-in, we felt at home after the warm welcome.Lovely quiet location above Assisi, wonderful furnished room with an amazing view.Very clean. Great breakfast with quality food and very good cappucino.Quiet sitting areas everywhere. Good pool

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was my second visit to il Castello di Petrata, I was fortunate enough to be introduced to it by a dear friend who got married there. I enjoyed my time so much that I knew that I would return time and time again. On my second visit, I introduced four of my girlfriends - we go away every year for a long weekend together and this was the perfect venue. A truly magnificent setting, a little gem hidden away on the hillside. It is a family run establishment who go out of their way to make your visit an enjoyable one. The food is excellent and the accommodation is very comfortable, each room has its own individual character. Nothing is too much trouble here. It is the perfect place to take a break from the stresses of the world.

There is much to offer on the doorstep in Assisi, Perugia, Santa Maria Degli Angeli or short journey away to the other end of Umbria where you can visit the marvellous Cascata della Marmore. It is a beautiful area of Italy with much to offer everyone. However, if you just wish to stay put at the hotel, then you couldn't have a better location than Castello di Petrata - with walks from the door, breathtaking views, a swimming pool and wellness spa...simply idyllic.

Enrica, Giovanni and family all offer a very warm welcome and are delightful - it is worth coming to meet them all. I strongly recommend a visit and I know that I will be back time and time again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is a beautiful country hotel. If you are doing a road trip between Rome and Florence this is a lovely break for a night or two in wonderful suuroundings.. A cool-off between the cities. I think it is far better than a stay in Assisi

Some reviewers have said the food is too expensive. I don't agree. The starters are from about 8 euro to 12 euro. The first courses generally around 12 euros and the second around 18 to 20.euro. So it's not a menu touristique. But you are dining al freso in lovely surroundings and not paying Michelin prices. The wine list starts around 23 euro and is a good representation of quality local wine..

Finally, your GPS may play up if you put their address in. If you load Localatina Santa Margherita you will get within 2K and then it's signposted

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello di Petrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Petrata

Address: Via Petrata 25, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Petrata 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from it all, let yourself be carried away by the silence, colours and scents of the soft Umbrian hills, where what counts is the sunset, the perfume of the earth and flowers. A true oasis of peace where Aldo and Giuseppina's family and their staff welcome guests with courtesy and kindness into the warmth of a private residence,for a holiday in harmony with art and nature. Petrata Castle, an ancient 14th century fortress and its annexed chapel, nestles in the midst of gentle hills on a quiet and sunny plain, 600 metres above sea level and only 6 km from Assisi. Its position of dominance in the surrounding countryside, allows it an wide panoramic view of Assisi and the Umbrian valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Castello di Petrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Petrata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.