We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Windsor Savoia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Windsor Savoia to your Saves list
Hotel Windsor Savoia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Marconi 1, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Assisi
New York City, New York, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I've traveled to many countries around the world, but none have the quaintness and tranquility of Assisi. The hotel is up on a hill with an incredible view of the mountains and valleys. The Stone hotel is quiet and charming, and the staff is very attentive. We had a wonderful family style dinner which was prepared with local ingredients and very delicious. The staff at the hotel is superb. I left a pair of shoes in my room, and they were able to locate them, and send them to me in the states. This is a fine place to stay in Assisi, and I would recommend it to others in their travels. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: The rooms are large and quiet. The room and bathroom was impeccably clean. The staff is very attent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    57
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
43
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The accomodations were quaint wood througout, clean, crazy hall lights only on when someone is moving in the hall, view of the valley very picturesque, staff pleasant, AC just about non existant, thank goodness I brought a small desk fan along, first hotel at the beginning of the winding mountain.

Room Tip: Get a valley view it's worth the walking up the mountain all day to see stuff, but remember goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our hotel room was very clean and comfortable. We also had a beautiful view of the valley from the terrace. The service was friendly and professional. Good amenities with a restaurant, cafe/bar and a pleasant lobby.The hotel is situated near the bus stops and a short stroll to the Basilica. We were very pleased with the hotel and feel it offered good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Hotel Windsor Savoia has a very nice restaurant to eat and stay after a long walk around Assisi. The place offers a beautiful view of Assisi and the traditional pasta with the original taste of Italy.

The food is delicious and the service personnel is gentle and kind.

We could only stay for lunch during September 2013 but we really enjoy the place and its location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLENWOOD
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

When we stayed here there was a thunderstorm below us, it was fantastic. This hotel has character and charm. I read the other reviews and I wonder what some people expect, Assisi is an ancient town this is why we love it. The room was spotless and comfortable. we loved it. As with everywhere in Assisi "everywhere is up-hill"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in Assisi one night at the Windsor Savoia, and that was plenty. The view from the room was very impressive, but that was about all that was good. Our room was small, and the bathroom was about the size of that of a cruise ship. Our shower was so small, if you dropped soap during the wash, you had to turn of the water and open the door to retrieve it. Wifi was non-existent either in the room, or the lobby. We did eat a supper and breakfast at the hotel, and these meals were as disappointing as the room. I will review these later on in restaurants. The wake up call was on time, and the staff did seem friendly. If I were traveling through Italy again and needed to stay in Assisi, I would opt for another place.

Room Tip: Look at room prior to renting, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hws-assisi, Proprietario at Hotel Windsor Savoia, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Jaklay2,
we are really sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay at Hotel Windsor Savoia. I apologise for the problems you encountered with regard to the wifi, that wasn't available due to a temporary problem with the service provider. I also regret any inconvenience or disappointment caused.
About the size of the room, our hotel was built in 1908 and at that time it was usual to have small rooms with large walls in order to easily maintain the warm in winter and the cool in summer.
We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Hotel Windsor Savoia for your future travel needs.
Best regards

Hotel Windsor Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was "home" in May for about 45 from our church- excellent location for walking all over this unbelievably beautiful medieval town - rooms were typical European size (not big), an older but well-maintained hotel, comfortable beds. Meals included in the package were very good and large! Memorable cream puffs in chocolate mousse! On advance request, they also managed to accommodate several who had special diet needs. Really small, slow elevators that taught us the importance of patience on a pilgrimage!

Room Tip: Remember that in Europe, beds in a "double" room often appear to be one large bed - but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Windsor Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Savoia

Address: Viale Marconi 1, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
#18 Family Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Windsor Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in Assisi, opened in 1908 by the English lady Fanny Morgan, is now a modern three star hotel with all the comforts of the category, and is still run by his descendants. Located in the historic center of Assisi, the hotel enjoys a splendid location in the heart of the city, just 100 meters from St. Francis Church and it boasts about a a magnificent view view on the Basilica of St. Francis and the entire Umbrian valley. The unique location Hotel Windsor Savoia will allow you to discover Assisi walking, a center of peace, spirituality and art and it is the ideal place to stay while visiting the city in one of his many events. The hotel has 34 rooms with bath or shower, including 2 rooms that are specially designed to house disabled guests, air conditioning, WiFi internet connection, fridge, safe, color TV and direct dial telephone, elevator, bar, indoor restaurant for 250 people, panoramic terrace for 100 people, internet point with fast connection and parking. The hotel is 100% smoke-free and it's fully accessible to people with limited mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Windsor Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Savoia Hotel
Windsor Savoia Assisi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Windsor Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.