We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Giotto was the most beautiful hotel in all of Umbria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giotto Assisi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giotto Assisi to your Saves list
Hotel Giotto Assisi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fontebella, 41, 06082 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Assisi
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel Giotto was the most beautiful hotel in all of Umbria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I could not praise this hotel in lovely Assisi enough. The view from our "Charm Room" was spectacular and the photographs that I took from the terrace off our room are awesome. This is what I hoped and dreamed Umbria would look like - and this hotel made my dreams come true.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The parking was easy. The location of the hotel was perfect. Breakfasts were always good and plentiful. I would return to Hotel Giotto in Assisi at the first chance I could get.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    114
    43
    13
    13
See reviews for
91
158
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Pisa, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Lodged here in May 2011 and would return anytime! The staff were wonderful in every way, and our restaurant experience was one of the best yet enjoyed in Italy. One of the reviews spoke of slow service... YES it is slow but it is ITALY! Anytime you sit for a meal in Italy is is usually going to be a slow affair. I could write much about this topic and how we should not place our cultural expectations on others, but if you want to enjoy a unique Italian dinner experience then definitely go here. Stan is the manager and had no issue when we kept the place open to ourselves, finishing our dinner on their beautiful terrace. This is why we loved the beautiful relaxing evening, and the staff were more than helpful in making our time NOT hurried.

When staying here definitely get a room with a view of the valley. It made the experience even more special to wake up for a view that words do no justice in describing. If there is one downside to staying here, it is finding it with a car. However, all I had to do was call the hotel and they directed me in just fine, as a GPS did little with the small unexpected oneways and such. The large parking area (Big for the area) is a huge bonus (and free!), as once you find the hotel, the town is litterally all around you to explore.

Room Tip: Get a room with a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I made the big mistake of going to the restaurant.

Although the food was good (though completely overpriced) the service was extremely slow (waited almost an hour between starter and main) and the staff were extremely rude and arrogant offering no apologies or explanation as to why we'd all been kept waiting for so long.

If you are looking for a place to eat, I would stay well away from this place.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I've never seen a Hotel with so many balconies and terraces and all with views to die for!!! From the bar you can sit with an aperitivo and gaze motionless for hours … observing the Umbrian valley unfold as if suspended in the air like the dozens of swallows that fly low over the hotel. From the garden terrace restaurant under the freshness of the secular trees the view of the church of San Pietro is so tranquil and then the terrace from our room (ours was called “charme”) larger than the room itself where you can snooze off on the deckchair after lunch in privacy ahh what … bliss
A Hotel where time stops and every moment can be captured as a renaissance painting.
The food at the restaurant was superb and the waiters always ready to offer advice on the best local dishes and wine to accompany.

Room Tip: book the
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The staff was very helpful, courteous and efficient. We were contact well before our departure fromt he US and infomed the hotel was going to be closed for repairs (no elec or gas) for our first two days, and they booked us into a 4 star in Assisi very nearby. We opted to stop in Sienna for those two days instead. We chose one of the larger Chambra rooms and was highly satisfied with it. As part of the charbra, a cozy covered relaxing area with two chaise lounges afforded a magnificient 200* vista of the valley. The room was very well appointed, and sleep quality was very restful. The hotel had just reopenned after the two days of repairs. Every thing was new, fresh and in working order, with a wonderful shower. For our "inconvience", we were treated to a magnificent virtually private 4 course dinner, including 4 different wines, outstanding cuisine including a devilishy delicious desert. Giotto is well located between the St. Francis Bascilla and St. Claire's. The walks in town were invigorating with a "stairmaster" always close at hand. We recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make resv via eMail to get what you want.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We were given a room that had views from the front & the side looking out over the valley to the Appennines,absolutely breathtaking,so magical at night with all the glowing lights.Unfortunately our room was a 2 star,washbasin didn't drain properly,a very noisy exhaust fan,tv very old & wouldn't tune & worse,no hot water!After complaining to management we were given another room that was 4 star,(should have had this standard in the beginning).It was an inconvenience to be packing up & moving at 9.45pm.We loved the position of the Hotel,one of the few that had free car parking,which was great.The breakfast was plentiful with a good choice & fabulous views to enjoy at the same time.We would stay here again,staff were very polite & obliging & we enjoyed exploring this lovely historic hilltop town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Having been pleased with the welcome and the room with its wonderful view, we were very disappointed with the breakfast. We ate at 8.30am and it looked as though there had been a large group in before us and the hotel was not bothering with anyone after that. The appalling coffee/tea came from a vending machine, there was no fruit at all, some spam type ham and one sort of processed cheese, only natural joghurts, miserable looking bread and croissants, and worst of all, lurking in the only 'hot ' container, just cold, congealed, burnt scrambled egg. Admittedly, breakfast did not last long, but at no time did we see any staff, until we left and caught sight of two waitresses who looked as though they were sitting having a coffee in a nearby room. I'll bet the coffee wasn't from the machine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giotto Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giotto Assisi

Address: Via Fontebella, 41, 06082 Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Assisi
#1 Green Hotel in Assisi
#2 Spa Hotel in Assisi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Assisi
#7 Family Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giotto Assisi 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Giotto Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Giotto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giotto Assisi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.