We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta Nuova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porta Nuova to your Saves list
Hotel Porta Nuova
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Umberto I, 21, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Assisi
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 5 nights at end of September and used hotel as a base for exploring the region. Lovely small hotel. Great location close to town entrance and relatively easy walk to attractions. Has parking so that our friends could pick us up without hassle. Room was somewhat small but clean and comfortable. Had nice view of country side and although facing a busy road the insulation removed any noise. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    85
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
81
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

This gorgeous little hotel was 5 star compared to the ones we had in Rome, big shower, excellent service, great view from room. Small walking distance to town and had parking for a car. Would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Fantastic hotel with great prices! The bathroom was amazing and our room was beautifully decorated, comfortable, and had air conditioning. It's very close to all the attractions in Assisi. The hotel staff is very helpful and recommended a fabulous restaurant for us to try for dinner. The included breakfast was pretty average, but everything was good. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: our room was great - they seem to be pretty much the same and all very new
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We only stayed one night as part of a 3 week tour of Italy but have fond memories of this lovely little hotel. Room are simple but very comfortable. Bathroom has a wet room principle which resulted in us flooding the bathroom but not a problem really. The hotel excelled at breakfast - real ham off the bone, local cheeses, good fruit and wonderful bread etc. Weather was not good which was a shame but hardly the hotel's fault. It is based very close to one of the entrances to the walled city & the staff really do try to assist with anything you want. If we re-visited Asissi we would not hesitate in staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent one night at this location and wish we had allotted more time. The rooms were very modern, well planned out, and the bathrooms - beautiful. The breakfast was one of the more extensive offered in our Italian experiences - even hard boiled eggs. The hotel is located in easy walking distance to town. We didn't need the free parking as we arrived in Assisi by train and had gotten excellent city bus directions in an e-mail from Marta. The bus connections worked well in both directions. Even though the hotel is located near a major road, we heard no traffic noise from our room that overlooked the round-about. We were extremely pleased with this choice of a hotel. Assisi is also a delightful town - we hope to go back some time in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife and I used Assisi as a base of operations for a four night trip to Umbria this spring, and couldn't have been happier with our choice of Porta Nuova. Located immediately outside one of the main gates into Assisi, all of the sites of the town are accessible within a 30 minute walk. We had a room overlooking a small traffic circle, which was a little noisy, but only for about 45 minutes in the morning and again in the evening, but well outside even a lazy vacation sleep schedule. The room was smallish, but suited our needs very well, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was an amazing selection of treats, my favorites being the local Umbrian cheese, the torta della nonna and a wonderful lemon torta. The cappuccinos was a little weak for our tastes (maybe they thought that being Americans we couldn't handle real Italian versions), but the bar across the street served up the best (and most authentic) caffe macchiatos, so we started there for beverages and came back to the hotel for amazing food! We loved Assisi and look forward to staying at Hotel Porta Nuova again, and visit with our favorite cat of this trip, Camilla (an afternoon mainstay in the lobby).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

An excellent location for a visit to Assisi. We picked it for the car park and the rest of the hotel was just as convenient. It appears to have had a recent major upgrade and our room was large, light and comfortable. We were there in November so it was not full. I've read the reviews that said it was noisy but I cannot agree. The double glazing windows certainly cut down any road noise as far as I can tell.

Just a five minute walk from one of the gates to Assisi its an excellent location for your visit to Assisi

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porta Nuova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Nuova

Address: Viale Umberto I, 21, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta Nuova 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porta Nuova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta Nuova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.