We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alexander to your Saves list
Hotel Alexander
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Chiesa Nuova 6, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Assisi
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This small hotel located very heart of Assisi old town.
I went there this November by car but it was very difficult to find out the exact location.
I followed GPS but there is not so easy to go around by car in such a histrical town like Assisi.
And hotel is located in front of Piazza Chiesa Nuava where car can not come in !
So, if you want to take a car, you need to be little careful, however the hotel receptionist was very kind and he explained me how to reach there perfectly well and public parking was located near by.
The location of this hotel is very conveniently located to see all town around and hotel is charmingly decorated and very spacious room.
Maybe their breckfast need to be little better but as you think about the rate, it may be adequate.
I can recomend this hotel if you are looking for good location for sightseeing in this charming old town of Assisi.

Room Tip: Ask the instruction how to reach there, if you take a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    89
    13
    9
    2
See reviews for
64
100
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is our second time staying at this lovely hotel, and we had a wonderful stay!
We have been to Assisi many times before, and we have always talked about wanting to stay at Hotel Alexander. But for some reason we always manage to book our trips late so the hotel has been fully booked and we have stayed in other hotels. But finally, on our fifth trip to Assisi, we got a room in Hotel Alexander and we soon realized that this was our place to be in this beautiful town!!
The location of the hotel is perfect, right beside Chiesa Nuova and a few meters from the main square, and it’s close to all sights! It’s quiet in the nights, and the building and surroundings are so beautiful!!
On this trip we stayed for almost two weeks and we really felt at home! The rooms are big with a spacious bathroom and a huge shower. It has air conditioning, tv, minibar, free wi-fi, it’s very well equipped! It’s moderen furnished, always clean thanks to the two sweet ladies working there, and with a fabulous view!! The hotel also has a roof terrace and the view from there is just amazing!! The breakfast room is very cozy with reserved tables for each room. We had long mornings there enjoying a nice breakfast!
The manager of the hotel is very nice and helpful. Every time we needed help with something, or was wondering about something we could just ask him and he always helped us with a smile! They are excellent at taking care of their customers, and we always felt welcome!
Thank you!!
We are already looking forward to our next trip to this lovely town, and for us there’s no other place to stay than Hotel Alexander!! :)
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapidan, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel had the most modern furnishings of anywhere we stayed Italy. The room and bathroom were both very clean. The location was great with a nice view out the window (I can not remember the name of our room). The service was OK. The gentleman who checked us in was nice and even carried our bags to our room, but seemed in a rush (we arrived about 20 minutes before the reception was to close). Our one complaint would be the breakfast. The breakfast room was extremely tiny. There was a much smaller selection than we encountered anywhere else. The girl running it was not very friendly or helpful - there were lots of empty platters/bowls that were never refreshed while we were there. We ended up going for breakfast and cappuccinos at a place down the street. Overall nice place to stay in Assisi in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here end Sept 2013 and were absolutely delighted with the accomodation and location of this hotel. The hotel is located within the old town of Assisi inside the walls. We stayed in the Da Vinci room which served our stay well. Large comfy beds, plenty of room to move for 3 people. The bathroom was clean, fresh and very well appointed. The view from our room was fabulous. We could look out over the roof top to a domed church next door. We thought it was fabulous to be able to open the windows and enjoy the fresh air. We were lucky we had excellent weather. We really enjoyed the roof top terrace, where we relaxed each night with a glass of wine or gelati and utilised the wi fi with no problems. Breakfast was great with a lovely selection of delicious things to try, even a cake!- no complaints from the kids! We enjoyed our stay and will definately go back to Assisi again and will definately stay here. The location was easy to reach by taxi from the train station. The hotel owners were very kind and helpful in providing information about what to see and getting around Assisi and were generous to help up and down steps with our luggage. This truly was the best place we stayed in Italy on our 3 week holiday. Well done and keep up the great job.

Room Tip: Da Vinci Room is on 1st floor and was well equiped for 3 people Double bed and 1 single
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Breakfast was delicious but had a little selection. It had a safe and a small refrigerator which was a big help because we used it. It had a pizzeria at the entrance. My son slept good as well as my Aunt, Uncle, and mother.

View was mostly blocked by a roof. The breakfast only had 6 tables and the breakfast room was tiny. You could hear the noises of drums from an outdoor play.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel Alexander is located in the center of all the action just off Piazza del Commune. It was clean and well maintained and the staff was friendly. Bathroom was spacious as was the shower. Wifi was a bit spotty. Be sure to get clear directions if arriving by train!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Some of the rooms do not have a great view nor exposed wooden beams in the ceiling --The Da Vinci room had two small windows a partially blocked view. The room was large and modern, as was the bathroom.
The location is great, around the corner from the main square so you don't have to listen to the commotion, but are a few steps from everything (but from reading other reviews some rooms may actually face the main square).
Biggest problem is the unhappy blonde woman that scolds anyone that attempts to enter the breakfast room before she declares it open. Ignore the 8:00AM opening schedule, and wait until she invites you in or you will be in for an unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room above the level of Da Vinci room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Piazza Chiesa Nuova 6, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alexander is situated in the hearth of the medieval town of Assisi; it looks out on a small friendly square and stands between the "Antique Town Hall" and the "Paternal Home of St. Francis". From this position is possible to reach quickly all the main monuments: the hotel is near "Piazza del Comune", the main historical town center, 70 meters from the "Basilica of St. Clare", 500 meters from the majestic "Basilica of St. Francis". Entirely restored and renovated in 2009, Hotel Alexander has 9 rooms all finely furnished and equipped with every comfort. The Alexander Hotel, entirely restored and renovated in 2009, has 8 rooms (6 standard and 2 junior suite) all with private bathrooms, tastefully furnished in modern style and very well cared in the selection of details and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.