We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortezza

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Fortezza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fortezza
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Piazza del Comune, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€9 off room rate
Ranked #32 of 96 Assisi B&B and Inns
Walla Walla, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel La Fortezza. The rooms were small but clean and comfortable and the location was great--right off the main piazza in Assisi. The breakfasts were especially good! The view from the breakfast patio was fantastic and the selection of breakfast items was great. There was wifi. No a/c but, despite the incredible heat, the ceiling fan was sufficient to keep us comfortable. Definitely good value for the price. We didn't eat at the hotel's restaurant but would generally suggest that if you're looking for good food, leave Assisi and head down the road to Spello. Amazing food in Spello.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    41
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
54
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The location is perfect, just a few metres (steps) from the main square. We found parking easily (10 € per day) at a nearby secure parking lot. The staff was very friendly, but the hotel was badly understaffed. It also operates a good restaurant just across the square (Trattoria Palotta) and the staff are shared, so there is often no-one at the reception desk when the restaurant is busy.
Our room was of reasonable size with a view over the roofs of Assisi. The bathroom was a catastrophe. There was no hand shower and no shower curtain, so every time we took a shower we flooded the entire bathroom and everything got wet. So you really had to leave your clothes outside and remove the toilet paper before showering. There was a utility room on the corridor, where one could obtain mops and also hairdryers.
The towels were extremely thin (my husband called them oversized dishcloths).
Breakfast was OK, and in good weather one could sit on the rooftop terrace. On our second day it rained and latecomers had to queue up for a table in the breakfast room.
The Internet connection was unreliable and we ended up paying in cash as the credit card reader was out of action.
We found the hotel convenient for our short stay, but it is not a place I would like to make a lengthier stay. The proce was reasonable so I guess you get what you pay for. The restaurant Trattoria Palotta was excellent and reasonably priced. Make sure to make a reservation at peak times.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

This is a clean, cozy B&B in a great location, near the main piazza in Assisi, where we stayed for 2 nights in March 2010. Check-in was a bit confusing, as we were buzzed into the unoccupied lobby, waited for 10 mins, then were checked in by an older Italian gentleman who spoke no English, but through my limited Italian was able to figure things out (not a big deal but a little strange - he handed us our key without asking our names, showed us the room and that was it). Be sure to ask for the Assisi guidebook and audio tour when you check in. Unfortunately, we did not receive ours until the afternoon of our last day there, and by then, had already toured the entire town on our own. A note about the shower - as others have noted, it has no curtain or door, so be sure to finish all other business you have in the bathroom first before showering, as the water will splash everywhere no matter how careful you are. An additional note about La Fortezza restaurant across the way - it is excellent and has reasonable prices, so it's a very safe bet for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Adequate for a short stay - that would simply sum up our stay here. It’s a bit unfortunate because Stefano couldn’t have been nicer, or more gracious. I really felt he was welcoming us into his home and I certainly salute him for that. But, with the low price of the rooms there it comes with a cost in comfort. But, we merely made the pilgrim stop in Assisi so were only there for one night.

The room was a tad on the small size, even for Italian standards. The bathroom was relatively dated and needed some rehab, my wife called it ‘gross’ I believe, but I’m a little more forgiving on that front. Everything worked, but I do get her point that leaving the bathroom I never felt clean or refreshed. Sound is a serious issue in this hotel I thought. The room next door had kids and I thought they were in our room. We were right off the lobby/entrance and a lot of sound also came in thru that way. And upstairs the barking dog and neighbors also made noticeable noise. But, I do understand we are in a medieval town in a likely retrofitted building so that provides me some understanding however for longer visits to Assisi I wouldn’t stay here.

Stefano helped us both with car problems (overheated transmission as a result of getting lost and pushing our automatic up and down the Assisi hills for so long), and with parking. He did I say we should’ve called him when we got to Assisi and he would’ve met us to assist earlier – thus eliminating the frustration of being lost for so long in such a small city. Warning right there if you drive in – be methodical, know exactly where you are going, call Stefano, etc.

Breakfast – No, they didn’t have a full, gluttonous spread like your average Courtyard Marriott or what most Americans are accustomed to back home. They had the standard Italian breakfast which can be good and satisfying (plus not overeat) of yogurt, fruit, rolls, coffee, etc. There’s also an incredible view of the city and valley on the patio just off the breakfast room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We couldn't find the hotel and Stephano came to get us. Drove us to the parking area where he took our bags down many steps to the hotel. Hotel was great with excellent view. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was very good and water and other food items were always available. When we left, Stephano again helped us with the car and our bags. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Assis.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Nothing like dragging your bag up 70 steps (give or take a few) and not have any one in the hotel to greet you. We had a nice terrrace attached to our room which was a plus however the room was not particularly clean. The only time I saw staff in the hotel was in the morning in the breakfast room and when it was time to check out. The stairs would be an issue for some travelers but for the young and fit they are not horrible.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefano2813, Gestore at Hotel La Fortezza, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
We are really amazed and sorry for what happened. Probably, in that occasion, there was a forgetfulness. We will surely pay more attention, because we consider cleanliness as a priority.
We also apologize for not having informed you correctly, when you arrived, of the running of the house.
An operator, at least, is at your disposal 24 hours a day, but, during the meal-time, to maintain our prices (€ 29,00 + IVA for person), all of us are at the restaurant (floor 0) to serve lunch and dinner.
You could have ringed the reception bell, gone downstairs or called the restaurant (the calling is free) to have someone at your disposal in a moment.
Moreover, during lunch and dinner, there is a video- surveillance system that checks the entry and the reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We spent 3 nights in this small B&B. It was not luxurious but was charming and everyone there was so nice. Our room (#48) was very large and had a huge window that looked over the rooftops toward Piazza del Commune. Stefano, one of the owners, spoke fluent English and gave us a thorough orientation of the hotel and how to get around in Assisi. He even volunteered to drive us to the train station for our Sunday morning train.

There are quite a few stairs, either up or down, to get to La Fortezza, but if you are able, it is worth the climb. The location is just 50 yards down a flight of stairs to the main square. It was fun to sit in the Piazza del Commune at night and watch the crowd while enjoying a gelato.

The breakfast was very good for Italy. They had cereals, yogurt, cheeses, meat, rolls, several different tarts and coffee cake, and eggs you could boil yourself.

There is a computer for guests' use in the small lobby and they have good wireless if you have your own computer.

We ate at La Fortezza restaurant two nights. The food was good, moderately priced and the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. The family's other restaurant, La Pollotta, has a great menu and the food was very good too, but the atmosphere was a little more casual.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Fortezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortezza

Address: Piazza del Comune, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Fortezza 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fall asleep under the moon, in a medieval house located in the heart of the city. Our comfortable room welcome you with windows stretching up to the roofs of the old houses. The hotel is located in the characteristic Vicolo Della Fortezza,” which joins the Piazza Del Comune and Duomo The hotel is formed out of an historic residence and has been restored with a special emphasis on creating a family environment. Made up of 7 rooms, stretching throughout three levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Hotel La Fortezza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fortezza Assisi
La Fortezza Hotel Assisi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortezza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.