We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in the middle of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortezza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortezza to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortezza
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Vicolo Della Fortezza 19/B, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 122 Assisi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kila
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little gem in the middle of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After finally finding the spot with a fair amount of trouble due to my husbands gps we were relieved to find this little gem in the middle of the city. It has great access to the free parking up by the castle. We were close to everything. Nice view from the terrace where they serve tea and cake from 3-6 in the afternoon. Staff was great. Wifi fair.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    45
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
61
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spokne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

The Hotel La Fortezza has the perfect location for touring Assisi. We stayed for two nights in March. The hotel is centuries old, quaint and up a long flight of stone steps that will get you ready for the ups/down/hill climbing of the wonderful town of Assisi. The location is perfect---adjacent to the main square and right in the heart of shopping and restaurants but very quiet. The rooms are simple and a very good value. Ours had a small deck with an incredible view. The breakfast room had an equally wonderful view. Hostess Jenny is a delight, offers recommendations for sightseeing and dinner and goes out of her way to make your stay pleasant. If you are planning a visit to wonderful Assisi, this is your prime spot for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham. Berkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The Hotel La Fortezza is situated in the upper part of Assisi. If arriving by train just outside the rail station there is a bus stop where you can catch the bus ( C ) which runs approx every 30 minutes departing at 15 and 45 past the hour, the fare is 2 Euro but cheaper if you buy your ticket from the small news agent in the station, stay on the bus until you arrive at the top end of town Piazza Matteotti which will take about 12 minutes or so and this is also the final stop. As you leave the bus cross the pedestrian crossing and walk down the narrow lane alongside Duomo San Rufino when you get to the Piazza in front of the church walk almost straight across and along the Santa Maria delle Rose for about 30 metres and you will find some steps going down, go down these and The Fortezza is a short way down on the right. If coming from the Piazza del Comune it is a a walk up approximately 70 steps. I have read on a number of sites people saying that this is too much, which I can understand, but if you are coming to Assisi surely you would know that all of Assisi is up or down steps or climbing up narrow lanes it's what Assisi is so please keep this in mind.
The Hotel, which the building itself is many centuries old, is a wonderful easy going place to stay, all rooms are nicely and simply decorated with television and phone, the bathroom has the usual basin, toilet and bidet but some have a waterfall type shower with no curtain which to me is not a problem, also they use the very thin cotton towels which are widely used across Italy, but again looking at some of the reviews a lot of people dislike them for what reason I do not know, but then again we are all different and indeed have our own views.
Breakfast is served from 08.00 – 10.00 on the top floor where there is also a small terrace where you can have breakfast on a warm day while overlooking the rooftops of Assisi and across the Umbrian plains. Breakfast is the usual Italian affair with cakes, rolls, cold meats, cereal, plus coffee, orange juice and tea to choose from. The hotel also has a small communal area by reception with a couple of sofas and wi-fi through out. The Hotel is approximately a 10 – 12 minute walk to the Basilica di San Francesco, (down hill) also about 4 minutes to the Piazza Santa Chiara (Saint Clare) again going down.
I cannot fault my stay at The Hotel La Fortezza it is just a nice small, friendly, homely place to stay and Jenny who all but runs the Hotel is incredibly helpful, well excellent really nothing is to much trouble.
Thank you for reading my review, happy traveling but above all..... Safe one's !!

Chris Leavy.
Independent Traveller.

With 3 Credits in The Rough Guide Travel Books.
France, Turkey and China.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Assisi was the highlight of our Italy trip, and La Fortezza helped make it so! The host Jenny is very helpful, promptly answered my emails, and served a great breakfast on a terrace with an Umbrian mountain view that alone is worthy of a five-star rating. The hotel is close to the main Piazza del Comune but very quiet at night. The room was comfortable and came with many amenities. The attached La Fortezza restaurant serves delicious local cuisine and wine and offers a discount to hotel guests. I recommend La Fortezza and Assisi to all travelers interested in Italy!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights in August and it really impressed me! Jenny, the hotel director, is really kind and always ready to help in any way! For instance, when we arrived, she came personally where we parked the car (the hotel is in the historical centre where cars cannot park) and helped us with our luggages!!
The room was clean, big and comfortable, and the bathroom was basic but clean too. In the room we found 2 free bottles of water every day and also in the breakfast room (at roof level, with a small balcony and an amazing view on the city) there were free bottles of water for the guests. Breakfast was very good with home-made cakes, biscuits, cereals, bread and so on... and coffee or cappuccino were made with a bar coffee machine, not with an automatic machine that does a horrible coffee!!
Finally, the hotel is right some steps above the principal square of the town, so in a very central location, near all the touristic attractions of the city!
We will surely come back and we suggest it to everybody who looks for a good price-quality accomodation.

Room Tip: Our room name was Vaniglia, it was very big for 2 adults and a young kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I've stayed here numerous times over recent years and will always continue to return. The accommodation and location right in the heart of the historic centre of Assisi would be hard to beat. La Fortezza represent real value for money and should certainly be considered seriously if your planning a visit to Assisi. The Manager of the property Jenny who has been there for a number of years will provide you with the best of information and assistance. She also takes care of breakfast which can be had either indoors, or out on the terrace with the most amazing views.

Rooms are very comfortable with provision for most needs. Free WiFi is available throughout and also a computer station is available downstairs. You will be very pleased if you consider La Fortezza for your visit to Assisi as I always am.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights in mid-February 2014. Jenny was exceptional as the host and she takes care of everything. She should be promoted! The hotel room was very nice and we had access to a small balcony. Good breakfast and afternoon snacks.
Good central location also. The hotel is located off a semi steep steps between the town square and the street above it and you climb up about 70 steps to get there.
Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortezza

Address: Vicolo Della Fortezza 19/B, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Fortezza 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fall asleep under the moon, in a medieval house located in the heart of the city. Our comfortable room welcome you with windows stretching up to the roofs of the old houses. The hotel is located in the characteristic Vicolo Della Fortezza," which joins the Piazza Del Comune and Duomo The hotel is formed out of an historic residence and has been restored with a special emphasis on creating a family environment. Made up of 7 rooms, stretching throughout three levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Fortezza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fortezza Assisi
La Fortezza Hotel Assisi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortezza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.