We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Hotel Le Silve di Armenzano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Romantik Hotel Le Silve di Armenzano to your Saves list
Romantik Hotel Le Silve di Armenzano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Armenzano, 89, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Assisi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I first came across this blissful spot when I attended a wedding there some twenty years ago. I thought then that it was one of the most delightful places I had ever stayed, and this recent visit simply confirmed that. Located in complete tranquility at the top of a ridge, with magnificent views over the countryside in all directions it is a haven of peace and beauty.

The hotel itself is delightful, with simple, comfortable rooms reflecting the hotel's origins as a pilgrims' hostel, but with the discrete addition of modern conveniences. The lawns and terraces provide the opportunity to relax in the open air, and many smaller seating areas indoors provide a feeling of privacy when the weather is inclement. The dining room provided us with a delicious choice of local dishes, and breakfast on the terrace was a real treat.

Special mention must go to the staff and to the owner, who were incredibly helpful in sorting out some issues with a malfunctioning car, and throughout our stay exerted themselves to make us feel relaxed and comfortable.

The area of Armenzano is a walkers' paradise, and Assisi is close at hand, with other lovely towns and villages within easy visiting distance.

I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    58
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
135
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our stay here was brief but memorable. I would definitely go back for longer. The hotel staff was very helpful from the first moment we arrived (a bit disheveled due to car issues) and all through our stay. They were above all expectations in helping us sort out the car.

The restaurant is lovely with wonderful local food, prepared well and with imagination. The breakfast buffet selection was extensive and attractively presented. It tasted even better taken at the tables on the lawn overlooking the hills surrounding Assisi.

The rooms are beautiful, reflecting the building's long history but at the same time well appointed and comfortable with a modern bathroom. The grounds, stone work, pool and gardens are lovely and calming. This is a bit off the beaten track but well worth the lovely drive up through the hills and woods.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our stay at Le Silve was truly a delight. We had learned of this secluded haven in the hills above Assisi from a couple whose wedding ceremony had taken place there. The property is a former way-station along the ancient pilgrimage route from Canterbury to Rome, the spacious and lovingly-restored rooms having been occupied by all manner of pilgrims through the centuries.

From the tables set on the expansive lawn one can watch the light and shadows proceed across the green Umbrian hills – which, in the spring, are covered with wildflowers. The excellent restaurant prepares local delicacies (using the fresh produce and herbs, meats, game, and cheeses of the region, along with their own wines and olive oil) with precision and elegance and the occasional touch of whimsy. This is a first-rate dining establishment, rivaling the finest in Italy.

The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly and accommodating. As it turned out, we took advantage of their help even before checking in, as our car had broken down on a country road just a quarter-mile short of the hotel. A staff member leaving work sized up the situation and made a U-turn to pick us up; the very efficient desk-clerk arranged for our car to be towed, and also located another automatic-transmission vehicle (never an easy task!) at one of the rental agencies in the region; and then the owner himself drove us to the rental agency, saving us a costly taxi ride. I can honestly say that I have never encountered such a solicitous staff, concerned exclusively with our well-being and with our enjoyment of Le Silve and the Armenzano area.

My traveling companions and I give Le Silve the highest possible recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Le Silve for two days during a hiking trip through Umbria. It was a literal paradise- we stayed in the older section and the room and bathroom were terrific- all the attention to detail and the combination of stone walls and wood beamed ceilings were wonderful. The service was friendly and excellent; we took a cooking class with the sous chef one afternoon and it was both fun and delicious.

We walked most of the paths on the property, and saw horses, cows in the road, and wild boar, with their little ones. The animals had acres of woodland to roam and feed- we never got tired of seeing them

The pools are magnificent- unfortunately it was too cold to swim

This was a truly beautiful, luxury spot and we will return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We've just returned from our first walking holiday in the Assisi area of Italy, the last 2 nights of which were at Le Silve. We had a very warm welcome from Francesca and all the other staff at the hotel. The room was in the oldest part of the building which was lucky for us as it is beautiful. The safe in the room was broken and there was no water provided but those are the only two very minor detrimental things I can say about our whole stay. The views and whole property are really stunning and the food extremely good. I'd thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It's a wonderful place, in the middle of the nature. Rooms are in a beautiful old building, each different and full of character. The restaurant, for dinner as well as for breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We've been coming back to Hotel Le Silve for many years now and we just returned from our annual visit in April. Our stays here are always wonderful and this year was no exception. As always, the staff was exceptionally warm, friendly and helpful. We love tramping around the nearby hills both on the property and up and down the roads and valleys that connect the property to Spello and Assissi. We were not disappointed on our usual walks and we even found some new ones we had not done before. This year, the chef from several years ago had returned and, as outstanding as the food has been for the last several years, this year it was even better. We also enjoy the wine list which features some really excellent Umbrian selections, wines that compare favorably to the great Tuscan wines but at a more reasonable price.
Hotel Le Silve is a perfect spot for relaxing in the beautiful Umbrian countryside while making making day trips to explore the historic sites of Assissi or Spello. We highly recommend it to anyone eager to see a little more of Umbria off the beaten track.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romantik Hotel Le Silve di Armenzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Le Silve di Armenzano

Address: Loc. Armenzano, 89, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Assisi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Le Silve di Armenzano 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Romantik Hotel Le Silve di Armenzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armenzano Romantik Assisi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantik Hotel Le Silve di Armenzano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.