We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy hike from Assisi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eremo della Carceri

Eremo della Carceri
Via Eremo Delle Carceri, Assisi, Italy
075-812-301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 Attractions in Assisi
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The retreat high in the mountains above Assisi where St. Francis frequently stayed to meditate and pray.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
246 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
“Easy hike from Assisi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great morning hike up to Ermo della Carceri from Assisi, the path starts at the top of Assisi, turn off via Umberto I and head along via Eremo della Carceri. We were prepared for a weather change and took with us warm/waterproof jacket, water and a snack for the hike. On our hike up we did not encounter any other walkers, on the way down there we passed one couple on their way up. Most visitors appeared to travel by taxi to get to the destination and back.

On the way up we came upon a little cafe, which we did not stop at but looked quite inviting for lunch or snack, we thoroughly enjoyed the freedom to wander along the countryside road. It only took us one hour to reach the entrance to Ermo della Carceri, and 50 minutes to come back down to Assisi. If you are of reasonable fitness and have a little time I would highly recommend you hike up the mountain.

The higher we hiked we came into heavy mist, the monastery was covered in mist also and there was a little light rain. The place is so peaceful, it was a privilege to spend time in the small chapel and walk through the forest where St.Francis lived.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    85
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“the most espiritual place I have ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

the most espirital and incredible place I have ever been to! you could really feel peace and love around it... I went the re on foot, which was a little difficult, due to the distance and the road, most people as I could see, went by taxi

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Powerful Holy Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

People who want to experience a deeply spiritual atmosphere up the mountain from Assisi must visit the Eremo. The monastery is lovely, the trails peaceful, and the whole place just invites reverence and contemplation. We went up for Vespers at 6:30 pm. Don't miss the sculpture of St.Francis on the ground with his arms folded behind his head, and the tree in which the birds to which he preached sat listening to him.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We took a recommended footpath up the mountain and ended up at the back entrance but the gates were locked and we had to climb over a stone wall, do- able but not great.
Lovely views, lovely calm, reflective place, no one around.
All very tiny, very old and wonderful privilege to be there.
We took the same route out as it took us back to our hotel.
They call Mount Subasio a holy mountain, and this is a pray provoking place. Lovely.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

please do not leave assisi without visiting this place and praying . there special schdule for the praying time . it is far from the center of assisi .if it is winter take a taxi if not it is very nice to walk up starting fro the basilic of ste Chiara

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eremo della Carceri also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Eremo della Carceri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eremo della Carceri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.