We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to pray” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria degli Angeli

Santa Maria degli Angeli
Via Los Angeles and Via Patrono d'Italia, Assisi, Italy
075 80511
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 43 Attractions in Assisi
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Basilica was started in 1569 to the designs of Galeazzo Alessi, and features a statue of the Madonna in bronze gilt by G. Colasanti and an interior whose architectural style is Doric.
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to pray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I loved this church. It was peaceful and amazing art and I loved the chapel of St Francis. I visited twice on my stay in Assisi. We had Mass in the crypt. The gift shop was terrific, pay toilets don't forget coins, there is a museum that costs a few euro but I skipped that.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    136
    31
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This church houses the small chapel in which St. Francis prayed in the forest. It has recently been restored.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A treasure inside a treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The treasure inside the Basilica of Santa Maria Degli Angeli is the Porziuncula, a medieval chapel that is said to be where St. Francis died. It is simply lovely and simple. the basilica itself is quite big but not so interesting artistically (my opinion of course) however, there is much to see there for those who love the story of St. Francis - the white does that nest in a stature, the thornless rose bushes, and some very nice frescoes that tell the story of St. Francis's life and travails on his road to sainthood.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful and special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

You do not want to miss this church if you are in the Assisi area. To see a church within a church and all the beautiful paintings is very special.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yes we were Moved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

By this Basilica and Porziuncola inside the basilica . Maybe because my husband has Francis in his name, but when the ray of light shone through the window shooting a beam of light right at his feet it was hard to beat. St Francis's little chapel , a church inside a church, was very spiritual and a highlight of our time in Assisi. Do not miss this uncrowded gem.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Maria degli Angeli also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Santa Maria degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria degli Angeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.