We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Good Location, Nice and Quiet Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontebella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fontebella Hotel to your Saves list
Fontebella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fontebella 25, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 69 Hotels in Assisi
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Views, Good Location, Nice and Quiet Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed for two nights in this great little hotel. Our valley view room was large and spotlessly clean. The view was absolutely amazing and the staff very welcoming. Breakfast the first morning was fantastic. The hotel has a really great espresso machine. Because there was a large tour group having breakfast the second morning, the espresso machine was not being used. The hotel probably didn't want to have to deal with explaining to so many people how to use the machine. Breakfast was quite good anyway. Just a note, the woman and man who take care of breakfast as well as dinner in the restaurant are both wonderful.

The one and only downside to this hotel is that free wifi is only available in the lobby. However, the lobby area is really nice and comfy so it didn't matter.

Room Tip: The valley view rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    77
    40
    16
    13
See reviews for
60
73
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel was fully booked so our room was upgraded. Beautiful view and in a perfect location to either climb up the mountain or back down! Lovely hotel restaraunt as well.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

When in Assisi, its a good idea to spend the night to be there after the crowds leave. Hotel Fontabella is in a great location on a main, but quiet, street. We checked in early and they held our bags for us. When we came back, our bags were in the room. We saw our room had a very small private belcony. It was a truely AMAZING view! The room itself was nothing spectacular. But it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

If you are going to stay in Assisi you really must stay in the historic area, and this is a great location. Then you can see the authentic side of Assisi once the day-trippers leave. Restaurant was good also. My only downside is I think that the hotel gave us one of their poorer rooms -- could it be that they receive less money from an Air France booking than from an independent over the web and assign rooms accordingly? We had an attic room than did not even appear on their floorplan while another couple who was traveling with us and had booked independently had a lovely room with a balcony and view of the valley. But it was only for one night so we lived with it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I visited Assisi with other three friends. We got two rooms from which we could see the spectacular valley and sunset. In Assisi you cannot expect room sizes similar to those in the U.S. but, despite the limited space, the beds were very confy and the bathrooms were very pretty and tastefully redone.
Most importantly, the service is outstanding, definitely the best we have experience throughout our three-week tour of Italy! The employees are experts in using empathy and they did understand and took care of our needs immediately. They are extremely kind and very knowledgeable. The general manager of the hotel, donna Elena is so prompt and skilled! She almost magically solved a couple of problems we had with the rental car company and with our airline ticket and has turned our experience from a potential nightmare into a terrific vacation... thank you Elena!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for valley view rooms. They cost a bit more but they are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed 2 night on our trip 11 day trip to Venice. The room was a good size and clean. The location was very good especially when exploring Assisi. It was very central we could not find room to park outside the hotel. However, we park outside to drop bags off and them returned to the carpark just outside the gates. This turned out to be a better option. We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed due to a problem with the outer garden wall not been safe. Work was ongoing to solve this. The streets are very steep but beautiful filled with flowers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

WE stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel. Assisi is a medieval town and you should stay in side the walls. If you stay in the valley or in a surrounding area, you will miss much of the mystique of this wonderful place. The people who come to Assisi are not typical tourists. The typical tourist goes to Rome, Florence, Venice (the Grand Tour). People who love the quaint take in in Siena. But people who love Sts Francis and Clare, medieval towns, a spiritually moving experience,etc add Assisi to their trip. This is a holy place. I have visited this town 4 times and stayed in a different hotel each time. There are some very reasonable places to stay and they are all clean. The Fontebella Hotel was a step above my usual places. It was still very reasonably priced. The breakfast was fine, the room was small but that is standard in a medieval town where the building are from the 10th-14th Centuries. Air conditioning worked and the bath had hot water and was clean. The view was magnificent. The staff were helpful. I particuarly enjoyed a young woman who worked in the lobby and bar area. When you walked up to the bar her greeting was "Tell Me". (I guess that is her translation for "what would you like". I heard her say it several times and thought is was interesting.)There are several rooms in a separate building. I don't think those rooms were as nice as the main building. Also, you want a room on a higher floor facing the valley. There are great restaurants in this town and the atomosphere at night, after all the day tourist busses depart, is magical. You are doing yourself a real deservice if you don't stay a night or two and in a hotel inside the old City. Don't stay in Santa Maria degli Angeli, it's just down the hill but you lose much of the flavor of this special place. We will stay at this lovely place again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontebella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontebella Hotel

Address: Via Fontebella 25, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontebella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 7-story Hotel set in 16th century palazzo featuring Franciscan simplicity & terrific views of lovely countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Fontebella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontebella Hotel Assisi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontebella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.