We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location. Delightfully charming. Wonderful 2nd floor room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umbra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Umbra Hotel to your Saves list
Umbra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via degli Archi 6, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location. Delightfully charming. Wonderful 2nd floor room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just literally steps away from the town square and easy access to everything in Assisi. Restaurants just across the plaza and next door. Bakeries within arms' length. We arrived just days before the Pope's visit last October and the power throughout the town center was off while they spruced up for the big day but the staff welcomed our Rick Steves' group with full information and suggestions on how to deal with the expected lack of power and hot water for several hours. Comfortable bedding and lovely balcony in Room 20 (I think). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    62
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
82
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Have stayed here on three separate occasions, single room. One stay was a last minute reservation when trip plans changed & they were most accommodating. Rooms are clean, staff is eager to please, location - just off the main square and steps from the official tourist office. They have a small restaurant featuring local cuisine plus bar. Good quality for the money, quaint and family own and run.

Room Tip: I always request a quiet room and have not been disappointed. However, when making reservations mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very large room with beautiful 200 degree view from the balcony and two oversized windows. Large wingback chairs for enjoying wine and view in air conditioning! When you imagine a classic chic European hotel built into a city wall, this is it. (And yes, classic charm comes with classic fixtures). Very accomodating, helpful staff. With our reservation confirmation, they emailed us maps and directions for parking and access which were spot on. Finding the hotel itself was a bit more difficult since it sits privately down an alley. We were surprised that locals didn't recognize the hotel name. Be prepared for walking what seems to be only uphill! Huge soaking tub and free wi-fi that actually works! Breakfast had nice selection of pastries and fresh apricots that were obviously local. Assisi was our first stop of a 30 day trip. We selected it as a "throw down" just in case we were delayed by the airline (of course we were but only 4 hours). We should have scheduled a second day because there is much to see and do in addition to the St Francis Basilica. Hotel Umbra is just off the central square, Piazza del Commune, which is quite lively and enjoyable in the late evening with a beautiful old fountain. But best of all is the balcony with unforgettable sunrise and sunset views!!!

Room Tip: Get your bearings and directions from the square before heading out on a walking tour -- every thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this quaint Assisi hotel for four nites in October 2013. It was the second time in the last few years that we have stayed here. In fact, we had the very same room on the first floor overlooking a nice walled in courtyard. And most interesting, the same three legged marmalade cat as we saw two years ago was still in residence (nine lives for you with only 3 legs) along with a couple of stripped turtles. The staff were wonderful and completely unchanged from our prior visit. We also used Assisi as a central stopover and visited Gubbio and Perugia from here. Have fun on the italian mountain roads; a blast. The only negative was that the first floor terrace with the wonderful views of the valley below was closed for repairs. Oh well.

Room Tip: Choose the valley views or the interior courtyard; both are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked Hotel Umbra based on a NY times article expounding on it's quaintness and great service. We were not disappointed. Marco at the front desk was at our service from the moment he greeted us, helping with our luggage and even fetching us from the town square when we could not find the hotel with the car ( requires a bit of navigating). Upon seeing the two rooms available, we let the couple traveling with us have the nicer room, with view of st Clare church as it was their dream to visit Assisi and we were just going along with the program. Our room was in the back and much smaller. Marco happened to casually mention the sun sets in our room. An understatement! Check out the photos! Breakfast was good and huge. Beautiful gardens and terrace. one of the most comfotable beds of our whole trip! Wine on the terrace near our friends room till I went to grab a camera and saw the sun beaming from our window lighting our entire room. The party then moved to our humble room! Also after trudging up and down the gorgeous hills of Assisi, we came back to our giant tub, a rarity in Italy, so big and deep that if you did not put your head on the ledge you'd drown! (Please excuse any upside down pictures. I tried to correct in my preview of this review but was unable. )We were surprised to find this town so amazing and beautiful, not being Catholic and not initially having much interest, but we certainly can relate to Francis's message: loving and respecting Gods creatures and above all universal peace..pace e bene.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the sunset and big tub if you are into that or the room in the front with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at the Umbra Hotel, Assisi for 2 nights in October and thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is centrally located just off the main piazza. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I stayed in the main hotel and my friends stayed in the annexe apartment about 20 metres from the main building. The apartment was spacious and beautiful. Wifi is free and, although they were told that there was no wifi at the apartment, my friends were able to access it in the kitchen which was close by the hotel office (bonus). I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next visit to Assisi. My only complaint is that breakfast is quite ordinary and the coffee was pretty awful. However, there are many nice cafes 2 minutes from the hotel in the piazza.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Umbra hotel is right in the center of town and the family that runs it is very nice. Breakfast was good and the rooms were adequate. Parking is a real hike but hey walking is good for you..Just know the municipal parking has some strange hours for different entrances so the walk can be even longer - definately do not want to do the walk with luggage which is what I did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umbra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbra Hotel

Address: Via degli Archi 6, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Umbra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Umbra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umbra Hotel Assisi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umbra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.