We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underrated temple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Temple of Minerva (Museo e Foro Romano)

Roman Temple of Minerva (Museo e Foro Romano)
Via Portica, Assisi, Italy
075-813-053
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 41 attractions in Assisi
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Religious Sites, Ancient Ruins, History Museums
Activities: Shopping, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This well-preserved Roman temple to Minerva, with its famous classical façade, is now a Christian Church.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Underrated temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This Roman Temple is much over shadowed because of the Basilica di San Francesco - which is the towns major draw card. but those who have experienced this Roman Temple have another reason to remember the town. We appreciated the Roman Temple as much if not better than the Basilica we love the history & original architecture. If you are in the piazza then go in & have a look & you will be amazed

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salerno
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Assisi Underground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Assisi is mostly known for St. Francis and the churches. But the antique History is at least as interesting. Definitely worth visiting. it gives a nice idea of the 'stratification' one comes across in many Italian cities & villages.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Coolest place in Assisi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Went into the temple just as a church service was starting, and stayed for the entire time. The church was cool and restful, the music was great, and I imagine the sermon was too but we didn't understand any Italian! Still, it was great to join with local families - a nonna next to me even helped me find the page for each hymn! Hard to believe the building is 2,000 years old!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting building but not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The good thing is that it's free. The building is in the Roman style, but when you go inside it looks like a renaissance church.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Essex England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Looks like a Roman Temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

From the outside, looks like a Roman Temple, which is was, dedicated to Goddess Minerva.Now Christian church, with Our Lady on the altar . Side statue to St Rita

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Temple of Minerva (Museo e Foro Romano) also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Roman Temple of Minerva (Museo e Foro Romano)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Temple of Minerva (Museo e Foro Romano), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Roman Temple of Minerva (Museo e Foro Romano) to your Saves list