We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica di San Francesco

Basilica di San Francesco
Piazza San Francesco, 2, 06081 Assisi, Italy
(+39) 075.8190084
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Basilica di San Francesco like an insider
Private Tour
$89*
and up
Private Tour: Assisi Day Trip from Rome
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Assisi
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Basilica is a treasure trove of paintings by such masters as Simone Martini, Pietro Lorenzetti, Cimabue, Giotto and many others.
Angel Fire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Inspiring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Let me state this first. Assisi was my favorite place in Italy. That being said, The Basilica was not number one on my list in Assisi. Perhaps I feel this way in order to honer the fact that St. Francis didn't want it built in the first place. Now, putting that aside I must say place is inspiring. The fact that St. Francis is resting there seems to ground one in history. I loved the controversial Madonna favoring St. Francis over John the Baptist painting. A visit to Assisi must include this great Basilica.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,239
    287
    38
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Assisi was my favorite. Much climbing but beautiful and much to see. High on a hill I didn't expect it to attract me. A must visit for any one going to Italy

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
245 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“Brilliant 13th century frescoes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were lucky to be able to visit the Basilica twice, on the first visit, a Saturday morning during Calendimaggio, the crowds were large, and unfortunately very noisy, even with the constant reminders to visitors to be quiet, the announcement fell on many a deaf ear. We pushed on and explored the 3 levels of the Basilica, the frescoes are amazing, but decided to return on another day for a more peaceful visit. We returned the following Monday afternoon for a more pleasant self-guided tour, we got to spend a lot of time appreciating the talents of the artists who had painted the cycle of frescoes in the upper Basilica.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“A must-see church if you visit Umbria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stunning in its size, colour, and art, this basilica has become more important as a pilgrimage site since the election of Pope Francis. There is a steady stream of tours to contend with, but join one with a Franciscan monk as your guide; go to the office on the north end of the large courtyard to the left of the front of the basilica.

The mosaics inside are super. They are worth your visit alone. Many frescoes in the nave of the church are first-rate, but badly damaged over the years by damp rising up the walls.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A must visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a super tour guide in Assisi and the highlight of this splendid village was of course the St Francis Basilica. The Tomb is also accessible for visitors and the silence is well respected and appreciated. Just a spectacular place of absolute calm and tranquillity. Brilliant - my favourite Italian retreat.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di San Francesco also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Basilica di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica di San Francesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.