We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Converging energies of pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mandrie di San Paolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Mandrie di San Paolo to your Saves list
Le Mandrie di San Paolo
Via Fonte l'Abate, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Converging energies of pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

After only one day back here in London England I already miss the warm welcoming and friendly comfort that one is offered at Le Mandrie di San Paolo . We, my wife Caroline and I, were there only three nights but feel we are part of a family who have experiences a life time of energy and love that has gone into the creation of the magical place. Our host Alex made our visit special through his love of all things of quality, from the smallest detail in the breakfast menu, to the splendor of his cellar of superb Umbrian wines. Everything is considered for the guest's pleasure and enjoyment, without a trace formal pretension.

Le Mandrie di San Paolo is situated high on Monte Subasio and In Alex's own words..." at the point where the energy of the valley meets the energy of the forest". You feel that difference of energy flowing through your body all the time you are there.

We will be going back if just to taste the excellent olive oil, on Alex's home made bread, from home grown wheat. Needless to say the olive oil is produced from the fragrant trees that surround the valley slopes of Le Mandrie di San Paolo.

Tom and Caroline

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    34
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
149
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Try to remember that this is a centuries old Agriturismo lodge but with a view and a great restaurant. The view is stunningly beautiful. Our comfortable bedroom on the second floor faced the view of the valley. The view from our window was a powerful sedative. It infused our senses and eased our travel weary minds. Le Mandrie was a perfect base for visiting Assisi. Above the valley with only forest above, it felt like a perfect retreat.

The rooms were clean and basic but tastefully done. The bed was comfortable. The bath has fine fixtures.

We chose to include the evening meals at the restaurant in our arrangement. It was perfect decision. The appetizer was enough for a meal. The pasta was delicate and delicious. After desert we needed only to walk the short distance to our room.

Room Tip: Don't worry, if you can find the village of San Vitale you can find Le Mandrie du Sao Paolo.Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I can't help but to think that if St. Francis were alive today he would be found praying or working on the Le Mandrie property. Not that Assisi isn't beautiful. It is. But it is not serene or peaceful. Le Mandrie is. Its a place you could go to have a personal spiritual or creative retreat. Sitting high on the hills overlooking Umbria with the birds and rabbits one could easily feel the spirit of the Saint here. Bring a book, or a journal or a sketchbook and while away the hours in peace. And when you get hungry, go no further that the trattoria on site - the food is wonderful and so is the wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My friend and I vacationed in Italy for two weeks and this lodging, as well as the nearby town of Assisi were, BY FAR, the highlight of our multi-city trip. When we left Le Mandrie and arrived at our next destination, we truly wanted to turn the rental car around and return to the farm. The accomodations are a wonderful blend of modern comfort and convenience and rustic farmhouse charm, with postcard-perfect panoramic vistas, for an unbelievably reasonable price. We had a one bedroom suite with kitchenette and pull-out sofa. (We both noted that it would be more like $800 per night to stay anywhere half as nice as this place in Napa Valley, California). The lodging is situated at a fairly high elevation which lent not only to the views, but clean, crisp and refreshing air and bright sunny days. You have a clear painted-sky view of the pristinely-preserved, ancient walled city of Assisi to the right. There is a beautiful pool area, as well as a spa room with a modern sauna and steam room (with light therapy) which we utlitized and loved. The dining hall has the feel of a cozy mountain lodge with a roaring fireplace, warm wood furnishings and rock walls. A delicious breakfast is included, with local pastries and jams, seasonal fruit, open cappuccino bar, and wonderful fluffy omelettes. In the evening, the highlight of our stay was gathering in the dining hall with all the other guests for dinner. There is a great fixed price menu with mutiple courses for a very reasomable price, as well as ala carte options. Bring your apptetite and leave yourself at least 2 hours to eat. It was all delicious, so I won't recommend one thing over another. When we arrived, we were immediately asked about any food allergies or dietary restrictions, so they really try to cater to anyone. Dinner also comes with an unlimited supply of handmade crusty bread that the proprietor, Alex, said is entirely made on the farm, from their own ground flour to eggs from their chickens, to the wood from their forect burned in the stone ovens that he built himself. And of course, it comes with the farm's signature olive oil. You haven't really tasted olive oil until you've had it directly from the source, as you can at Le Mandrie. Alex, his dining hall manager Carlo, and the rest of the staff were supreme hosts, always ready to help and extend hospitality. The farm is a perfect launching point to explore the Umbrian valley. We easily drove to the ancient walled town of Spello, walked a nearby beautiful tree-lined path by an old Roman Aqueduct (complete with stone plaques bearing witicisms and wise words from throughout the ages), and toured Assisi on multuple days. There is a mountain nearby for more serious hiking, as well as lakes. Some of our fellow guests chose to walk to these towns and leave the car at the farm. It would be a workout, but with such beautiful surroundings, it's a great option. If there was anything we wanted that wasn't at the farm, it is only about a 5 minute drive to two grocery stores. We weren't there during olive season or harvest, but if you do go then, you can learn more about the process of growing and harvesting olives. Le Mandrie is a peaceful and inspiring place, both in the beautiful accomodations within an alpine forest, close proximity to major touring areas, unobstructed panoramic views, and a wonderful and welcoming staff, but also because of the ecological progressiveness that it continually strives to achieve. They aim to be self-sustaining, utilitizing the resources of the land that they so thoughtfully nurture. I could not recommend this place highly enough. It will be the highlight of your trip as well. Go there soon before the word gets out to everyone!

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, all the rooms had great views. We liked being upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tres Coracoes, MG
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a most interesting rural hotel, high in the hills near Assisi. From the place, you can see, at your feet, almost all of Umbria. The installations are very good, with ample rooms and a very large bathroom. Don't be tempted to dine elsewhere - the food is hearty, very well made, typical and much worthy trying. Besides, you may drink all the wine you choose without being afraid of driving back to the hotel at night. Try the red wine of the house - a strong, fruity, concentrated essence of Sagrantino. The olive oil, which is produced in this hotel/farm, is of high quality. The staff is very attentive and kind. Much recommended!

Room Tip: Try choosing a room at the reception level. Others, in the first floor, are also very good, but I co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, ME
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our stay in Assisi and as soon as we checked in we realized that we should have stayed for many more nights! What a gorgeous location -- high up on the hills around the old city of Assisi. A breathtaking view doesn't even start to explain how gorgeous it was up there.
We arrived by taxi because we decided not to rent a car. The taxi ride from the train station was 20 Euro for two people but it would be much easier to travel to/from this location with your own car or a rental. However, the splurge on the taxi is well worth it. You can also hike to/from the old city in about 45 minutes or so, as we were told. The staff will call a taxi for you if you need, too!
The room was GORGEOUS and the view from the room was like a dream. Our room had a great bathroom, kitchen table, couch, super comfy bed, and a small kitchenette, which would be perfect if you were staying for longer than a day or two.
Breakfast is included and it was great. Offered ham and cheese plate along with an optional omelet and caffe, etc. Just perfection!!!
They had a brand new laminated map of the property with a great walking tour of the olive plantation. We took the walk almost immediately upon arriving and it was great. It took about an hour and was really beautiful.
Dinner was OUTSTANDING. They will charge the meal to your room so you can pay at checkout. Without exaggeration I can say that this is the BEST meal I've ever had in my life.
This is a gem of a place and Alessandro has created such a gorgeous feeling that makes you want to stay for a lifetime. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The agriturismo is run by Alessandro who is very likeable has a clear passion for what he does. The rooms are large with a well appointed bathroom and a little kitchenette. The view is spectacular from all the rooms and there is a pool with the same view. the estate grows olive trees to make olive oil which is sold on the premises. The food is absolutely wonderful, as is the wine, and the staff are friendly and accomodating. Two things i really loved where the flexibility of the staff towards children, which could have some simple food at around 7 (rather than absolutely having to wait until 8 pm in other places I have stayed), the other was the commitment to local and high quality food for a very reasonable price. The one fault that I could pick up on was that the walls can be a bit thin and noisy neighbours could be an issue.

Room Tip: All the rooms have spectacular views but particularly on the top floor. Ask for a room with less nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mandrie di San Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mandrie di San Paolo

Address: Via Fonte l'Abate, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mandrie Di San Paolo offers wonderful panoramic views over Assisi and the Umbrian hills and it is located at 700m in the Natural Parc of Subasio.There is a very nice restaurant serving typical regional dishes.The outdoor infinity pool offers a wonderful panoramic views over Assisi and the valley. The historic centre of Assisi is just a 5/10 minute car ride away.Rooms have a balcony and private bathroom, some have a separate seating area and kitchenette. Spa center and relaxing garden.Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Le Mandrie di San Paolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mandrie di San Paolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.