We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Fortezza

Ristorante La Fortezza
Vicolo della Fortezza 2b | Hotel La Fortezza, 06081 Assisi, Italy
+39 075 812993
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 185 Restaurants in Assisi
Price range: $25 - $44
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This was an amazingly dissppointing experience. The food was not good and the wine was nasty and the service was very very poor.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    47
    28
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Attentive & Kind Staff. Quality Umbrian Cuisine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We enjoyed a very nice lunch in La Fortezza, last month. The staff was extremely kind, courteous, and helpful. All of our dishes were very good and very good examples of local Umbrian cuisine. The service was very attentive and the dishes were even brought out covered to maintain the heat. We actually had limited time, so I spoke with the manager and asked him to bring the dishes out as they are prepared... not waiting for all appetizers or entrees to be presented at the same time. The manager was most kind and happy to assist. I would return again if I was in Assisi.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

Very classy service and wonderful dishes, some not found in your run-of-the-mill tourist trap let alone tourist destination. For instance, the wild boar stew was Devine. Prices are fair and below average for a city based mostly on tourism. I would heartily recommend for a memorable meal!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service, food and and atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Highly recommend the fresh food. Only barrier to a perfect evening was the language barrier which prevented complete engagement with the very polite, skilled and patient staff!
They threw in a free limoncello for the 2 of us!
Don't be put off by the unmanned entrance, just keep walking through to be welcomed in the main room!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice food in Assisi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We recently visited La Fortezza to end an evening trip to Assisi. The town is a lovely place to visit, but we chose to go there after 5pm - most of the tourists had gone by then, and the town was quiet and a wonderful place to watch the sunset.
We chose La Fortezza as it was recommended in one of our guide books. There is a lot to choose from in Assisi, but eating here is not cheap compared to surrounding towns.
The restaurant was quiet most of the evening, so service was very good. When choosing a wine, we asked for guidance on a good local wine and were recommended a really nice wine for only €12, one of the cheapest - it was nice to feel you weren't being ripped off !
In our group of 8 people, we all chose a primi pasta dish and secondi meat dish. The primi dishes were all excellent, a good start. The secondi dishes were also very good on the whole, but some had the lamb dishes which were quite fatty and not up to the standard of the other dishes - on the whole, the main courses were good but not outstanding.
With 2 courses and drinks we paid around €30 a head. There was nothing wrong with our meals, but on the other hand nothing outstanding - just reasonable food with good service. We just felt the price was a little high, yet looking around this would seem to be about the norm for Assisi. You can eat here and expect well cooked food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Fortezza also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante La Fortezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Fortezza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.