We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lieto Soggiorno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Lieto Soggiorno to your Saves list
Hotel Lieto Soggiorno
Via A. Fortini 26, 06081 Assisi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 122 Assisi B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lieto Soggiorno is a small, cozy hotel in the same building occupied by an art gallery. The rooms are small but they are very clean and the bathroom in our room was very big and had a nice shower. The breakfast, made by the hotel owner, is delicious.
By the way, the owner - Signore Vincenzo, is cute. Very atencious, talkative and gave us nice tips about restaurants and what to do in the city. He really made my family and I feels at home.
The prices are great. When I was there (2011) we paid 90 euros for a triple room including the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    43
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
76
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent breakfast and the dining environment! Cozy room but a bit noisy as our room (a twin bed room) was facing the main street. Owner of the hotel is friendly enough to give us a free ride to the Our Lady of Angels church!
One point to note: hot water supply was very limited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

For a two star hotel, the standard was very high, and the owner was very helpful. The room was nicely decorated and had a small balcony overlooking Assisi's rooftops. It's very close to the main square.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I went in May 2012 to Assisi and enjoyed the Calendimaggio festival there. It is one of my favorite memories from our honeymoon to Italy. The hotel is adorable, the owner is helpful and makes you feel like family, and his daughter's restaurant down the street is delicious. We were upgraded for free to the honeymoon suite which was not in use and it was beautiful and so comfortable. I hope to go back one day soon and visit Assisi again. What a quaint and beautiful city. (By the way- download Rick Steve's free audio tour for a walking guide to the city).

Room Tip: We were upgraded for free to the honeymoon suite which was not in use and it was beautiful and so co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful stay. The owner was so nice. The breakfast was perfect and the location is the best fir exploring beautiful Assisi. I recommend it to anyone wanting to come to Assisi. I wish we could have stayed even longer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in the historic heart of Assisi easy walking distance to everything. Our host Vincenzo was kind and helpful. He arranged our reservations at the nearby restaurant run by his daughter. The food there was excellent and elegantly prepared. Our room at Lieto Soggiorno was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My best friend and I booked hotel Alexander in Assisi last year via booking.com and a few days before our arrival we got a call from booking.com informing us that the hotel was overbooked and we can choose any other hotel we want in the same star and they will book for us at no additional cost even if the hotel we choose was more expensive. We did not want to spend our holiday checking emails and communicating with booking.com so we decided to thank them and book ourselves. We searched a few hotels and decided to Lietto Soggiorno (despite it being 2 stars) because of the great reviews we read.

We did not regret it. The hotel is a gem in Assisi. Very small but feels like home. The owner and probably his relative/daughter are running the hotel themselves. They are very friendly and make you feel like you've been invited to spend a holiday at a relative's place.

The location is excellent, St. Francesco Basilica is at the end of the street upwards (8 min walk) and Santa Clara is at the end of the street downwards! The hotel is central to all other attractions and little shops in the city. Breakfast is delicious and the owner sits and serves guests himself.
The double room was small but cozy and we did not have any problems placing our 2 suitcases in it. The bathroom is also small but you have a shower, toilet and sink. I dont remember if there was a bidet.

The only negative thing I found in the hotel was the lack of air condition in the rooms. If you go in the summer, it is quite hot and uncomfortable.

We are going to Assisi again end of October and I am booking in Lietto Soggiorno since the weather will not be hot any more!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lieto Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lieto Soggiorno

Address: Via A. Fortini 26, 06081 Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical center near San Francesco cathedral and Santa Chiara church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lieto Soggiorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lieto Soggiorno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.