We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A don't miss for the history buff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda del Cardinale

La Locanda del Cardinale
Piazza del Vescovado, 8 | Chef Enea Barbanera, 06081 Assisi, Italy
+39 075 815245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 185 Restaurants in Assisi
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A don't miss for the history buff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Where else can you dine while admiring the old Roman mosaic floor two yards below the glass floor your chair is resting on? We arrived early (for Italy), and were the only diners for awhile. Our service was great, perhaps partly because our waiter had spent some time in the Netherlands, and was eager to practice his Dutch on me. The food was great, so was the wine. We did not feel like there was no value, the prices are high, but it is an upscale venue, after all! Tip: ask to see the upstairs, where the cardinal had his residence (17th or 18th century?). What a contrast, roman ruin basement, modern restaurant, historic (-looking?) upstairs!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    61
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Disappointing........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Dined here last night & we were so looking forward to the meal. Beautiful restaurant, nicely laid out, very modern & those glass floors do play tricks with your sense of balance! We were greeted very warmly & shown to our table. A basket of delicious home baked bread kept us going whilst we perused the menu. After making my decision the waiter then came & told us about the 'specials' which I chose my starter from - octopus salad. Very disappointing with the octopus being very much over cooked to the point it wasn't chewable. Hubby went for the potato gnocchi in goose ragu which was delicious but nearly choked on 4 goose bones discovered in the sauce. For the main I had the stuffed egg plant with prawn which was very nicely presented & tasty. Hubby wanted the lamb initially but this was not available so settled for the veal cutlets. Shame he wasn't asked how he wanted them cooking - over cooked & rather chewy. Good wine & water list. Could do with dimming the lights in the restaurant during the course of the evening - beautiful massive chandeliers that didn't give an intimate dining experience. Disappointing & sadly would not recommend. Service was very good though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Arcangelo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Really beautiful historic place, good food, good service, reasonable costs.
We were very pleased to be there

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with Mytable.it

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I went here for dinner on a Saturday evening during a trip to Umbria. We had eaten at various places during our stay, mostly agriturismos, but felt like one "up market" dinner before we returend to England.

The setting is terrific - glass floors with Roman remains beneath and bright, airy decor.

We were the only people there at 8.15 when we arrived which was disappointing given it was a Saturday, the weather was fine and a lot of people were out and about indulging in "passegiatta". We were assured that they had bookings for 2 larger parties at 9.00. By the time we left at about 10.00 there were 2 other couples.

However, it was the food that disappointed in that nothing was seasoned - not one of our starters or main courses. Given that one of our starters was a form of steak tartare, this was a bit of a problem as it meant that the dish was purely a portion of raw minced beef with a couple of vegetable crisps as garnish - nothing else!

After the starters we mentioned this to the waiter who said he would advise the chef. We hoped that the main courses would at least be properly seasoned, but no...

It is an expensive restaurant and the ideas SOUND very good, but the execution is just not there. Maybe, given all the good reviews below, the normal chef was having a day off and we were just unlucky, but it would have been nice if they could have at least acknowledged our comments.

There is also an extensive wine list which probably reflects reasonable UK rather than Umbrian prices - e.g. we had a very nice Sagrantino for EUR 32 whereas we had had exactly the same bottle in an agriturismo a couple of nights earlier for EUR 18. However, one shouldn't compare them given the difference in the 2 establishments - mind you, the food tasted much better in the agriturismo!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The food, the wine and service were terrific! The venue is just beautiful! The chef came out and greeted every table after we had our dinner. Highly recommend this place.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda del Cardinale also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Locanda del Cardinale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda del Cardinale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.