We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an "ancient" setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda del Cardinale

La Locanda del Cardinale
Piazza del Vescovado, 8 | Chef Enea Barbanera, 06081 Assisi, Italy
+39 075 815245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 185 Restaurants in Assisi
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food in an "ancient" setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The building supposedly stems from the first century BC, and the floors are glass so you can see down into the ruins. You might think this is gimmicky, but it's not, and the food is superb. In particular do not miss the home made gelato and sorbet collection. We had a long conversation after dinner with the chef/owner who completed some of his training in the US.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    61
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was a great experience from the get-go. As my wife and I walked into the ancient building we expected a small and old-fashioned place, but to our surprise we found ourselves inside a huge hall perfectly mashing the original ancient interior with new glass and steel design.
The atmosphere was great, the food - excellent and the service - superb.
We had a wonderful time and would most certainly come back again if we are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“unique in assisi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

in the historical atmosphere of assisi is "LA LOCANDA DEL CARDINALE" a jewel , where also the eye eats with. First time in my life I have eaten in such a place , build on a Roman ruin.
The service was excellent, wine-recommandation very good and the lunch absolutaley successul.
Every penny you pay worth it
mmcin

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A spectacular experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Three of us dined for lunch at this amazing restaurant on August 25, 2012. Located close to Santa Chiara in Assisi, this restaurant offers artfully cooked and presented cuisine. And, if you are fortunate like we were, you can dine in the room whose floor is made of thick glass, revealing illuminated ruins and mosaic floors beneath. Overhead are bricked arches. For lunch I had a scrumptious "teepee" of mushrooms and mild white fish. My main course was a rombo (turbot) in a crust of potatoes. The wine list was top notch, and the service was impeccable (and informative about the food and the wines). By the way, the bathrooms were an experience out of Architectural Digest (always a plus when dining out). I would highly recommend this restaurant, and I look forward to returning there in the future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very high end setting. Food was very good. Felt more like being in Milan then Assisi. That being said we were still treated well by the attentive staff.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda del Cardinale also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Locanda del Cardinale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda del Cardinale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.