We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and unique restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Osteria da Divo

Antica Osteria da Divo
Via Franciosa 25-29, Siena, Italy
0577-284 381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 440 Restaurants in Siena
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Charming and unique restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This restaurant is seemingly carved out of the Siena hillside. The restaurant has three levels. Food and service is very good, and the wine selection is extensive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,755
    502
    109
    42
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Truffles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We went on the suggestion of our b&b. As it was truffle season, they had a truffle menu, as well as the regular menu. We ordered from both.

Porcini risotto, truffle risotto and pici with wild boar ragu. All excellent! The mains were equally good and made with seasonal/local ingredients. The house red was a Sangiovese. 16€ a bottle. With water and service, 4 ate for around €180. Worth it. Upscale, but comfortable service. Lovely dining room. Complimentary sweet plate. Great meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lovely evening in a charming space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Dinner was delicious. Breads were great. The antipasto plate was huge- big enough for 2-3 people. Branzino with potatoes was one of the best that I have had. The Florentine steak looked great. The staff was charming and very accommodating to our lactose intolerance. The space includes ancient walls and the server enthusiastically described its history. However, as we were warned in an earlier tripadvisor review, 10% was added to our bill for service that is included in the price. We brought it to their attention and after about a ten minute wait, we were informed that there had been a "glitch in the system" and they removed it. We would return on another trip to Siena but a visit to this restaurant requires vigilance to the bill.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Everyone loves Siena...an you will love Antica Osteria da Divo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A highlight of our Tuscan dining experience, lunch at Antica Osteria da Divo was a dining heaven.

Having made reservations, we sat at a romantic dimly lit table in an extraordinary atmosphere.

The service and congeniality of its waitstaff were superb.
Rolls were light little bits of Heaven...warm and uncomplicated...freshly made.
A zucchini appetizer which incorporated polenta, cheese and peppers with a delicate sauce...excellent.
My husband enjoyed a ravioli with spinach and mushrooms in a pesto sauce.
I elected the Lasagna...now this is not your ordinary lasagna! Home made pasta dough in concentric circles incorporated its cheese and meat sauce...delicate, piping hot and delish!
We happened to be traveling with a Rick Steves book. The waitress noted such and as a result we received our choice of complementary Vin Santo or espresso, and bicscotti for both of us. How lovely.

How we wish we could have gone back to this wonderful restaurant a few more times...Amazing!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The best meal of this trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The dinner was absolutely amazing. We ordered from the special truffle menu which was outstanding. The food was very flavorful and creative. The mushroom risotto was served in a carved out peccorino cheese bowl and it was divine. My rabbit with truffles was also sublime. My husband had egg pasta with truffles that melted in your mouth and his guinea hen was so sweet, tender and sublime. The chef and all the staff were incredibly welcoming and really wanted to make sure the experience was perfect. The restaurant itself is in a building dating back to the 1400's and there are caves that descend 3 levels below with tables as well that date back thousands of years. The Chef pointed out the remains of the original wall of Siena running right through the space! It was better than visiting a museum. The prices were very reasonable and totally in keeping with a fantastic, upscale dining experience. The menu is so varied and inspired that there is something for everyone. Go and enjoy. It is well worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria da Divo also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Antica Osteria da Divo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Osteria da Divo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.