We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Perla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Perla to your Saves list
Hotel la Perla
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Indipendenza 25, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Siena
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a fantastic location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

The location is perfect for sightseeing! Siena is absolutely amazing - the Piazza del Campo was around the corner from the hotel - and we fell in love with the city as soon as we arrived! It felt safe to walk around and the restaurants were fantastic! It was a little noisy with the windows open, but that is what made it - the sounds of the city - perfect!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
15
33
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Perfect location-- probably the closest hotel to the main Piazza. The staff were very helpful and their English was great. The only downside was that the rooms were small and bare, but they were also very clean.

The double room in the attic has an awesome view-- but it involves walking up a VERY steep spiral staircase that probably can't be climbed with a suitcase bigger than carry on size. The double room on the 3rd floor (the same floor as reception) overlooking the courtyard is nice, and quiet.

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

The rooms were clean and nice enough but poorly insulated. In my room, the window wouldn't even close all the way, letting in cold October air, so that it was freezing even with the heat on full blast. The bathrooms were a bit awkward, with no shower floor separation and very little shelf space. The staff was friendly but annoying and not helpful at all. Don't expect free maps, restaurant recommendations, or really any relevant, genuine advice about what to see and do in Siena. This place is an okay place to stay, but you can probably do better.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay at La Perla Hotel in Siena. The exterior is pretty plain (although it is fascinating that the building is from the mid-1700s--before the US was even a country!) The room was very comfortable and clean, although in typical European fashion, pretty small. The best part was the amazing view out the window of the small piazza outside. The hotel is only a couple blocks away from the Piazza del Campo and campanile, which is the main tourist draw to the city. For our needs, La Perla was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

I wanted to share my positive experience of staying in this hotel. The hotel is tucked away in a quiet piazza, minutes from the main square Il Campo. The hotel has a bijoux feel and is totally un-pretentious.

My twin room was small but uncluttered. When I opened the wooden shutters I saw the most beautiful view of the buildings surrounding 'my own piazza'! The room was quiet. The bathroom is compact but had a great power shower!

I would highly recommend this hotel for value, pleasantness of staff as well as the super location!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

In Canada our streets are all in a grid, and Siena is not, which is VERY cool, but this place was quite difficult to find (we probably would have found it quicker had we taken a taxi!). We called for directions & the guy was not very friendly or helpful. However, once we found it, we found our room to be very comfortable - it was nice and bright and the tiny bathroom was very clean. The location was really good too!

Our room over looked a taxi stand, which was GREAT for getting to the train station the next morning, but at about 7:00 a.m. the street cleaning machine came out...it was sooooo loud. We were already up and leaving that morning so lucky for us it didn't wake us. However, I can't say I would have been too happy if it wasn't a travel day for us! There is NO way I could have slept through it and I'm a good sleeper.

Most places in Italy include breakfast, but this one didn't - unfortunately. We had to leave early in the morning and there wasn't really any restaurants open that we could get breakfast. We managed to find something to eat at the train station though.

With all that being said, I would probably stay again since I know where it is now and I would LOVE to go back to Siena. We were there for only one day on our way down to Sicily.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

La Perla is located smack in the center of Siena. The room was clean, the bed and shower were fine. The biggest problem is climbing the stairs with suitcases. I would rate this a good bargain, but not an ideal location for the not-so-young traveller.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Perla

Address: Piazza Indipendenza 25, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel la Perla 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated deep in the historical centre, Hotel La Perla is central to all of the city’s major attractions, from the monuments to the churches, bars, restaraunts, pubs and also the football ground!Housed in a medieval building dating back to the 13th century, it is indeed a historical landmark in itself.All the rooms are suited of a little private bathroom with shower, television and, even if the hotel is housed in a medieval building, all the rooms are fitted of a modern air conditioning under your control to have always fresh air during the hot period.You can also have internet connection using the wi-fi connection or asking to the reception for a little private laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel la Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.