We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrible accomodation: very dirty and noisy room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Camerine di Silvia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Camerine di Silvia to your Saves list
Le Camerine di Silvia
Via Ettore Bastianini 3, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 103 Siena B&B and Inns
Pavia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A terrible accomodation: very dirty and noisy room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

The b&b is in a great position, about 10 minutes from the Duomo. Apart from that, anyway, the room we were staying in was really dirty (awful, disgusting): I couldn't even describe it without puking! There was also a door that communicates with another room and we couls hear everything the woman next to us was saying. We couldn't have any privacy and were also scared that someone could enter in our room when we were outside or sleeping! Furthermore the price was really really high compared with the service. The room was also cold and my boyfriend get the flu.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa clara, ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

Location: Rather central to both parking and the duomo/piazza. 5 min walk to parking and 10 min walk to the piazza il campo. No food or restaurants immedaitely close though.It was hard to figure out how to get into Siena in the first place, we had to buy a map to figure things out.

Room: Basic. Clean. Not much character in this apartment building and breakfast consisted of a bunch of pre-packaged croissants and hot dogs. We didn't touch it - it looked stale and old.

Hotel: Nothing much to shout about in this department. They just went out rooms.

Pricing: Rather affordable but I did find more competitive options after i've made my reservations.

Food: -N/a-

Service: I called the camerine the day before to inform of day of arrival. A young lady met me at the camerine to give me the keys. Other than that, there is no staff on site.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Boring room, blah breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

This accommodation is in a quiet residential location about 10 minutes gentle uphill walk to the cathedral and other main sites. There are a couple of good osteria and a food shop within 2 minutes walk.
On arrival guests are issued with keys to the room and security gate, given a streetplan and left to get on with it.
The rooms are in the lower ground floor area of a large house opening directly onto a garden area with seats and benches - a welcome feature which I guess is pretty unusual for accommodation of its type in this city.
Our shuttered room was small basic and clean (except for ants) equipped with a radiator, comfortable bed, bedside tables and lights, hairdryer, TV, table and microwave. There was no kettle, crockery or cutlery of any sort.The en-suite shower room was fitted with a bidet toilet and basin and towels were provided. This small room also housed an alcove to hang clothes and a small fridge.
We had pre-ordered the 'do it yourself' style breakfast. This was a disappointing feature. It was delivered on a tray while we were out on the first evening. There was plenty of it - a hunk of bread wrapped in cling film, a bag of four fresh croissants, a carton of fresh milk and some portions of butter and cheese spread, sachets of coffee and tea and jam. However, we were left to guess that this was expected to last us for two days and that the tray would not be collected/replenished with fresh goods on day 2. Also, the only crockery we were allocated was two cups (one chipped) - no saucers, plates, jug kettle or pot in which to heat the water in the microwave. This seemed unnecessarily basic given that we paid just over 200 euro for the two nights.

  • Liked — Being able to sit outside
  • Disliked — Breakfast arrangements
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carbondale, co
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

We stayed at a second property owned by Silvia of the Hotel Belvedere. This property is a three room bed/breakfast, in the heart of Siena, near the University. It is quite tucked away - literally, our room door opened to a vista of the valley below, just beyond a garden.

Our room had a double bed, which was slightly saggy, but comfortable, an extra twin bed, tv, microwave, mini fridge, desk, and two bedside tables/lamps. We also had a garden level window with shutters. The bath was large, all tiled, with a corner square shower, pedestal sink, commode and bidet. The towels were either linen for hands, or a waffle weave for the bath towel. All areas were clean, but this is not a hotel where one expects toiletries...you need to bring your own, even the soap. There is also no hairdryer, although there are plenty of outlets if you have your own.

What was truly charming about this place was that the rooms open onto a private garden area, complete with two or three cats sunning themselves. One in particular liked us a lot and would come into our room through the open shutters to visit... just like home. We were left entirely alone, which we loved.

Now, there is no continental breakfast or other food onsite, though you can reserve a "breakfast" kit in advance. We just walked a couple of blocks for cappuchino. But the view was to die for, the quiet very complete, except on Liberation Day (singing college students), and we were content.

Warning: get good directions if you reserve here...it took us a 90 minute bus ride because we didn't understand, and didn't speak Italian, plus a half hour of missing the place on foot the first time.

But...we have already agreed we will go back....with a hairdryer, and a stop first at a market for snacks and breakfast foods. Here's to more quiet moments in the sun of the garden on a bench with a companion cat!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Camerine di Silvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Camerine di Silvia

Address: Via Ettore Bastianini 3, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Le Camerine di Silvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Camerine di Silvia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.