We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrible accomodation: very dirty and noisy room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Camerine di Silvia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Camerine di Silvia to your Saves list
Le Camerine di Silvia
Via Ettore Bastianini 3, 53100, Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 111 Siena B&B and Inns
Pavia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A terrible accomodation: very dirty and noisy room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

The b&b is in a great position, about 10 minutes from the Duomo. Apart from that, anyway, the room we were staying in was really dirty (awful, disgusting): I couldn't even describe it without puking! There was also a door that communicates with another room and we couls hear everything the woman next to us was saying. We couldn't have any privacy and were also scared that someone could enter in our room when we were outside or sleeping! Furthermore the price was really really high compared with the service. The room was also cold and my boyfriend get the flu.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tai2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
santa clara, ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Location: Rather central to both parking and the duomo/piazza. 5 min walk to parking and 10 min walk to the piazza il campo. No food or restaurants immedaitely close though.It was hard to figure out how to get into Siena in the first place, we had to buy a map to figure things out.

Room: Basic. Clean. Not much character in this apartment building and breakfast consisted of a bunch of pre-packaged croissants and hot dogs. We didn't touch it - it looked stale and old.

Hotel: Nothing much to shout about in this department. They just went out rooms.

Pricing: Rather affordable but I did find more competitive options after i've made my reservations.

Food: -N/a-

Service: I called the camerine the day before to inform of day of arrival. A young lady met me at the camerine to give me the keys. Other than that, there is no staff on site.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Boring room, blah breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchen811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

This accommodation is in a quiet residential location about 10 minutes gentle uphill walk to the cathedral and other main sites. There are a couple of good osteria and a food shop within 2 minutes walk.
On arrival guests are issued with keys to the room and security gate, given a streetplan and left to get on with it.
The rooms are in the lower ground floor area of a large house opening directly onto a garden area with seats and benches - a welcome feature which I guess is pretty unusual for accommodation of its type in this city.
Our shuttered room was small basic and clean (except for ants) equipped with a radiator, comfortable bed, bedside tables and lights, hairdryer, TV, table and microwave. There was no kettle, crockery or cutlery of any sort.The en-suite shower room was fitted with a bidet toilet and basin and towels were provided. This small room also housed an alcove to hang clothes and a small fridge.
We had pre-ordered the 'do it yourself' style breakfast. This was a disappointing feature. It was delivered on a tray while we were out on the first evening. There was plenty of it - a hunk of bread wrapped in cling film, a bag of four fresh croissants, a carton of fresh milk and some portions of butter and cheese spread, sachets of coffee and tea and jam. However, we were left to guess that this was expected to last us for two days and that the tray would not be collected/replenished with fresh goods on day 2. Also, the only crockery we were allocated was two cups (one chipped) - no saucers, plates, jug kettle or pot in which to heat the water in the microwave. This seemed unnecessarily basic given that we paid just over 200 euro for the two nights.

  • Liked — Being able to sit outside
  • Disliked — Breakfast arrangements
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daydreamer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carbondale, co
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

We stayed at a second property owned by Silvia of the Hotel Belvedere. This property is a three room bed/breakfast, in the heart of Siena, near the University. It is quite tucked away - literally, our room door opened to a vista of the valley below, just beyond a garden.

Our room had a double bed, which was slightly saggy, but comfortable, an extra twin bed, tv, microwave, mini fridge, desk, and two bedside tables/lamps. We also had a garden level window with shutters. The bath was large, all tiled, with a corner square shower, pedestal sink, commode and bidet. The towels were either linen for hands, or a waffle weave for the bath towel. All areas were clean, but this is not a hotel where one expects toiletries...you need to bring your own, even the soap. There is also no hairdryer, although there are plenty of outlets if you have your own.

What was truly charming about this place was that the rooms open onto a private garden area, complete with two or three cats sunning themselves. One in particular liked us a lot and would come into our room through the open shutters to visit... just like home. We were left entirely alone, which we loved.

Now, there is no continental breakfast or other food onsite, though you can reserve a "breakfast" kit in advance. We just walked a couple of blocks for cappuchino. But the view was to die for, the quiet very complete, except on Liberation Day (singing college students), and we were content.

Warning: get good directions if you reserve here...it took us a 90 minute bus ride because we didn't understand, and didn't speak Italian, plus a half hour of missing the place on foot the first time.

But...we have already agreed we will go back....with a hairdryer, and a stop first at a market for snacks and breakfast foods. Here's to more quiet moments in the sun of the garden on a bench with a companion cat!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.5 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Chiarine
0.5 mi away
B&B Le Camere di Livia
B&B Le Camere di Livia
#16 of 111 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa di Osio
Casa di Osio
#29 of 111 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Il Chiostro del Carmine
Il Chiostro del Carmine
#57 of 111 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
Bed & Breakfast La Flora
#33 of 111 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Il Corso
B&B Il Corso
#15 of 111 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Camerine di Silvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Camerine di Silvia

Address: Via Ettore Bastianini 3, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Camerine di Silvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing