We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, cozy little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Camerine di Silvia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Camerine di Silvia to your Saves list
Le Camerine di Silvia
Via Ettore Bastianini 3, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 101 Siena B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic, cozy little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This family-run establishment is not only fairly priced, but also right in the center of one of Italy's most beautiful, best-kept secrets.
The owners are friendly and efficient, and will meet you upon arrival as long as you give them fair warning.
Comfortable, convenient, perfect location, clean... what more could you ask for?
I stayed here twice with a 4 or 5 year interval and was not disappointed the second time around. It's the perfect place for a romantic weekend or for a cozy family trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The B&B matches perfetcly with the peaceful atmosphere of Siena! Away from the center, but still 5 minutes from it according to Siena's extention, "Le Camerine" doesn't have the noise! Instead, the room I had has a wonderful view on the city's surroundings, the famous Siena's hills! The room and the bath were totally clean, decorated with a natural, beautiful, theme! Tea and Coffee, along with a boiler, were on the desk, something that I really appreciated! To concluded, the owner and her son were really helpfully in finding the right information about restaurants, parkings, and whatever..try it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villabelvedere, Owner at Le Camerine di Silvia, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for your review on TA, We are happy that you liked the world famous Siena's hills and our rooms, we totally agree with your review, we are looking forward meeting you again in the near future.
We wish you all the best and a safe flight back at home.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This small guest house is located about a 5-10 minute walk from the Piazza del Campo, which is in the heart of old Siena. So, very central. The rooms are basic and homey, and also very clean. There was plenty of hot water and the shower drained (this is not a given in Italy). The bed was a queen size with a firm, non-sagging mattress (again, not a given in Italy). The building itself is fabulous - heavy wooden outside door, charming gated garden - and our window had a view of the Tuscan hills outside of Siena that was picture-book perfect. If you're used to staying in hotels and want to stay in a hotel-like accommodation with a pillow menu, that's not what this is. But if you appreciate small, affordable, family-run and friendly places with minimum frills, I don't think it gets better than this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We booked three nights at this establishment but once in Italy began reading more reviews and were really worried when arriving in Siena that we would need to find another place. After checking out our room, #2, we wondered why we had been so worried.

The room was spotless and large. Having a patio right outside our door was a great way to relax in the late afternoon. The bed was comfortable and the location was not as far from the sights as we were led to believe.

Take a cab from the train station, finding this place is difficult since the street is not on every map and allow plenty of time to return to the station if you have a mid-morning train. We had a hard time securing a cab (this was not any fault of the establishment, the cabs were all full). As with many Italian establishments be prepared to pay cash.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Perhaps it is unfair of me since my bags were too heavy, but this is one long walk from the bus station! However, if you are little savvier than me, you may find that there is a bus stop closer to the hotel. Once at the hotel, it is about a five-seven minute walk to the city center. The rooms are very nice, but for further out of town it did get rather noisy at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

The b&b is in a great position, about 10 minutes from the Duomo. Apart from that, anyway, the room we were staying in was really dirty (awful, disgusting): I couldn't even describe it without puking! There was also a door that communicates with another room and we couls hear everything the woman next to us was saying. We couldn't have any privacy and were also scared that someone could enter in our room when we were outside or sleeping! Furthermore the price was really really high compared with the service. The room was also cold and my boyfriend get the flu.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara, ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

Location: Rather central to both parking and the duomo/piazza. 5 min walk to parking and 10 min walk to the piazza il campo. No food or restaurants immedaitely close though.It was hard to figure out how to get into Siena in the first place, we had to buy a map to figure things out.

Room: Basic. Clean. Not much character in this apartment building and breakfast consisted of a bunch of pre-packaged croissants and hot dogs. We didn't touch it - it looked stale and old.

Hotel: Nothing much to shout about in this department. They just went out rooms.

Pricing: Rather affordable but I did find more competitive options after i've made my reservations.

Food: -N/a-

Service: I called the camerine the day before to inform of day of arrival. A young lady met me at the camerine to give me the keys. Other than that, there is no staff on site.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Boring room, blah breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Camerine di Silvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Camerine di Silvia

Address: Via Ettore Bastianini 3, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Venere and HostelWorld so you can book your Le Camerine di Silvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Camerine di Silvia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.