We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Elda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Elda to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Elda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via 24 Maggio, 10, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Siena
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a lovely stay in June 2012. The hotel is in a location that is a short and comfortable walk away from the heart of Siena. Was a little bit concerned about the location when booking but it turned out to be a great spot.

Nice and quiet at night, but easy to get into the heart of the town.

I loved exploring Siena, this was my second visit, and Hotel Villa Elda made an excellent base for my girlfriend and I.

The hotel isn't flashy, the room was comfortable and blessedly cool. We were in Italy in the middle of a heatwave and it was very hot outside during the middle of the day. We had no problems bunkering down for a lazy snooze during the hottest part in our nice cool room, then going out again to enjoy the afternoon and beautiful evenings.

Shower/bathroom was reasonably modern but nothing flash. Although it's all fairly simple it has everything most people would need - assuming the point of a stay is somewhere reasonably priced and comfortable to use as a base for exploring the location. I have no complaints at all.

Breakfast was a very simple affair, nothing to write home about really but we took advantage of it.

The hotel organised a laundry service for us which was all very straightforward and not hideously overpriced (it was quite fair). I think it was a same day turnaround too from memory. Might seem a silly thing to note about a stay but I hate paying crazy fees to have some clothes washed and I don't want to spend my holiday in a laundrette if I can help it - so this sort of thing is helpful to me.

Actually the people at the front desk were all very friendly in an easy going way. We didn't need to much in the way of service while we were there outside the laundry and some directions - but I think that's a sign of a good stay. They went out of their way at the last minute to try and organise a tour my girlfriend discovered - and seemed genuinely disappointed that it was booked out.

All in all I have no problem recommending the hotel based on our experience in 2012. I think it was great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    83
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
45
242
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This beautiful converted villa is simply elegant. The location is absolutely perfect, in a neighborhood of small villas just about a five minute walk to the heart of things. Central Sienna can be crowded and exhausting, and this location provided a relaxing getaway while still allowing convenient access by foot. All the staff were incredibly helpful and pleasant.ABsolutely my first choice when I return to Siena!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I can confirm TA assessments as accurate - great location, easy access to old town, clean and outstanding service by Ricardo and his team, including helping with luggage, parking advice and restaurant suggestions. Breakfast is completely adequate but not the big hotel selection (which is mostly unnecessary)

Room Tip: Panoramic room was fabulous, although requires walking up 2 flights of stairs, no problem for us but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaElda1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Elda, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you very much for your positive comments that we really appreciate.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Villa Elda and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel here in Siena.
Best regards
Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

All the staff were so lovely, warm and helpful. So much nicer than an impersonal hotel. I had a double room on the ground floor near reception, really spacious with windows opening out to the lovely garden/courtyard. It's a lovely stroll into the centre of town (only about 10mins) and on the way you get some of the best views of Siena and the cathedral. Nice to be away from all the tourists in town and feel more like you are living in a true Tuscan villa, but still really close to the action. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaElda1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Elda, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review , we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Villa .
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you here again in Siena at Hotel Villa Elda, we send our best regards.
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I cannot speak more highly of this hotel. On arrival, staff helped with parking, bags, maps, quality restaurants which were not too far away etc.Our room was a delight, elegantly furnished, with a view over Siena, very clean and comfortable, with wi-fi. Ten minutes walking found us right in the city centre. Self serve breakfast was plentiful, with a great coffee making machine..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaElda1, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Elda, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you very much for your comments ,your positive feedback ,helps us maintain motivation and encourages us to provide the best service possible .
Best regards
Elda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at Villa Elda for five nights in early April. The hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, a pleasant ten minute walk from the City Center. The room we had (#22) had a sweeping view of the Siena skyline which would not be possible in a room in the City. Tamera, Barbara, and Ricardo were attentive to our needs and our many requests for information and assistance. The room was spotless. The breakfasts were more than adequate (eggs, yogurt, fruit, rolls, croissants, jam, coffee machine, juices, meats and cheese). The only reason not to stay here would be if you did not want to make the 10 minute walk into town. This hotel is recommended by Rick Steves who had it right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaElda1, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Elda, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you very much for your very nice review .
Also us we remeber you with pleasure,and we are very happy that you stay went well in Villa Elda .
Looking forward to see you again in our hotel.
Best regards .
Elda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Elda for two nights (room 23) and absolutely loved our stay. The rooms are nicely sized with many windows, and facilities are boutique feeling and clean. Breakfast service is included and very nice as well. But most of all, stunning views of the Cathedral and Duomo, pleasantly quiet (woke up to the sunlight shining in and the smell - no joke - of croissants from the kitchen), and just a 10 minute walk to all the cities' sites. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the panoramic view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaElda1, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Elda, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guests ,
Thank you very much for your excellent review, and for remembering us at your return home.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel ,we send our best regards.

Elda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Elda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Elda

Address: Via 24 Maggio, 10, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Siena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Elda 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful XIX century building has always belonged to the same family who manage it. Recently restored, Villa Elda has maintained its liberty style in every single detail whose colours, create a serene and comfortable atmosphere.. The hotel position permits a wide panoramic view on the old town centre. Either from the windows of many rooms, or from the magnificent attic terrace it is possible to enjoy a 360 degree scenery of the town and the surrounding country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Elda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Boutique Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Elda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.