We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had more time to enjoy this beautiful and historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Chiostro del Carmine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Il Chiostro del Carmine to your Saves list
Il Chiostro del Carmine
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Diana, 4, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Siena
hershey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wish we had more time to enjoy this beautiful and historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A small group of travelers and I had the chance to stay in this hotel, for only one night. Another was in order after settling into this perfect place in Siena. We took an excellent private pre arranged guided tour. Mr Andrea Renieri met us at our Hotel courtyard and wove us through the cobblestone streets. The hotels view from our room was superior, overlooking the tuscan countryside. The breakfast buffet was outstandingly good. The staff were all very accomodating by helping us bring bags up and down steps. I cannot wait to stay here again. Reasonable pricing too !

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    103
    59
    33
    12
See reviews for
48
184
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here as a couple for 4 nights in April. The location is great for exploring Siena and is within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. The building and courtyard are beautiful. The rooms are all different and ours was a good size and very quaint. We slept well each night and the shutters kept out all the light. There is a complementary "mini bar" with water and coke in the room and also free use of a safety deposit box. The wi fi signal was good in our room and easy to connect to with no need for a password. The breakfast was lovely and there is amazing views over the Tuscan countryside. Cannot think of anything bad to say about the place the staff were very friendly and helpful too. This place is however not for people who like modern style rooms as everything is in keeping with the rest of the building.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel in early March and found it to be a perfect base for our exploration of both Siena and the surrounding Tuscan countryside. It is a converted monastery with a nice courtyard, good-sized rooms, and a tasty complimentary breakfast served each day in an attractive room on the ground level with great views of the hills nearby. We found the hotel staff to be particularly helpful with our questions, issues, and needs. In particular, Victoria was very knowledgeable of the region and helped us arrange several activities which greatly enhanced our vacation experience. Wi-Fi was free and reliable. There were two parking areas for a reasonable daily rate. The location is convenient for walking to Piazza del Campo and the Duomo. Their website images accurately reflect the hotel's upkeep & decor. All things considered, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the ground level, they seem to be larger and have a strong Wi-Fi signal. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in March and were glad we did. There was a small gated parking lot for an additional price just around the corner and the hotel was convenient to good restaurants and the Piazza del Campo.

The restoration of the convent in the public areas is lovely and we thought the rooms were fine. If people are talking in the hallway, you can hear them, but luckily that only happened once. Our room had a small terrace (too cold to use) and breakfast in the courtyard would be lovely in nice weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Not the first time in Siena; when compared with the other hotels I' been, just average... Too cold-hearted, specially considering its historical aspect.
Most of the rooms are upstairs and there are no elevators, just a lifter; annoying.
Go for Palazzo Ravizza, excelent!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I just loved there!
This hotel is kind of a charming place.
The local was an old convent, and this also makes the place special.
They have a lovely decoration and rooms are very clean.
Localization is very good! It's close to good restaurants and the touristics points.
It's not a luxury hotel, how you can imagine looking the price. Price, by the way, is quite fair! Perfct!
Rooms can have a beautiful view! I stayed at the second floor, and I could see a part of the city and the montain. Stunning!
They also have a tasty breakfast, free wifi and a paying parking, which is necessary, because you can't drive or park in the city if you don't live there.
Staff is very, very kind and helpfull!
That was a nice surprise!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of last July when we celebrated our 10 year anniversary and I was 8 months pregnant. For this reason we wanted to stay central so that when needed we could take a break and head back to rest and this fit the bill perfectly.

The hotel is in a converted cloister with great character in a quiet neighborhood (contrada of the snail). The stairs were tiring but all the walking I did in Siena also likely contributed to that. The double room located on the first floor was on the small side and faced a small parking area, not the main courtyard. There was a closet and place to put our suitcase right behind the door (underneath was a small fridge where I kept some water and fruit). The bathroom had everything you needed, although space in front of the toilet was limited for anyone with long femurs (see picture). We made use of the excellent A/C they had. Definitely think depending on the type of room you have you'll get a different experience... the area we were in definitely seemed to belong to the small rooms you'd expect in a cloister (small spaces) - we weren't in the deluxe rooms for sure.

Staff was friendly at check in and check out, we saw very little of them since we didn't have to pass by the reception to get to the rooms. Breakfast was a buffet with a little bit of everything (savory and sweet) but since there was only one lady making coffee/serving warm beverages, some mornings there was a bit of a wait before we could "start" breakfast.

Overall, I'd recommend it as a good base from which to visit Siena, which I highly recommend staying in at least 1-2 nights. It was quieter in the evenings with less crowds, despite it being summer. Love Siena!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Chiostro del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro del Carmine

Address: Via della Diana, 4, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#12 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Il Chiostro del Carmine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Il Chiostro del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Del Carmine Residence Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Chiostro del Carmine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.