We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Chiostro del Carmine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Il Chiostro del Carmine to your Saves list
Il Chiostro del Carmine
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via della Diana, 4, 53100, Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 111 Siena B&B and Inns
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of last July when we celebrated our 10 year anniversary and I was 8 months pregnant. For this reason we wanted to stay central so that when needed we could take a break and head back to rest and this fit the bill perfectly.

The hotel is in a converted cloister with great character in a quiet neighborhood (contrada of the snail). The stairs were tiring but all the walking I did in Siena also likely contributed to that. The double room located on the first floor was on the small side and faced a small parking area, not the main courtyard. There was a closet and place to put our suitcase right behind the door (underneath was a small fridge where I kept some water and fruit). The bathroom had everything you needed, although space in front of the toilet was limited for anyone with long femurs (see picture). We made use of the excellent A/C they had. Definitely think depending on the type of room you have you'll get a different experience... the area we were in definitely seemed to belong to the small rooms you'd expect in a cloister (small spaces) - we weren't in the deluxe rooms for sure.

Staff was friendly at check in and check out, we saw very little of them since we didn't have to pass by the reception to get to the rooms. Breakfast was a buffet with a little bit of everything (savory and sweet) but since there was only one lady making coffee/serving warm beverages, some mornings there was a bit of a wait before we could "start" breakfast.

Overall, I'd recommend it as a good base from which to visit Siena, which I highly recommend staying in at least 1-2 nights. It was quieter in the evenings with less crowds, despite it being summer. Love Siena!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence_louboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Keswick UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed a week here, and were well satisfied. The location is great, just outside the main core of central Siena, in a quiet neigbourood (the Contrada of the Snail). There is genuine character to the hotel because of the building's history. The cloistered entrance area is attractive and must be really handy in summer. he staircase is grand but defintely hard work. The breakfast room has interesting frescoes and beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. Our room (no 12) was big and high but always warm despite freezing weather, the bed was large and comfortable, bathroom excellent - it soes seem to matter which room you get. Staff were quiet, friendly and efficient - fitting in with the generally subdued atmosphere of the hotel. As you do not go through reception to get the rooms and use a card key, you see little of the staff anyway. Wifi (from the lounge not the rooms) was straightforward. Altogether a good choice of hotel base for us. There are plenty of eating opportunities in Siena, but if you do not want to go far, the Due Archi trattoria, a few yards away from the hotel, is as good as any similar place we tried.

Room Tip: There are no bedrooms on the ground floor. Our room, 12, was on the first floor, and was fine. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
310 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here one of three nights I planned. For me, the place is too basic, particularly for a winter stay. The hotel runs three stories, and the stairs seem to grow with each use. There is no carpeting in hallways or rooms. The hallways were cold and very drafty. My room had a postcard view, but I could not unpack since there were no drawers. I could not put my suitcase anywhere except on the floor. The heat was controlled by the front desk and if I wanted a change in temperature, I needed to phone them. I spent the night freezing, occasionally turning on the heater to the front-desk-set temperature and enduring the jet sound of the heater. It was too loud to leave on and sleep. The bed was only ok. The bathroom had modern equipment and decent amenities, but there was no shelf to put toiletries on, and the toilet paper is of the pull out one sheet at a time variety. So, honestly, I would have to say this place felt to me like a pensione. With that said, it was not at all expensive, and would serve the purposes for someone willing to accept what I was not. The hotel is clean and atmospheric, and I found the staff very friendly and competent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busyflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

After the positive experience of last year, I went back back again with my family this weekend.
The place is in a good position, walking distance to all the main attractions of Siena.
Staff is very polite and helpful.
The place is very nice and cosy.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FilippoMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Be preparedthere is no elevator so you will need to go up the three floors everytime. Bed is not comfortable. The bathroom door is very noisy everytime you open it. I appreciate the old historic building but they can do better.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a huge disappointment (especially as we sit in the amazing Hotel David in Florence - a boutique hotel that knows how to welcome travelers and make you feel at home). Without charm and without an elevator (my poor elderly aunt had difficulty climbing the three flights of stairs), the rooms were shockingly small (albeit we were fortunate to have a room with a splendid view of the rolling Tuscan hills) and with the most uncomfortable beds and thin blankets. They turned off the heat at night in the hotel and we woke up freezing.

There was no hot water in the shower the first day we arrived, and the water in our sink did not drain. The amenities are nil, and customer service was not as one would have expected (especially at breakfast - one woman who seemed miserable every morning as she asked what we wanted to drink). Expected more of an Italian hotel in this price range. There was a door attaching our room to the neighboring room, and we could hear everything (constant coughing, TV blaring late at night and early morning).

There are plenty of highly recommended places to stay in and around Siena, but this is not one of them. We stayed here 3 nights - do yourself a favor and choose another place in Siena.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IrishShannita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kecskemet, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Pros: central location, with a comfortable walk (i.e. without steep hills) through a shopping street you can reach Piazza del Campo in 6 min. Quiet, in spite of cobbled streets everywhere around. If you come with your car, you get a permit to enter the restricted zone and a place to park your car. Rooms are spacious, nice antique looking furniture. Good views to Tuscanian landscape.
Cons: some rooms smoky even if smoking is claimed to be forbidden. Breakfast comes with a very limited selection, without a slightest variation day after day. Only one guy is around to serve, it takes 20-30 mins to get coffee, you will have your (modest) breakfast finished when it comes. During departure I was charged twice with the local tax.
Tip: On the next corner is Osteria Nonna Gina, do not miss.

Room Tip: Better views from second floor, but no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#12 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Excelsior
NH Excelsior
#18 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Il Corso
B&B Il Corso
#15 of 111 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Chiostro del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro del Carmine

Address: Via della Diana, 4, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro del Carmine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Il Chiostro del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Del Carmine Residence Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing