We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, quiet, comfortable and full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Chiostro del Carmine

Save Saved
You added Il Chiostro del Carmine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Chiostro del Carmine
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Diana, 4, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 hotels in Siena
Keswick UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convenient, quiet, comfortable and full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed a week here, and were well satisfied. The location is great, just outside the main core of central Siena, in a quiet neigbourood (the Contrada of the Snail). There is genuine character to the hotel because of the building's history. The cloistered entrance area is attractive and must be really handy in summer. he staircase is grand but defintely hard work. The breakfast room has interesting frescoes and beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. Our room (no 12) was big and high but always warm despite freezing weather, the bed was large and comfortable, bathroom excellent - it soes seem to matter which room you get. Staff were quiet, friendly and efficient - fitting in with the generally subdued atmosphere of the hotel. As you do not go through reception to get the rooms and use a card key, you see little of the staff anyway. Wifi (from the lounge not the rooms) was straightforward. Altogether a good choice of hotel base for us. There are plenty of eating opportunities in Siena, but if you do not want to go far, the Due Archi trattoria, a few yards away from the hotel, is as good as any similar place we tried.

Room Tip: There are no bedrooms on the ground floor. Our room, 12, was on the first floor, and was fine. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    99
    56
    30
    12
See reviews for
43
169
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here one of three nights I planned. For me, the place is too basic, particularly for a winter stay. The hotel runs three stories, and the stairs seem to grow with each use. There is no carpeting in hallways or rooms. The hallways were cold and very drafty. My room had a postcard view, but I could not unpack since there were no drawers. I could not put my suitcase anywhere except on the floor. The heat was controlled by the front desk and if I wanted a change in temperature, I needed to phone them. I spent the night freezing, occasionally turning on the heater to the front-desk-set temperature and enduring the jet sound of the heater. It was too loud to leave on and sleep. The bed was only ok. The bathroom had modern equipment and decent amenities, but there was no shelf to put toiletries on, and the toilet paper is of the pull out one sheet at a time variety. So, honestly, I would have to say this place felt to me like a pensione. With that said, it was not at all expensive, and would serve the purposes for someone willing to accept what I was not. The hotel is clean and atmospheric, and I found the staff very friendly and competent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

After the positive experience of last year, I went back back again with my family this weekend.
The place is in a good position, walking distance to all the main attractions of Siena.
Staff is very polite and helpful.
The place is very nice and cosy.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Be preparedthere is no elevator so you will need to go up the three floors everytime. Bed is not comfortable. The bathroom door is very noisy everytime you open it. I appreciate the old historic building but they can do better.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a huge disappointment (especially as we sit in the amazing Hotel David in Florence - a boutique hotel that knows how to welcome travelers and make you feel at home). Without charm and without an elevator (my poor elderly aunt had difficulty climbing the three flights of stairs), the rooms were shockingly small (albeit we were fortunate to have a room with a splendid view of the rolling Tuscan hills) and with the most uncomfortable beds and thin blankets. They turned off the heat at night in the hotel and we woke up freezing.

There was no hot water in the shower the first day we arrived, and the water in our sink did not drain. The amenities are nil, and customer service was not as one would have expected (especially at breakfast - one woman who seemed miserable every morning as she asked what we wanted to drink). Expected more of an Italian hotel in this price range. There was a door attaching our room to the neighboring room, and we could hear everything (constant coughing, TV blaring late at night and early morning).

There are plenty of highly recommended places to stay in and around Siena, but this is not one of them. We stayed here 3 nights - do yourself a favor and choose another place in Siena.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kecskemet, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Pros: central location, with a comfortable walk (i.e. without steep hills) through a shopping street you can reach Piazza del Campo in 6 min. Quiet, in spite of cobbled streets everywhere around. If you come with your car, you get a permit to enter the restricted zone and a place to park your car. Rooms are spacious, nice antique looking furniture. Good views to Tuscanian landscape.
Cons: some rooms smoky even if smoking is claimed to be forbidden. Breakfast comes with a very limited selection, without a slightest variation day after day. Only one guy is around to serve, it takes 20-30 mins to get coffee, you will have your (modest) breakfast finished when it comes. During departure I was charged twice with the local tax.
Tip: On the next corner is Osteria Nonna Gina, do not miss.

Room Tip: Better views from second floor, but no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

brilliant /quirky /hotel /quiet/ within easy stroll of campo and duomo/ very helpful friendly staff/ lovely homemade cakes for breakfast .sienna in nov was lovely no crowds. duty manager francesca extremely good. all in all for us who dont like plastic chain hotels this was perfect

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Chiostro del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro del Carmine

Address: Via della Diana, 4, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#12 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Il Chiostro del Carmine 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Il Chiostro del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Del Carmine Residence Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Chiostro del Carmine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.