We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique setting for a hotel in lovely Siena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Chiostro del Carmine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Il Chiostro del Carmine to your Saves list
Il Chiostro del Carmine
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via della Diana, 4, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 110 Siena B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique setting for a hotel in lovely Siena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel which is a converted monastery or convent is quite unique in it's style. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there - it was quiet and homey and the private bath was a plus. The breakfast the next morning was quite nice, though the breakfast room was a bit cold in tone, but not a big deal. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so is mobility is an issue, as for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    121
    69
    35
    13
See reviews for
52
209
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very comfortable room, super location about 10 minute walk from Duomo and Campo, nice personnel and buffet breakfast. Would definitely stay again. Staff spoke English well. Some rooms still under renovation.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, had to fill in the blank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Nothing better than after a 60km bike ride through Tuscany, arriving at this stunning town and this gem of a hotel. The young man behind the desk was so lovely and made us feel very welcome. The Hotel is recently renovated and is so very unique by virtue of having been real cloisters until fairly recently. A good launching pad by which to explore wonderful Siena. The hotel only doesn't get top marks due to very paltry breakfast fare.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is an older place and has character but the rooms were a little disappointing. They need some updating. Our room was very small. Front desk staff is friendly but morning breakfast staff was grumpy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a great experience here. Arriving on the back of just having had my passport and wallet stolen at the previous train station, we were delighted to find a fabulous old (pretty much unrenovated) monastery, and after a mixup with rooms, were given a spacious room with a huge balcony and views, with comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom was interesting, but huge and functional. Breakfast was standard Italian fare.
The whole place has interesting nooks and crannies, and it's central location in beautiful Siena was a real bonus. We loved it.
Valentina, the receptionist, was really helpful in translating police reports, talking to carabinieri, making copies of papers, and just being a really efficient, sensible local support in reporting the theft and trying to resolve the passport issue...so bonus stars for service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Let's face it - the monastery is very old! It's unrenovated. Lots of stairs. Fixtures and fittings all falling off. The artworks in the hallways are atrocious. However, it was fabulous! We loved the massive panoramic windows with views over the valley. We loved the comfy beds and room to move around. We loved looking around the old building and imagining how life had been there in years gone by. Try to sneak a peek into the private chapel within the building. Breakfast in the courtyard was simple, but lovely. And it's perfectly situated for walking around this lovely old town. Valentina was most helpful and suggested some great restaurants.

Getting there: Beware!!! - do not trust your GPS. It led us straight through the centre of the town which we found out later was illegal and we were abused by locals and tax drivers alike. I think the hotel would do well to warn guests who intend to drive there ahead of time and provide a suggested alternative route.

Room Tip: Getting there: Beware!!! - do not trust your GPS. It led us straight through the centre of the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The first time we saw it was a monastery was a plus for us... We read some reviews about their breakfast and it was getting better. Tha personal was really friendly, even they carried our luggage from the car to the room. Rooms are nice and with nice views.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#14 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#12 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Chiostro del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro del Carmine

Address: Via della Diana, 4, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro del Carmine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Il Chiostro del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Del Carmine Residence Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Chiostro del Carmine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.