We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique setting for a hotel in lovely Siena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Chiostro del Carmine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Il Chiostro del Carmine to your Saves list
Il Chiostro del Carmine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Diana, 4, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Siena
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique setting for a hotel in lovely Siena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel which is a converted monastery or convent is quite unique in it's style. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there - it was quiet and homey and the private bath was a plus. The breakfast the next morning was quite nice, though the breakfast room was a bit cold in tone, but not a big deal. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so is mobility is an issue, as for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    113
    65
    34
    13
See reviews for
51
198
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very comfortable room, super location about 10 minute walk from Duomo and Campo, nice personnel and buffet breakfast. Would definitely stay again. Staff spoke English well. Some rooms still under renovation.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, had to fill in the blank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Nothing better than after a 60km bike ride through Tuscany, arriving at this stunning town and this gem of a hotel. The young man behind the desk was so lovely and made us feel very welcome. The Hotel is recently renovated and is so very unique by virtue of having been real cloisters until fairly recently. A good launching pad by which to explore wonderful Siena. The hotel only doesn't get top marks due to very paltry breakfast fare.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is an older place and has character but the rooms were a little disappointing. They need some updating. Our room was very small. Front desk staff is friendly but morning breakfast staff was grumpy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a great experience here. Arriving on the back of just having had my passport and wallet stolen at the previous train station, we were delighted to find a fabulous old (pretty much unrenovated) monastery, and after a mixup with rooms, were given a spacious room with a huge balcony and views, with comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom was interesting, but huge and functional. Breakfast was standard Italian fare.
The whole place has interesting nooks and crannies, and it's central location in beautiful Siena was a real bonus. We loved it.
Valentina, the receptionist, was really helpful in translating police reports, talking to carabinieri, making copies of papers, and just being a really efficient, sensible local support in reporting the theft and trying to resolve the passport issue...so bonus stars for service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Let's face it - the monastery is very old! It's unrenovated. Lots of stairs. Fixtures and fittings all falling off. The artworks in the hallways are atrocious. However, it was fabulous! We loved the massive panoramic windows with views over the valley. We loved the comfy beds and room to move around. We loved looking around the old building and imagining how life had been there in years gone by. Try to sneak a peek into the private chapel within the building. Breakfast in the courtyard was simple, but lovely. And it's perfectly situated for walking around this lovely old town. Valentina was most helpful and suggested some great restaurants.

Getting there: Beware!!! - do not trust your GPS. It led us straight through the centre of the town which we found out later was illegal and we were abused by locals and tax drivers alike. I think the hotel would do well to warn guests who intend to drive there ahead of time and provide a suggested alternative route.

Room Tip: Getting there: Beware!!! - do not trust your GPS. It led us straight through the centre of the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The first time we saw it was a monastery was a plus for us... We read some reviews about their breakfast and it was getting better. Tha personal was really friendly, even they carried our luggage from the car to the room. Rooms are nice and with nice views.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Il Chiostro del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro del Carmine

Address: Via della Diana, 4, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#12 Family Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro del Carmine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Il Chiostro del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Del Carmine Residence Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Chiostro del Carmine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.