We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our whole trip..AMAZING!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello delle quattro torra

Save Saved
You added Castello delle quattro torra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello delle quattro torra
Strada di Pieve al Bozzone 36, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 95 Siena B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Made our whole trip..AMAZING!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staying here made our whole trip!!! Absolutely stunning castle, views and service.
We had the tower room and the view is sensational, panoramic views of Siena!!
The service is a true stand out, just lovey people who make you feel so welcome. I can't brag enough about this place, if you are after a true Tuscan Castle experience you will not be disappointed...this B&B is a true gem...and great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your encouragement at the maintenance of the hystorical monument!

See you...

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    55
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
117
319
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Vernon, Il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the apartment on a recent trip through Tuscany. This was one of the most interesting and enjoyable places we have stayed! Nicola and his mother were delightful and very accommodating to us. We would recommend this B&B highly. We are hoping to return and would stay there again.

Room Tip: This apartment was very spacious .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much from Nicola,Laura & the CASTLE!

Blessings!

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Castello Quattro Torra on our trip to Siena in January. The castle was amazing; unfortunately we only stayed 1 evening due to other travels. We stayed in a Tower Room which I highly recommend with the 360 degree view the scenery was breathtaking. I can't think of anything better than that view in the morning. Being so close to Siena was very convenient as well. Nicola was an absolute gentleman and very welcoming he explained to us the history of the castle as well as Siena. We certainly felt like house guests and not just staying at another hotel. The grounds of the Castel are quite spectacular with the olive trees and vineyards in the distance. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with traditional meats and cheese but also probably the best croissants and cappuccino in Italy.

The Castello Quattro Torra was certainly a highlight of our trip, with warm hospitality a majestic atmosphere I highly recommend staying there. Hopefully for more than 1 night like ourselves.

Room Tip: Tower room has the most amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Happy for your joy,thank you very much for your appreciations of the history & the hystorical castle!

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in late November as part of a driving tour of Tuscany.We stayed in the two room apartment on the floor above the entrance and two floors below reception and breakfast.

The setting of the castle is truly spectacular. We had very nice weather during our stay with misty early mornings followed by sun. The setting is very quiet but close to Siena and a good base for exploring Tuscany in all directions. The proprietor Nicola was helpful with suggestions for driving and for getting around Siena. He was not always on the property, however, and the rest of the extended family that occupies the castle has very limited English.

Our apartment was comfortable and spacious with a great view, though the bathroom is quite small. It contained a washing machine that we did not use but some may find very convenient. We arrived on a Thursday and departed on Monday morning, the only time the rooms were cleaned was Friday, which was a little disappointing. My wife thought the rooms too dusty, this didn't bother me but others may view this as a problem. In the evenings we could here some TV noise and creaking floors from the occupants of the room above, though generally it was very quiet by about 11 PM and again, this did not really bother us.

There were several cats and dogs around the property and we found a cat in our rooms upon returning one day. We're not cat lovers but they don't bother us either, someone with allergies might have an issue. The breakfasts each morning were filling and good. We had good croissants, ham, cheese, yoghurt, juice, and coffee. The breakfast rooms and reception area are pleasant and comfortably furnished and we felt welcomed there by Nicola and his family.

You park about 150 meters from the castle entrance among the olive trees and it is a dark walk on a moonless night, though there are some small garden path lights to assist.

We enjoyed our stay, and would consider staying again on a return visit to Tuscany,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much & sorry for the inconveniences of living in the country,I apologize and all the best my good friends!


Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

In October of 2011 we travelled for 2 weeks through Italy with friends and considered our stay at the Castle and the cooking class with Nonna Ciana to be the highlight of our entire trip. This year we had the opportunity to return to Siena, this time with our daughter who lives in Spain, and spend Christmas 2012 with her at the Castle. After building up her expectations with stories of our previous trip, we wondered if we may have set the bar too high. As it turned out this time was just as magical!

The first time at the Castle, we stayed in the Tower room which still stands as the most amazing room we have ever stayed in. For a single person or a couple, this is an experience that you will never ever forget. This time, since there were 3 of us, we stayed in the apartment which worked out perfectly for us. There are four rooms and all rooms (except the bathroom) have a beautiful views of the country side. The four rooms include a good-sized bedroom, a small bathroom with a washing machine (which came in very handy), a large living/dining room, and a full kitchen which is small but quite adequate. There is a very comfortable big pull-out sofa bed in the living room. This is where our daughter slept. The living room also has a fireplace that we took full advantage of. One note is that if you do stay there be sure that the damper is in the middle “straight up and down” position. We learned the hard way that turning it either direction closes the damper – we hope the smoky smell is gone by now!

Nicola, as before, was the perfect host. We were treated more as part of the family than as guests. He arranged ahead of time for a great Christmas Eve dinner at the Osteria Antica da Divo in Siena which is very deserving of TripAdvisor’s #2 rating in all of Siena. We very much enjoyed our visits to Siena as well as a number of fascinating hill towns, but the highlight was the Castle itself. We very much enjoyed exploring the grounds as well as just relaxing in the garden with a bottle of the home grown wine and gorgeous views of the Tuscan country side. Breakfast was always a treat as well.

We did the cooking class again which if anything was even more fun than the first time – see our review at http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g187902-d3400043-Reviews-Cooking_Classes_with_Nonna_Ciana-Siena_Tuscany.html. Even if you are not lucky enough to be able to stay at the Castle we strongly recommend doing the cooking class!

Thank you Nicola for everything! We treasure each of our stays at the Castle and hope that it is not too long before we see you again!

Room Tip: For couples choose the Tower Room, for families go for the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you & I love your beautiful family!

All the best!

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 5 days at the castle in Nov 2012 and it was an unforgettable experience. We couldn't believe our eyes when we arrived - this property is indescribably beautiful both inside and outside. It is more like a museum. We mostly interacted with Nicola who was extremely helpful and kind to us. We had informed Nicola ahead of time when we would be arriving and upon arrival, he was there to greet us and helped us with our luggage to our room. We stayed in the blue room which had amazing views of the vineyards and of Siena. He also gave us some maps and gave us suggestions on nearby hilltowns we can visit and places to eat in Siena and where to park, etc. I would have to say the directions he gave us was really precise and really helpful and saved us a lot of time. Nicola, his mom or his aunt would make us breakfast every morning which consisted of coffee, juice, yogurt, ham, cheese and some yummy pastries and bread. Sometimes we would see his cats roaming around - they are quite adorable! There are 2 breakfast rooms and a huge common room which looked amazing. Nicola also showed us the tower which had spectacular panoramic views. By the way, the property around the castle also belongs to Nicola's family and we were free to roam around in the vineyards and olive groves which was a lot of fun. The castle is about a 5 minute drive to Siena and it was perfect for us since we rented a car. If you stay here, it would be best to rent your own car. We didn't have time to do this but Nicola's property has a restaurant and also offers cooking classes. I look forward to coming back to try the restaurant and sign up for some classes!

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room which had a big bathroom and amazing views. The tower room would probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kindness and see you in the next future at my farmhouse for the COOKING CLASS with my adorable mother in law Nonna Ciana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Castello with our 3 children from 8 to 10 December. Our daughter picked the hotel and we were all excited with the idea of staying in a castle. The experience surpassed all expectations - the dreamy breakfast room, the old towers, the simple and elegant fireplace in our apartment, the vast walking grounds outside the castle and, most of all, the breathtaking views of the Tuscany countryside from every window. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hospitality of our hosts, Nicola and his mother (as well Tartufo, the resident feline princess). Thanks to the recommendation from our hosts, we also got to dine at the fabulous Antica Trattoria Papei. We definitely want to be back.

Room Tip: The apartment with fireplace is perfect for families. It comes with a little kitchen so the childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you my friends of Singapore!

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello delle quattro torra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello delle quattro torra

Address: Strada di Pieve al Bozzone 36, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Castello delle quattro torra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Delle Quattro Torra Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello delle quattro torra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.