We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical stay in Siena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello delle quattro torra

Save Saved
You added Castello delle quattro torra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello delle quattro torra
Strada di Pieve al Bozzone 36, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 97 Siena B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical stay in Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 5 days at the castle in Nov 2012 and it was an unforgettable experience. We couldn't believe our eyes when we arrived - this property is indescribably beautiful both inside and outside. It is more like a museum. We mostly interacted with Nicola who was extremely helpful and kind to us. We had informed Nicola ahead of time when we would be arriving and upon arrival, he was there to greet us and helped us with our luggage to our room. We stayed in the blue room which had amazing views of the vineyards and of Siena. He also gave us some maps and gave us suggestions on nearby hilltowns we can visit and places to eat in Siena and where to park, etc. I would have to say the directions he gave us was really precise and really helpful and saved us a lot of time. Nicola, his mom or his aunt would make us breakfast every morning which consisted of coffee, juice, yogurt, ham, cheese and some yummy pastries and bread. Sometimes we would see his cats roaming around - they are quite adorable! There are 2 breakfast rooms and a huge common room which looked amazing. Nicola also showed us the tower which had spectacular panoramic views. By the way, the property around the castle also belongs to Nicola's family and we were free to roam around in the vineyards and olive groves which was a lot of fun. The castle is about a 5 minute drive to Siena and it was perfect for us since we rented a car. If you stay here, it would be best to rent your own car. We didn't have time to do this but Nicola's property has a restaurant and also offers cooking classes. I look forward to coming back to try the restaurant and sign up for some classes!

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room which had a big bathroom and amazing views. The tower room would probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kindness and see you in the next future at my farmhouse for the COOKING CLASS with my adorable mother in law Nonna Ciana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    55
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
117
324
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Castello with our 3 children from 8 to 10 December. Our daughter picked the hotel and we were all excited with the idea of staying in a castle. The experience surpassed all expectations - the dreamy breakfast room, the old towers, the simple and elegant fireplace in our apartment, the vast walking grounds outside the castle and, most of all, the breathtaking views of the Tuscany countryside from every window. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hospitality of our hosts, Nicola and his mother (as well Tartufo, the resident feline princess). Thanks to the recommendation from our hosts, we also got to dine at the fabulous Antica Trattoria Papei. We definitely want to be back.

Room Tip: The apartment with fireplace is perfect for families. It comes with a little kitchen so the childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you my friends of Singapore!

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place was just ... Everything you would want for a welcoming, relaxed, clean and comfortable stay.. But more... Spectacular views and so close to town but it felt a million miles away when you looked out the windows and saw the farms and countryside. So what made it? Nicole and his family were always available to help either in person or on the phone but discreetly 'somewhere else' (ie they never intruded). We had the downstairs apartment and to tell you the truth it's the kind of place that makes you think 'why don't we live in Italy for a year??' Beautiful little kitchen with all the appliances and yet rustic furniture and exposed beams combined with the views outside made it feel like the real italian experience through and through.

Value? Best price we had really - out of Rome, Firenze, Siena and Venice - this was our best pick out of three weeks of travel, with two kids under 10 who LOVED it.

To give some context - this was winter and it rained most of the time during our stay but it was so good we wanted to stay in and couldn't wait to come 'home'. Thank you so much Nicole - you have set the standard for all our other travels now!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kindness words!

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Castello in April of 2012 during our three week 30th anniversary trip to Italy. We were there for only 3 nights and it was one of the highlights of our trip. I had done hours of research on trip advisor for months ( I was a little anal about the research ) and boy did it pay off! This was a once in a lifetime experience. While it is true that the family lives in the Castello you only see them for breakfast and it really feels like the place is all yours. We got there about midday and Nicola showed us around and told us a little bit about Siena before we went to do a little sightseeing there. The main square was magical and we enjoyed exploring the little shops around it. When we came back to the castle it was just getting dark, we had a key to the very large wooden front doors so we could come and go as we please. It was quite dark in the courtyard and we could hear one of the castle kitties meowing. It was spooky and yet totally amazing at the same time. We made the trek up the long set of stone steps to the main parlour and then to our room ( the Blue room ) it was so cozy and romantic and perfect.......huge wooden beams on the ceiling, the stone floors and the views out the windows, one could not possibly ask for more. It surpassed all my expectations and my expectations were pretty high! Breakfast the next morning was wonderful all prepared fresh for just us! I wish we had taken the time to explore the olive groves and more of the property surrounding the castle, that is my only regret...well, that and also that we didn't stay longer. We purchased a bottle of olive oil from Nicola and I wish we had purchased a whole case. It was the best that we have tasted! I will return to Castello delle Quattro Torra someday and if you are wise you will make this one of your stops while visiting the Tuscan area. You will never forget your stay here. Thank you Nicola, for adding a touch of perfection to our holiday!

Room Tip: The Blue room was perfect, so romantic and really gave you the feel of staying in a real castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words & I hope see you soon!

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two weeks in Italy on our honeymoon, and we spent two winter nights here at the castle. Can't say it was nice and sunny because it was winter, but the view from our room was beautiful and really enchanting. We had a view of Siena and the tuscan landscape. Our room (the blue room) was also really nice and comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious and Nicola, the owner, was very kind and hospitable. He served our breakfast and made sure we felt at home. And really that's what the hotel was, more like a comfortable and cozy home than a hotel, because the attention was so personal (there are only 3 guest rooms in the castle).
And the castle itself is very enchanting and beautiful.
Location: 5 min drive to Siena. Very good location, because it was peaceful and quiet, but at the same time the castle is very close to Siena so we would go during the day to have lunch and look around, and then come back to the castle at night. We would even go twice a day to Siena for dinner, it was no big deal.

Great stay! Thanks Nicola!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you at my dear friends of Santiago!

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a real life castle that's featured in coffee table books. The owners still live in it so it's a home not a museum. These were the important as I didn't relish being alone in such a huge place!!

The location is wonderful, just 5 minutes drive from one of the main carparks of Siena.

The views from the tower are amazing. There are 2 separate breakfast rooms, both of which offer lovely views of the country. The wifi was strong.

Room tip: Go for the Blue Room. It's very charming and romantic.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much and I hope you come back at the castle!

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It feels a bit mysterious to stay in an old castello, and the front entrance is amazing ... tall, tall walls surrounding a small inner courtyard ... in the midst of a working olive grove. I stayed in the apartment, which doesn't have as good a view as the tower, but is easier to get to ... I had a chance to see the tower, which has an amazing panoramic view. The breakfast was good, and the hosts were lovely. I think I liked the property the best because of the hosts. It is also very close to Siena if you have a car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Proprietario at Castello delle quattro torra, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much my dear Wendy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello delle quattro torra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello delle quattro torra

Address: Strada di Pieve al Bozzone 36, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Castello delle quattro torra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Delle Quattro Torra Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello delle quattro torra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.