We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza San Domenico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Residenza San Domenico to your Saves list
Residenza San Domenico
Via della Sapienza 39, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 103 Siena B&B and Inns
Bell City, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Just fantastic. Located in an old, rustic building with winding stairways. Our room was huge and unique and we had a fantastic view of Sienna. Would highly recommend this B&B to my friends and would definately not look for any other place to stay if I return to Sienna someday.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
23
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

For a large but poorly marked building, the Residenza provides surprisingly comfortable accomodations for its otherwise moastical appearance. Somewhat sparse in appearance the rooms have most amenities, including a fridge and stove to store leftovers. Location is very convenient, though Siena is small, its a short walk from just about eveything with a great gelateria and restaurants nearby. Very large room and very comfortable bed, though the queen was 2 twin mattresses pushed together. The staff doesn't speak much english but communication just happens in Italy. :)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

The hotel is right in the middle of everything and yet is very cool and calm in a lovely old building ( no lift and up several floors so be warned..). The room was absolutely huge with duplex living space and a seprerate kitchenette and dining area- you could stay much longer than a night . Ask for one of the rooms overlooking the duomo , it is a beautiful view. Everything was clean and service helpful ( not much english understood though!). Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this B&B for 3 nights during October. Overall, our stay was a good one. The B&B was relatively easy to find from the bus stop after asking for some directions along the way (there are a few bus stops nearby actually, and I'm not sure which one we actually got off at).

The B&B is located in a really cool old building, with a huge wooden door. A few flights up are the check-in and the rooms.

One thing I wasn't expecting was the size of the room...it was HUGE (I think our room might have been one of the bigger rooms there) and it had a kitchen, which we made use of one night and made pasta and vegetables from the local grocery store.

Other reviewers have commented on the church bells, and let me tell you, they are LOUD, and they go off a random times on random days. However, missing a few hours of morning sleep was well worth the tradeoff of being able to experience Siena at night after the day-trippers leave.

The guy at the front desk was super nice, and knowledgeable. He also spoke to us in (very slow) Italian after hearing that we had been learning some Italian in preparation for our trip.

Ladies: this B&B had the best hairdryer of all the places we stayed.

  • Liked — The details of our room and of the old building in which the B&B is located
  • Disliked — Loud church bells
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

This is well located at the start of the old city wall area besides the San Domenico Bascilia. It is 5 mins walking distance from the bus depot (Gramscie).
There are only a few rooms in this and I found security to be good. The room we were give was very spacious (with a loft where we could even dry our laundry).
Of course being along side one of main access to the old city wall, a room overlooking the main street meant that you are woken up at 8.30am by the arrival of the tourist on the 1st tour bus for the day.
Breakfast is at the Bar located next door; not very reliable as it did not open on the day we were leaving Siena so we did not get any breakfast.
Warning: there is no lift access so you will have to carry your bags up 3 flights of steps.

  • Liked — The location and the space in the room
  • Disliked — No lift access
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

Our biggest problem was the misleading information provided about the price of the room: we were originally told accommodations for four would cost 80 euros. When we called back to book the room, we were told the 80-euro room was not available, but for 110 euros we could have a room with a view, which we booked. When we arrived, we were placed in a room without a view (i.e. the one quoted at 80 euros) and told it would cost 110 euros. The manager said her employee had made an error in offering us a room at 80 euros; eventually she agreed to a charge of 100 euros.

Nonetheless the residence had an excellent location and even the 100-euro price for four people was less than what other places in the area charge. It was clean (note that according to the posted room information, rooms are cleaned only once a week). The cons were the lack of nearby parking, the fact that the cafe where breakfast is served opens only at 8:30 am, and a noisy washroom fan.

Overall, it's worth staying here if you're most concerned about location and price, otherwise there are probably better options.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

For the price of an ordinary double with bath, we got a huge room with a spectacular view, beautiful decor (red), private bath and kitchen, loft with work desk, and full-size dining table. I don't know if that is normal or we just lucked out, but for us it scored off the chart on charm. There is no elevator but the owner helped us with our insanely heavy luggage. The pizzeria-restaurant they recommended for dinner was excellent. Our only complaint was the rimless shower - absolutely no way to keep the bathroom floor dry - but this seems to be an Italian specialty. For breakfast they gave us a coupon for the cafe next door - just coffee and a roll.

One caution would be to look closely for the building number - the numbers get out of order on that street - there is no sign of a hotel at the entrance. It is a very old building and you are buzzed into a large, dark, garage-like ground floor. Fumble around and you'll find light switches just inside the front door.

We loved this medieval city and can't wait to go back. We would definitely go back to this place.

  • Liked — beauty, size, comfort, kitchen, triangular bathroom
  • Disliked — rimless shower but it's not unusual in Italy
  • Tips/Secrets — Look for light switch when you arrive in dark vestibule. Don't overpack (stairs).
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza San Domenico

Address: Via della Sapienza 39, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Residenza San Domenico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza San Domenico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.