We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise - recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colonna

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Colonna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Colonna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada di Pescaia 73 / 75, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 hotels in Siena
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise - recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel La Colonna for two nights and were very pleasantly suprised. When you first arrive the surrounding area is not too appealing but the hotel is actually very close to the centre (it is an uphill walk but there are buses from right outside the hotel). We were able to park our hire car, the room was good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. There is a lovely pool area which is great after a hot day and a small supermarket next door for provisions. There is free wi-fi and although the breakfast is nothing to write home about it was perfectly adequate. Highly recommended for a stay in beautiful siena.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    160
    52
    9
    0
See reviews for
23
145
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Located just upside the historic centre (down the hill). It is easy to get to and you are in the centre by bus in minute. If you prefer to all there was a row of escalators that assist in the climb. The hotel pool is a favorite in the mornings if you want a little less sun, go in the afternoons when the patio area is shaded by the building. There are large umbrellas for shade at anytime of the day. Just an option. The rooms are just large enough for two to maneuver around separate beds without difficulty. Try to get a room overlooking the pool area for more quiet as the motorbikes screaching down the road on the otherside can be hair raising (it only happened a few times, so it really wasn't an issue). There is a small supermarket nearby and a bar for getting bus tickets just a few steps from the door. Convenient.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Fortunately/unfortunately our one night stay in Sienna coincided with the Palio. Fortunately because we managed to be part of the madness associated with the event but unfortunate in that we were not able to stay in the town itself. The Colonna is situated just outside the city and it is easy to get to and from the centre. The hotel is quite comfortable and clean but strangely featureless.There are a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance but our overriding feeling was that we wanted to be closer to the action.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pisa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is located on the bottom of siena's hill, and it might be a hassle if you have heavy bags or do not walk well. There's a frequent bus to the center, however, with good legs and lungs the walk uphill is dramatic via Fontebranda, and the restaurants in the area are excellent. The road is traveled and noisy so better use the back rooms; very minimal breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for the back rooms they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

First, let me say that I booked this hotel a week before il Palio, and it was pretty much the only option. It was by far the least expensive place we stayed on our trip, and we came to this hotel from Residenza del Moro in Florence, so there was a huge drop in hotel class.

So take these facts into consideration when reading my review.

The location is outside of the city walls, about 1 mile away from the city center. Not walkable TO the city due to the uphill, but there is a city bus stop out front, or a cab will take you there for 10 euros. The walk back is relatively fast (15 min or so), but hardly a pleasant promenade, as you're basically just walking on the side of the road.

If you're traveling with a car, the location is actually excellent, as you can drop it off at their free parking lot and explore the city, which is otherwise closed to cars.

The hotel and the rooms are basic but clean, as would match a 2-3 star hotel. We had a small room with a bed and not much else. Breakfast is adequate. Pool is present, but not a place you might want to lounge at for a long time. A/C functional, parking lot accessible...

In short, basic, acceptable accommodations for car travelers on a strict budget or with limited options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grouville, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here on day three of our time in Tuscany and were really pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff were fantastic and so helpful with places to go in Sienna and where to eat etc.

It's a little out of the main city, but easily walkable and actually better for not being surrounded by the hoards of tourists. We didn't have a car and arrived by train and I think it was a 15 euro taxi ride from the station for thw two of us. It does face a busy road, but our room was on the interior so we had no trouble sleeping. If you're travelling with a car, this would be perfect.

The rooms are a really good size and very clean. They have air con, and a good size bathroom. The breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from.

The absolute unexpected bonus with this hotel is a really lovely patio area at the rear of the hotel with a very nice swimming pool! When it's almost 30 degrees and you've got weary feet after a day of sight seeing, the pool is an incredible bonus!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Found this place by accident and couldn't believe how lucky I was. A short 1-stop bus ride UP to Siena's centre (and a short walk DOWN the hill if necessary). Free Parking, A/C, Pool, Breakfast, nice rooms, and a REALLY FRIENDLY and KNOWLEDGEABLE staff (Grazie Bruno!).
What more do you want. the rate was VERY fair, especially considering we were there the night before the PALIO started!

Room Tip: I didn't notice the noise as i was tired by the time i went to bed, but maybe best to choose a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colonna

Address: Strada di Pescaia 73 / 75, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colonna 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colonna Hotel
La Colonna Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Colonna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.