We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very beatuiful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Il Lucherino

Agriturismo Il Lucherino
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Il Lucherino
Save
You added Agriturismo Il Lucherino to your Saves list
Strada del Lucherino 4, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very beatuiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

I spent 5 weeks at Lucherino. The apartments are perfect - spacious, very comfortable and clean. The view was perhaps one of the best of Siena and the Tuscan hills. I had inspected approximately 6 Argriturismi before deciding on this one.

Getting to the centre of Siena is easy with a car and only 1.7 km from the Agriturismo. The owners, Guido and Luisa, would happily take you in if you needed. They were very helpful on all accounts and even invited me in to their home for dinner on occasions. They accomodated every request I made.

The pool area is very lovely.

Strongly recommend Lucherino. I wouldn't look elsewhere.

  • Liked — the view, the owners, the condition of the apartment
  • Disliked — without a car, I felt a bit isolated
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Don't even consider this place. It looks nothing like their website. We tried to stay there this August, but after arriving to find it looked akin to the Beverley Hillbillies ranch (if you are old enough to remember them), we turned round and left immediately. Luckily we found another marvellous place to stay elsewhere. The whole place gave the impression of being neglected, even abandoned, as there was no-one around to ever know we'd been there to see.Unless you are into spending your vacation by a slimy green pool, surrounded by broken sunbeds,flowerpots filled with cigarette butts, abandoned lawnmowers and machinery about the place ( even a JCB digger), then forget it. We went expecting rustic/rural not rusty/revolting. Oh yes, it's right next to the motorway too.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everthing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

I thought that this place was great for visiting Siena (with a car) but also getting away from the busy city and spending evenings with a glass of wine looking at the sun set over the gorgeous tuscany countryside. Its true that the owners didnt speak english, but if you go to a foreign country you cant expect everyone to speak english - they were italian! Take a phrase book and give it a go! The owners were friendly and helpful and the apartment was clean and typically tuscan. The best supermaket ever called Conad was five minutes away and it sells everything you would ever want.

I would definately go back to Il Lucherino again and would recommend it as an agriturisimo five minutes from Siena, very peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2005

Their website states: "At a few steps from Siena centre, the Holiday Farmhouse Il Lucherino is right out of Siena medieval walls." Well, if you're as gullible as I was to believe that and you don't have your own vehicle to get around in...God help you. It was like being stuck in the middle of nowhere. The city centre is in fact a good few kilometres away and it's uphill all the way -- if you're planning to hike or bike it to the city centre in the summer heat, you'll change your mind very quickly as we did. As for the owners, they were an unsmiling taciturn couple who don't speak English...or much at all, which made communication trying, to say the least. They also often weren't around, so we pretty much felt like we were being left to our own devices.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Il Lucherino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Lucherino

Address: Strada del Lucherino 4, 53100 Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Il Lucherino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.