We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, breakfast with outstanding view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Giardino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Giardino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Il Giardino
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Baldassarre Peruzzi 33, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 hotels in Siena
Paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice room, breakfast with outstanding view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We slept 2 nights in this hotel with my wife and my 2 little children.
The hotel is not in the historical city, but just beside the walls, which means 15 min walk to reach the centre. The nice point is that you have an outstanding view of the city centre from the breakfast room, included to the price. There is also a swimming pool, but very cold... 17°C as we went there...
Our room was located in the ground floor. It was very clean with much space. The price of 90€ per night was really good.

Unfortunately, the lady at the welcome desk was not professional : she forgot to tell us about the breakfast so that we missed it the first morning, and she forgot to give us our passports back, so that we left the hotel without them. Be carrefull of her !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    74
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
68
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Location OK and the staff friendly, but great variance in the quality of rooms and older section dated. Beds in newer rooms rock hard and showers tight. No internet..perhaps Al Gore could visit and discover how cheap it is to set up a router. TV has 300 channels...all Italian all the time. Breakfast and rooms not with the price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night with 2 small kids. Room was decent but no fridge. Breakfast room very big and good choice of fruits, cold cuts and good coffee. Staff was very friendly, playing with our kids making us comfortable. Within walking distance to the main piazza even with 2 kids althougb outside city wall. Overall great value for the price and highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The staff is WONDEFUL! The room is cute, and clean. Breakfast was good. The location is perfect. Just outside the city walls. Also parking is free.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed at Hotel il Giardino for two and half days in late June 2011 with my wife and our two teenaged boys. After staying three days in the heart of Rome to start our trip, this little family operated hotel provided us with a good spot from which to visit Siena, Florence, Greve, Ovieto and Castellina in Chianti. The hotel isn't much to look at, but the rooms are comfortable, it is affordable (we had to book two rooms) and the pool is a welcome respite after a long day of touring. Rooms are adequate in size and the breakfast that is served each morning in the central dining are is very good (don't expect cooked food, though). English is spoken here and there is a very limited area in the hotel off of the pool within which you can get a workout with some free weights.The hotel is located outside of the walled city of Siena and it is a healthy walk into Siena's main square. There is no food on site after breakfast, so it would be good to remember to bring some food back to the room from Siena if you are prone to snack a bit late night. Wi-fi is available in the lounge and it is more than adequate. Would be nice if it was in the rooms, too. Pool is well kept, has a nice view of the countryside and there were always spots available even though the hotel seemed to be fully booked. We had some problems with broken lights in the shower in our room, but the staff fixed them immediately. TV offerings are very limited. I don't recall there being a refigerator in the room. The owners directed us to two fantastic restuarants, off the beaten path, in Siena and they know the area through and through. There was air in our room, but I wouldn't call it the type of AC that we are used to here in the US. Views from the hotel rooms were stunning, although our kids had the room with the balcony. The hotel has a nice outdoor sitting area and they do serve drinks (they had a marvelous assortment of European and Northen Italian beers) and fantastic coffee/espresso throughout the day. Would recommend this hotel highly for travellers who use their hotel as a place to recharge after a day of touring destination spots and not as a destination itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed at the Giardino from 18th-22nd August 2011 with a friend. We chose it partly for its location, its price and its swimming pool and we were not disappointed. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful giving us a very warm welcome and always going the extra mile for us. Their restaurant recommendations were all spot on and they offered lots of advice on buses to Montepulciano and the surrounding Chianti area. We had a twin room which was absolutely fine - clean, plenty of space, good shower, although the safe didn't work (minor issue) - but the fabulous surprise was our balcony which gave us stunning views over the Tuscan hills. Breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit and pastries and of course amazing coffee. The pool was also very welcome. The hotel is situated about a 2miute walk from a gate through the wall of the old city, and about a 15 minute stroll from the Campo. After a morning of sightseeing and atmosphere absorbing we were able to swim and sunbathe and prepare ourselves for an evening on the Campo drinking Campari. We really had a wonderful time. The hotel is not perfect. If you are looking for absolute homogeneity across rooms and a distant professionalism from staff then this is probably not for you. But comfortable, friendly, warm and homely it certainly was. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel is a little too far away from the attractions. It is definitely within walking distance if you don't mind long walks. The main bus stop was a little too far to walk with luggage.
We were sad to see no fridge and no AC in our room. There was a tv. The room was very nice looking, clean and was larger than other rooms we stayed at in Italy.
The door was so thin that we could hear any noise from outside.
The breakfast was very good and complimentary. The lady at the front desk was very sweet and I liked their resident cat. They have drinks that you can purchase.
The cost of the hotel was a very good deal but I wouldn’t stay there again. I would stay closer to Del Campo but most importantly I would need AC. I got heat exhaustion during this portion or our trip.
The hotel was very good with answering my questions via email before the actual stay. I wish I could recommend the hotel, but between no AC, the distance and the noise, I just can’t.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Siena
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Giardino

Also Known As:
Il Giardino Hotel
Il Giardino Siena
Address: Via Baldassarre Peruzzi 33, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Giardino 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel il Giardino in Siena is situated close to one of the ancient gates to the town's historical centre, while Siena's most famous square, the "Piazza del Campo", is only half a mile away. The hotel offers splendid views of the town's skyline with its mediaeval buildings and monuments but also of the surrounding hills and countryside.Hotel il Giardino in Siena has recently been extended with eco-technology in mind. It also has an outdoor swimming pool and solarium, a well-equipped fitness room, a large Jacuzzi and a Turkish bath. Private parking is included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Il Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.