We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rural retreat just outside Siena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo di Valli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo di Valli to your Saves list
Palazzo di Valli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100 Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
herefordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely rural retreat just outside Siena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a pretty place to stay and just how you imagine a traditional Italian house to be. We were greeted by very friendly staff that offered really useful advice on places to see and visit. The views from our first floor room were beautiful, looking out across the Tuscan landscape. The room itself was very clean & spacious, with plenty of choice on offer at breakfast. I found the central heating a little noisey at night, but that didn't seem to affect my partner at all! As other reviews have stated, if you don't mind a 20 minute walk into Siena then this is a great place to stay, but having said that I believe a bus passes by the hotel regularly, so the walk is optional and a great way to burn breakfast off!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    81
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
79
296
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved our night at Palazzo di Valli. The walk to Siena took about 20 minutes. It is all "uphill" going in, and "downhill" on the way home. The innkeepers were helpful both before and during our stay with everything from public transit instructions to restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was simple and lovely.
Ask for a room with a view. One side of the property looks out over the Tuscan countryside. Waking up with that view was a highlight of our time in Siena.
The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Palazzo di Valli is not a modern hotel, but it is a hotel in an old 14th century house. That being said it was great. Great views, nice clean rooms and a very helpful staff. They suggested restaurants and even helped us route out a trip through the Chianti region in our rental car. Lorenzo and his staff were unbelievable. Breakfast was perfect. We asked Lorenzo if he were going out to eat where he would go and he suggested 4 or 5 restaurants. We went to one of them twice it was so good. We were there for 4 nights and he suggested where to park when we took a day trip to Florence which worked out great. We were there for our anniversary and our kids emailed him to arrange a fruit baskent and cake and Proseco for our anniversary. We got back from one of our day trips and we were surprised with a huge fruit basket some of it frome their own fruit trees and an awesome cake. The next afternoon after returning from Chianti we asked if we could have a wine bottle opener and glasses. They opened the bottle of wine and brought it out to us with a couple of wine glasses and a bowl of nuts. Very accomodating and a wealth of information. If your looking for a 5 star hotel accomodation wise, this is probably not the place for you, but the charm of the rooms was irreplaceable. We loved it and when we get back to Tuscany we will stay here again. Well done Lorenzo and pass our thanks on to your staff, everyone was wonderful.

Room Tip: Splurge for one of the rooms upstairs. Breathtaking views of the Seina countryside and the town its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We went to Palazzo di Valli for the final two nights of our two-week trip to Italy and realized this was the best time of all. And why? More than anything else, it's because of the people who run this wonderful hotel. All the reviews for Palazzo di Valli demonstrate all the pluses of its beauty, its location, and everything that it has to offer. But what will determine where we go and stay in trips and especially whether we will return is something much more special: it is the love and passion that Giacomo and his staff show for his work and our care. In fact, we truly had the feeling that the entire staff was there just for us! We learned about Siena and came to appreciate what we were seeing there, thanks to Giacomo. We had the most mystical drive to Montalcino and outstanding wine tour set up with our last-minute request, thanks to Giacomo whose fastidiousness made us feel confident we could actually GET there on time. Believe me, no one else would have taken the care and had the patience to understand that we struggle with directions -- but we made it error-free! And I clicked my camera so many times from every spot of the Palazzo di Valli, you'd think someone was tap-dancing, but how I love looking at those pictures now. And yes, the restaurant across the street has delicious selections. What a great hotel. Choose Palazzo di Valli and make your trip magical. We wish you a great stay!

Room Tip: Room 32 has a great view of the Tuscan countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a warm and welcoming, small hotel just outside the Siena city gate. The long driveway and beautifully kept grounds provide a sense of seclusion from the activity of center city streets. Sitting with a glass of wine on the terrace during the early evening, you see a classic Tuscan valley spread before you. In the morning, you watch mist rising from the same valley as (weather permitting as it did for us in early October) you enjoy breakfast at one of the outdoor tables. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Lorenzo who provided us with a comprehensive overview of Siena. When a sweater was left behind following dinner at nearby Ristorante Fori Porta (a good recommendation from Lorenzo) the desk manager walked over to retrieve it for us. It was a small gesture, but very indicative of the excellent service and care afforded guests. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend Hotel Palazzo di Valle to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

From start to end of our experience with palazzo di valli, we were treated very well by our gracious hosts.
The room had a beautiful picture perfect view as promised by Lorenzo and we were blessed with beautiful days in Siena as well.
I cannot express how comforting it is to return to a safe, lovely, clean and warm accomodation after a long day of walking, especially in the cold.
The team was very accomodating to our needs and helped us ensure that we had a comfortable stay. It was like returning home every night for the two nights we stayed there.
There was everything we needed for our stay and we could not ask for more.
I would DEFINITELY recommend this place to anyone who wishes to check out Siena. The hotel is near enough to walk to the sights and within close proximity of a very good restaurant (can't remember the name but the team can share with you if you enquire). Not to mention the breakfast has a nice spread too!
So you can be sure you would be well fed, warm, safe and comfortable throughout your stay!
I thank the team for a lovely trip and for their hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is situated in a most delightful area, just outside the Roma gate. The views when you arrive are stunning, and the welcome is very warm. Unfortunately, we had a room on the ground floor. The internet did not work, the bathroom was very basic but above all you could hear people above you walking and going to the toilet at night. So my advice is to make sure you request an upper floor bedroom. Equally the hotel is outside the gates of the city and if you don't like wallking, be aware that it will take you a good 20 to 25 minutes to get to the centre, although there is a bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
2.2 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo di Valli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo di Valli

Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 135, 53100 Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo di Valli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo di Valli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Di Valli Siena
Palazzo Di Valli Hotel Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo di Valli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.